1990 Ford Bronco II from North America

Faults:

It had ran good for one week I had no problems. Then after one week When ever the engine would get hot the whole entire car would die out. It wouldn't start up until everything was cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

17th Jul 2007, 09:20

Oil starvation. Those engines weren't good at keeping oil pressure up and lubricating the engine.

1990 Ford Bronco II 2.9 from North America

Summary:

I would never own or bye another bronco II.

Faults:

This bronco II has given me more trouble than any vehicle I have ever owned. I had to replace the transmission not even a month after I bought it. Then the fuel pump went out had to replace that. I have replaced the starter, water pump, a head, oil pump, battery, alternator. The truck has been lifted up about 6 inches. The drive shaft needs to be replaced. Not to mention that I still have a loan on it and I still owe $2000 on it.

General Comments:

I like the color, it is a dark blue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

2nd Nov 2006, 22:23

You need to take responsiblity if your going to lift the Bronco II 6 inches and should expect drivetrian issues a result.

22nd Jan 2010, 14:06

Probably should stop blaming Ford, as I'm sure whatever you were doing that required the lift did not contribute to the longevity of your truck's life...

1990 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9L from North America

Summary:

An excellent original SUV

Faults:

Brakes started to shimmy, and were replaced at 139000.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

These are the one of the best of the original SUV's as I see it.

They are built well. They drive great. They turn on a dime. Not the most powerful, or fast SUV out there, but has enough go when you need it.

For a 14 year old vehicle, it's holding together great. I have always liked the 89-90 Bronco 2. I stress the 89-90, because I never liked the interior or exterior styling of the 84-88.

This mini SUV by far blows away the rival Chevy S10 Blazer. I owned one 1991 S10 blazer, and I never will again. The B2 is far better built, and the quality is excellent. I have heard a lot of bad things about the 2.9 motor, but this one is quiet, and runs great.

I think Ford had a great truck, and I don't know why they didn't keep building them. The Explorer was a poor excuse to relieve the Bronco 2 of it's existence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2004

6th Feb 2005, 18:31

I couldn't agree more. I have heard the same about the 2.9 but my experience shows it to be a very reliable robust engine. I have had 4 bronco 1990 II's to date, I have scrapped one with 350,000 kms on it and still didn't burn oil. I am restoring one and as well I have a 2.9 1990 Ford Ranger. I have owned this since new, has 255,000 kms and it still runs like a new truck. I think they are the ideal SUV - not too big, efficient to run etc. If it is driven properly, I don't see roll over being an issue at all.

Peter

1990 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

Ford should have never stopped building these!

Faults:

Replaced left front hub.

Replaced fuel pump.

Replaced rear driveshaft.

Replaced starter motor.

General Comments:

My Bronco 2 has proven to be a very trustworthy and dependable vehicle.

Despite the above listed repairs, I am very satisfied with this fine little SUV.

It is remarkably comfortable inside, and seems equally at home driving to work or towing a trailer on extended trips.

The 2.9liter V6 could use to have a bit more power, but considering its small size, it does pull the truck about quite nicely.

My only real worry about this truck is since they haven't been made in over 12 years, where will I find another to replace this one when (if??) it finally wears out?

(currently pushing 140,000 miles)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

9th Jul 2003, 11:36

I got a 87 Ranger XLT with the 2.9L, very strong Engine, and has well over 300,000 miles.

I also know of a BII with 569K miles on the original Engine.

Later,

Dustin.