1995 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 2 of 17

1995 Ford Contour SE 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Fun, but what a hassle

Faults:

Transmission was replaced prior to my buying it, and still broke within 10000 miles.

AC refuses to be fixed and hasn't worked since I first bought it.

Exterior chrome peeled and fell off.

Spews break dust, making "premium" wheels eternally black.

Cup holders broken (not that they were big enough to hold any cups anyway...)

Check engine light has a life of its own, and will come on and off as it sees fit.

Random warning lights will activate on the dash for periods of time before correcting themselves.

General Comments:

This was my first car and was in decent condition when I bought it. I pushed it hard (as all teenagers do) and it ran and looked good. That was until I had transmission problems within the first year. I don't know what it is about this car's transmission that makes it so bad, but no amount of work will make the transmission run well for any amount of time.

At least it looked good on the outside, until a tree fell on it.

As for good things to say, the interior held up nicely and is comfortable?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2009

1995 Ford Contour 1.8L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.7 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

LEMON. Don't buy it - turn and run!

Faults:

2nd and 3rd started grinding while shifting 2 weeks after I bought it. Would cost $1600 to fix - still grinding. Timing chain and bearings had to be replaced 3 months later - cost over $600. This week (3 months since last repair) engine started leaking oil real bad.

Engine loses antifreeze/water. I have to add both every two weeks. No water in oil or out the exhaust - it just disappears.

Electric door locks and windows are all jacked up. Work when they want to. Blows cruise control fuses for no reason about every couple of months.

The only lemon Ford I've ever bought. Various other little issues on a weekly basis.

General Comments:

Quite possibly the worst car I've ever owned. It does get great gas mileage though (33-35 on highway).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2009

17th Jul 2009, 06:24

That's right, that's right - go ahead and call this car a "lemon". After all it ONLY had 118,000 miles on it when you bought it, and it was manufactured during the Clinton administration (fourteen years ago).

Why-oh-why didn't it come with a lifetime warranty?

17th Jul 2009, 14:03

I think you are not quite sure what kind of car you have. It has either a 2L 4 cylinder engine, code 3 (8th position of the VIN) with a timing BELT or it has a 2.5L V6 engine, code L, with a timing CHAIN.

I am not aware of any Ford US car with a 1.8L engine of 1995 vintage.

24th May 2012, 20:11

How could you have replaced the timing chain? The vehicle's engine has a timing BELT!

1995 Ford Contour LX 2.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

Great reliable car

Faults:

The car had a little squeak on the rear roll bar, but the mechanic fixed it easily.

General Comments:

This is a great car that is very reliable. It gets great fuel mileage, yet with the manual shift, it is very quick and handles well.

I think the criticisms of the car are overblown, and I know for a fact that I've spent less on car repairs than my friends with similar aged and sized Volkswagens or Accords.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2009

16th Mar 2009, 15:06

The Contour's/Mystique's with manual transmissions are durable cars, I would only avoid those with automatic transmissions.

10th Jun 2009, 10:23

They are hard to find though.

1995 Ford Contour GL 2.0L SFI DOHC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L SFI DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles

Summary:

Just like a credit card; lots of hidden fees

Faults:

Thermostat housing cracked, thermostat, shocks and struts, brakes and rotors. Found all of this after I bought it, but when you pay $200 for a car, you get what you paid for.

General Comments:

Good bang for the buck, but look the car over first. I would all over again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2007

1995 Ford Contour from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Maximum overdrive problem

Faults:

This car has was wonderful up until it started going in and out of overdrive. Now it has been sitting in the yard without being driven for over 5 years. The car continuously goes in and out of O/D. It's had 13 miles put on it in 5 years. It will start up and drive right now, but after about 2 miles it will jump into overdrive for about 10 seconds then back out. If you are driving 50 miles per hour plus, it feels like you slammed on the brakes when it goes into O/D.

General Comments:

The seats have started to rot away and the dash is crumbling.

It starts fine and drives great for about a mile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2007

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 66 reviews