1996 Ford Aspire Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1996 Ford Aspire from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance100200 miles

Summary:

I love it, I hope to have it for a long time

Faults:

Brakes replaced at 90,000 (when I bought the car, they told me that they only had about 20,000 miles left to their useful life anyway, so it wasn't much of a surprise.)

Timing belt replaced.

Boot covers for CV joints replaced.

Wheel covers replaced.

Pipes underneath the car rusted and had to be replaced.

Spark plugs replaced.

General Comments:

Great little car, my first car actually, and it runs very well, awesome gas mileage too. I had to have a few repairs, but at 100K nothing more than would be expected. runs quiet and very reliable. the seats aren't too comfortable. the air works awesome, but tends to slow down the engine a bit. very easy to drive and tiny so it fits into small parking spaces! I love this car, I wouldn't want to trade it for any other (of the same value.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

1996 Ford Aspire Base 1.3 liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Hate to get rid of it when time comes

Faults:

Nothing major as of yet.

Seats have worn thin.

Replaced the timing chain at 75000 miles.

Replaced brakes often, could be the way wife drives.

General Comments:

Over all a very good car too bad ford stopped making it.

Great gas mileage 40-42 miles per gallon.

Suprisingly quick for such a small engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2005

14th Oct 2005, 13:52

This vehicle has a timing belt, not a timing chain.

1996 Ford Aspire from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Van

Summary:

We love it, but cannot find used parts and cannot afford new parts

Faults:

Gas tank and oil tank have rusted out.

General Comments:

Cannot find used and sometimes even new parts.

It is very economical to run and that is why we purchased it as we are on a fixed disability income.

A new gas tank from Ford is six hundred dollars.

Posted Oct. 29th, 2004.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

30th Oct 2004, 19:44

Hit up some junkyards. Check the classified ads, auto seller magazines, things like that. All engine parts for a Ford Festiva will fit right on to your Aspire, they use the exact same engine, I believe the transmission is also the same. Check on Yahoo for Aspire car groups, there are a couple good ones with people who would be able to help you find the parts you need at a good price.

1996 Ford Aspire STRIPPED 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles

Summary:

A cheap rip off from ford!!!

Faults:

Interior falling apart, seats ripping, knobs falling off, headliner coming loose, door panels are discolored, speedometer wobbles and shakes.

Engine sounds like crap, transmission slips, cv joints are clicking, rear bearings roar like thunder, runs hot constantly.

General Comments:

This is a cheap piece of crap, this shouldn't even be considered a car. It doesn't even have enough power to pull itself. Slides all over the road when its raining even with new tires. ANYTHING can dent this car, cheapest metal ever used on a car that's for sure. PARTS are WAY OVER-PRICED for a car in this class, they need to gather all these hideous things up and burn them all up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

13th Apr 2004, 19:37

The Aspires were actually Korean cars made by KIA, but marketed by Ford. I'd recommend replacing it with a '97 or newer Ford Escort, those are actually pretty reliable. Stay away from KIA cars, they are cheap and poorly built.

10th May 2004, 02:07

All wheel bearings will "roar, like thunder" if neglected for long enough. You've obviously got one that was never maintained properly.

5th Oct 2009, 23:38

Dude. It's a commuter car, not a demo car, give it a break and drive like a normal person. Otherwise buy an old F250 with a big block, they are indestructible.

1996 Ford Aspire Standard Standard from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Standard Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

B

Faults:

The sheet metal is way too thin to do the job and dent to easy.

General Comments:

I really like this car. I bought it for 2500 and have gotten every penny out of it. Great gas mileage, fun to drive. Unfortunately, I feel raped when it comes to buying replacement parts for this car. Whats the deal Ford? The taillights alone are over 200.00. It's terrible. There should be no economic reason for the parts to be that expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

29th Mar 2004, 02:53

Before buying any new parts for my Aspire I always check the local junk-yard. I got a rear tail-light housing for $10.00. Unless you absolutely have to, I'd steer well clear of the dealer when it comes to new parts with this particular car.

25th Mar 2006, 11:40

While the Aspire was a better car than the Festiva as far as safety and size (it had airbags), it simply was not as fun as the Festiva.

My Festiva was unfortunately totaled and I figured the Aspire was simply a bigger Festiva. But the Aspire just drives like an average car, which is fine for its purpose, but it definitely has no "soul".

Last year I bought an Aveo and it is somewhat like the next generation Festiva, small and fun with "soul". Of course, I have no idea if the car will be as bulletproof reliable as my Festiva was.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews