1990 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10700 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Awesome Feat of Engineering

Faults:

Brake Disks at 40,000

Water Pump at 130,000

Fuel Pump at 140,000

Starter at 150,000

Power lock on passenger door at 160,000

Door handle passenger door at 183,000.

General Comments:

The balance of the car is very good 4 wheeling. The center of gravity seems to be dead center. It is also very comfortable on bumps and has very good power on up 45 degree slopes-roars on up.. The stock stereo is awesome. The seat comfort is wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

1990 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great little truck, but watch the engine

Faults:

Starter.

Alternator.

Radio.

Engine.

General Comments:

This is a generally well-made vehicle, with the exception of the engine. It is comfortable, and has plenty of power. The one glaring problem is the engine. There are many Bronco II's (and Rangers) out there with the original 2.9 V6 still running in good condition. However, there are also many, many others where the engine has died. The modes of failure are very consistent, and usually take the routes of either cracked cylinder heads, or failing oil pressure due to worn-out camshaft bearings. Having examined first hand these failure modes, and also having seen Ford's original in-dash oil pressure gauges for various model years, I have come to a conclusion. As an auto mechanic with 12 years experience, it is my opinion that around 1989, Ford realized they had a serious problem with oil pressure in the 2.9 V6 engine, and took steps to cover it up. Ford made changes in the operation of their oil pressure gauge on Bronco II's that, in my opinion, were an effort to delay or possibly prevent the consumer from realizing that there was a problem with low oil pressure. Not all "B2's" had this problem, but enough of them did. In my opinion, this was a sleazy trick on Ford's part, and really the only negative (albeit a big one) for such a good vehicle. I've replaced the engine in my truck, and I still love it, but I think Ford did a great disservice to the public and to the reputation of the Bronco II.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

28th Jul 2002, 02:47

Thank you for such an insightful review. I am a first-time car buyer interested in this very model and you have helped me to identify the correct questions to ask and research that I must do in order to not get snubbed.

10th Aug 2002, 16:05

Whoever wrote this review knew what he was talking about. I am the owner of a 1990 Bronco II 4X4 withe the original 2.9 V6 under the hood. A few months ago the oil pump gave out. After I replaced the pump the oil pressure gauge never worked right. I installed an after market mechanical pressure gauge to solve this problem. Other than that I am a very happy owner of a Bronco II.

1990 Ford Bronco II XL Sport 2.9 L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres

Summary:

Not very reliable

Faults:

Replaced the fuel pump 3 times.

Replaced the valve cover gasket 4 times.

Replaced both power window motors.

Replaced gas tank due to a leak.

Replaced fan clutch twice.

Replaced water pump 3 times.

Replaced starter.

Repaired the transfer case twice.

General Comments:

It is a good looking vehicle, but has been unreliable. I find that the service is poor at Ford dealers and I have been to many different ones.

On the plus side, the seats are comfortable and the shocks and brakes lasted me 10 years.

I would not recommend this car to anyone. Next time I will buy a Japanese vehicle for reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

15th May 2001, 09:10

Sorry about your problems, but my Bronco has been the best truck I've ever had, and has pulled me out of many binds. But my Japanese car, a subaru, has been the biggest piece of crap. Don't go Japanese, the parts are triple $.

10th Oct 2001, 08:44

My Bronco 2 is also the best vehicle I have ever owned - 152,000 original miles. I had a Japanese truck, yeah it ran great, but the frame rotted out from underneath it, it has been in the junkyard for 7 years and it is the same year as my Bronco with less mileage.

1990 Ford Bronco II XL 2wd 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance89200 miles

Summary:

Good, but a loose screw or two

Faults:

I replaced the clutch.

Resurfaced the flywheel.

Replaced the bushing that holds the clutch pedal to the slave cylinder.

Won't start right now and can't figure out why.

General Comments:

It looks sporty with a dark tint and 31 inch BF Goodrich all-terrains.

I like the roof rack and fold down backseats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews