1986 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1986 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Fun and affordable 4x4

Faults:

First thing that went wrong with the Bronco II was Fuel Pump Relay at 111000 miles.

Clutch began slipping at 112000 and was replaced at 112500.

Majority of the repairs were made prior to my purchase of the vehicle.

Most expensive and seemly insignificant part replaced was the computer chip at 96000 miles for $1500.

General Comments:

I enjoy driving my Bronco, it gets me around just fine and I have never been stuck while driving in muddy or snowy terrain.

Much of my ride is rough due to the shocks being worn.

Interior seems pretty spacious for being a compact SUV, plenty of room to move from forward seating compartment to rear cargo area.

I will continue to repair this truck until it finally falls to pieces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 20:04

I also have a 1986 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer Edi. and I love it. I have owned and parted with 25 vehicles, in 6 years, in search for the perfect car, and friends, perfection has been achieved. If you are looking for a car that is spunky with decent fuel economy, 4-wheel drive, and very reliable, find a Bronco II.

Matt

Seattle, WA.

9th Jun 2003, 13:14

I also had a 1986 Eddie Bauer Bronco II... and I loved it. However, my husband managed to flip it... but probably due to his driving habits. However, if you need to make a quick turn or swerve to miss something on the road, it's a tipper. Be careful... have fun.

1986 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 EFI engine from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI engine Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired223600 kilometres
Most recent distance224958 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

I personally would never buy another ford

Faults:

After only putting 300kms on it I had to replace the distributor.

The darn thing blew the plenum gasket at around the 400km mark.

And to top it all off it has a bad sensor witch is causing it run like a tank. I had it in the shop, but the mechanic said every code that could come up did so I don t know what to do with it.

General Comments:

The engine still has lots of power, but loops when the sensor kicks out.

The passenger compartment is super comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

1986 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 Litre EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 Litre EFI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Affordable Four Wheel Drive!

Faults:

It burns a quart of oil monthly.

Replaced clutch assembly. (Flywheel, pressure plates, throwout bearing.) at 80,000 miles.

Replaced ignition coil.

New radiator at 81,500 miles.

Both power window mechanisms failed.

General Comments:

My Bronco II has been a tough, rugged compact SUV. I don't have many complaints now, especially since I bought a new radiator which allows me to use the air conditioning which still works! (Knock on wood.) (The A/C used to overheat the engine.)

I don't think I'd buy another, but that's strictly because I like variety and not the same old-same old.

I recommend a Bronco II to anyone who wants a reliable 4X4 at a very affordable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

1986 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen VW Rabbit

Faults:

New transmission needed at 200,000, new clutch at the same time - $3,000.

Power windows stick, driver side window motor burned out, replaced that - $250.

New CV joints, battery, brakes, shocks and drive line at 180,000 - $1,200.

Heater fan tends to freeze up at lower temps, a bit uncomfortable at times.

General Comments:

Despite the numerous parts I have replaced, I love my Bronco II. I bought it used for $2,300 because it needed work. It has power everything, and I think this is most of the problem. The computer on the engine is quirky, the windows and locks are quirky, and it can be a noisy and bumpy ride. The paint is in excellent shape, a few rust spots from rock chips on the fenders, but no peeling or fading.

I live in very rough terrain and this Bronco will get me through anything with a decent set of tires on and a little clutch teasing. It is reliable in that nothing ever just drops dead, there is plenty of warning. I fold the back seats down and can fit my dog and bike with ease. It is a versatile vehicle with a great design.

I know repairs will be continual at its age, but so far I don't regret the money invested for the performance it has given. The motor doesn't leak oil, even at 215,000, but when it does wear out there will be a new engine dropped in.

Gas mileage is about 18-22 mpg, not bad for a V6 4WD that easily exceeds 80 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

18th Jul 2003, 06:50

My heater blower would make an awful noise in the winter months too. I just shoot fogging oil or WD40 on the shaft.

It's under the hood and fully exposed in the engine compartment.

2nd Dec 2003, 11:27

I have a 1985 Bronco, 2.8 Liter engine, 4wd automatic overdrive transmission, and it gives 8-10 mpg what can I do to improve the mileage.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews