1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 11 of 29

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance150600 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

It's a good car.

Faults:

Timing belt and gears at 130000, dealer only on the parts.

Cam Position Sensor at 125000, A $300.00 Dealer only part, didn't fix.

Throttle position sensor at 125000, dealer only part.

Drivers door window regulator at 150000, $237.00 dealer only part.

General Comments:

The yellow check engine light came on at 125000, and I bought an OBD 2 tester to check the computer error codes. It told me that the Cam Position Sensor was defective. The problem could be a warn Cam surface and the best price I have found to get in there to measure the cam is $150.00. The bottom line is that I can replace the sensor and it won't fix the problem if the cam is worn.

The most frustrating thing about this car is that I can't buy the parts at the auto parts store, they are dealer only. There are a lot of dealer only parts on this car.

Overall it has been a reliable car, but it is expensive to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Tranny is crap, don't take it back to Ford dealer for Transmission work, they will screw you

Faults:

Fist problem I noticed was it would occasionally shift really hard upon acceleration from a starting position. Ignored this for awhile, but then it wouldn't shift into its highest gear, resulting in 4000RPM's while driving 50MPH. Coasted $1700 in transmission repairs.

Ran good for awhile, until the transmission went out again at nearly 80000. This time it would've coasted 3000 to fix, the car was barely worth that. The crooks at Ford charged me 900 bucks just to tell me what was wrong with it. They of course would've cleared that charge if I got it fixed through them, but there was no way I was going to do that.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage.

Good power with the V6.

Fairly sporty looking on the outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

1998 Ford Contour SVT 2.5L Duratec V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Duratec V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance138500 miles

Summary:

The car is terrible, I wish I had never bought it

Faults:

The transmission blew up.

Alternator went out.

Engine has lost power.

General Comments:

This car is a money pit. If one thing is not wrong, another is.

It has nice power output above 4000 RPM, but it is doggish below in any gear.

It has the sloppiest shifting transmission I have ever driven.

The suspension complements the car well.

Ford should have done a better job on R&D with this car. The so called "hi-output" V-6 could have put more horsepower down than Ford, Cosworth, and Roush put through the motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

9th Sep 2006, 06:03

I do not see how the car is so terrible with that many miles on it, most likely it was abused before you bought it...

1998 Ford Contour SVT 2.5 DOHC V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC V6 Manual
Distance when acquired77769 miles
Most recent distance78124 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Best Ford I've ever owned

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong with the car, per-say. However, there is a problem that's been occurring since I bought it. It's having problems starting. But it sounds like it's having initial fuel delivery problems. Is anyone else having this issue?

General Comments:

This car is great! It's quick, comfy, and has great handling. It's quick enough to be a compact car, but it rides like a regular, full size sedan. All the bells and whistles come with it. And my friends love it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1998 Ford Contour GL V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Never Again

Faults:

We are wondering if anyone else out there is having as many problems as we are with our Contour. It seems as if we can't even go a year without getting the check engine light go on. It always seem to be a "hugo" sensor. We still take the car to the dealership to get the oil changed on a very regular basis. The last time we got the check engine light on was a not even a year ago. It was in June, low and behold we get into the car.. and there it is again. Now it seems to be something with the fuel sensor. If there is one. We can't go 2 weeks on a tank of fuel. The car has 86000k on it. I take it to work at home, with the odd road trip. Have there been any recalls on this vehicle I missed?

General Comments:

The car handles well.

The Check engine light always on is costing me lots of cash and is very annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

1st May 2005, 23:50

I had the same problem, if your fuel consumption goes up it is because your O2 sensor has failed and the fuel mixture goes to full rich. And this is not cheap to replace. But consider this, you are losing about 100 km per tank.

3rd Oct 2005, 19:49

My check engine light comes on after I fill the tank up with gas. As the gas tank gets lower, the check engine light disappears. I was told by the dealer it was the 02 detector. They gave me an estimate of $400.00 to replace it. Am I getting ripped off, or is that how much it costs?

Mind you, it is a dealer doing the repair work.

4th May 2009, 00:30

I bought my 1998 Contour GL used in 2008. The car had around 160,000 km's on it. I put about 20,000 km's on it before someone hit me and totaled the car. Everything worked as expected when I got it (p/windows, p/locks etc.)

Problems I had were over heating: cooling fan would rev insanely loud, and the temperature gauge would routinely be between the L on NORMAL and the red bar (meaning TOO HOT). The car burned through coolant quickly (I wouldn't drive without a bottle in the trunk) One day something with the radiator went wrong and the coolant made a green puddle under the car. Got a new radiator ($700 CAN) and overheating + coolant burning still happened. Seems to be the nature of the car.

Also, my check engine light has been on since forever. Simply doesn't turn off.

5th May 2009, 09:36

No, it's not the nature of the car. Something was wrong: thermostat, water pump, or head gasket.

Also: check engine lights don't just turn on or turn off at a whim.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews