1987 Ford Bronco Reviews

1987 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer 351M from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 351M Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

I love my Bronco

Faults:

Have had many problems with the engine. Had it rebuilt once, oil pump replaced twice.

General Comments:

The Bronco was great for the first few years.

However since the engine started to go bad at about 70000 miles, it has been one problem after another.

It has been sitting for the past 10 years; I'm thinking about restoring it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2012

1987 Ford Bronco XL 351 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 351 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance212090 miles

Summary:

Wish I had bought two!

Faults:

Transmission replaced in 1994.

Muffler replacement in 1997.

General Comments:

I bought the Bronco brand new in 1987 living in Connecticut. It got a lot of four wheel drive use due to the snowy winters. Drove from Ct. to South Carolina often until we moved here. It is still running OK.

The Bronco gets 13 mpg, OK for 1987, tough in 2008.

I am revamping the Bronco, tune up (last one 77,000 miles ago. Tailgate rusting, but original dealership still open, and recently stated if I get it back to Ct., they will give me a new one. I will probably be buried in the truck when the time comes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2009

29th Nov 2009, 19:45

I agree with what you wrote. I am a new owner of an old 87 Bronco. I've had it for one month. I was a die hard GMC fan. Now I am in love with this truck; it was the best vehicle I have ever bought.

14th Jun 2013, 15:15

I just bought a 1987 Bronco. The original engine has been replaced with a 351. Best truck I've owned!

30th Jun 2013, 00:25

I just bought a 87 Bronco that was a 5.0, but a 5.8 was dropped in it. Will this engine last me?

1987 Ford Bronco XLT 351W from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 351W Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Great power for a weekend warrior

Faults:

Fixed the front brake lines, which were rusted.

Drivers side door needed new hinges.

General Comments:

Great SUV. Runs top notch. The 351w HO can really move this beast! And there is so much room under the hood to fix things unlike the EFI setups. Very happy with it thus far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2009

1987 Ford Bronco XLT 302 V8 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance320000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best vehicle ever for me

Faults:

Replaced Timing chain at 150,000 miles.

Replaced motor with re-built at 212,000 miles.

Other routine and minor maintenance.

Driver's seat needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I've ever owned. Initial mileage was around 17-18 MPG, but down to around 12 now.

Has towed 25 foot, twin engine, welded aluminum Jet boats routinely. Has done everything I've ever asked it to do.

Will just keep fixing it up until I can no longer drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

1987 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer 5.0L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Solid and extremely reliable vehicle

Faults:

Various electrical problems since 140,000 miles. All faults have resulted from corrosion at wire slices.

Original paint on hood and roof was at primer by 130,000 miles, repainted at 190,000.

Replaced 3 rear window motors.

Ignition switch internal failure at 163,000.

Had to direct wire rear window motor at 190,000 miles.

Rebuilt transmission at 187,000.

New Ford Crate motor at 196,000.

A/C wire harness developed intermittent short at 207,000 (unresolved).

Rear quarter panel and tailgate rust through at 207,000.

General Comments:

By far the best 4x4 truck I have owned.

Plenty of low-end torque for off-road driving with enough ground clearance to stay out of trouble.

Gas mileage is fair with 10-12 mpg in the city and 15 mpg on the highway.

The truck has only left me stranded once when the ignition switch pawl snapped.

Road noise has always been loud and the truck has had rattles since the day I bought it, but it is comfortable and dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

19th Oct 2006, 11:13

Does anyone know how to minimize the rattles of the 1987 Ford Bronco? Help would be appreciated!

5th Aug 2008, 20:42

Yeah you just have to invest in some Dynomat, it is a sound proof insulator.

19th Jan 2012, 23:35

A lot of the rattle, believe it or not, comes from the motor.. Just tighten the mounts down and the the rattle should dissipate. Also, it could be that the pulleys are a little off balance, but that is not often the case.

Shane Drotzur, Fairbanks Alaska.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews