1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 9 of 29

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82513 miles
Most recent distance88921 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

I call it a poor man's 318i

Faults:

I had an new 02 sensor replaced at 86,938 miles.

General Comments:

Great car for a teenager or a person who commutes to work in or a 2nd owner.

I love it a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th February, 2006

13th Apr 2007, 12:11

HAHAHAHAHAHA.

You cannot be serious. I had the misfortune of owning a contour and then I later bought a BMW 3 series and there is no comparison between the 2. The only people who say there is are the ones who never owned a BMW before.

14th Apr 2007, 09:49

I've driven both, and while the 318 is a fantastic vehicle, the Contour can hold its own. I was really surprised that this boring mass market car was so much fun to drive, although it was a friend's car so I didn't have to deal with any of the hellish maintenance issues.

15th Apr 2007, 09:53

Consider yourself lucky because this junk heap had about 18 recalls. I agree that there is no way the 3 series and the contour have similar handling, that is just ridiculous as I have driven both myself.

1998 Ford Contour SE 4 cly from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cly Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31200 kilometres
Most recent distance72300 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Lemon comes to mind

Faults:

Had to replace front springs at 37000km (23000 miles)

Had to replace Transmission at 67200km (41800 miles)

Had to replace timing chain and pulleys at 72300km (45000 miles)

General Comments:

This car has been my worst nightmare. Have to replace front spring, transmission and timing chain with only 45000 miles.

The sad thing is I called Ford on the transmission and was basically told that because it was out of warranty for how old it was. They could do nothing for me. I don't care how old the car was (unless it was like 10 or more years and just sitting) for that kind of miles I should not have had so many issue's.

I can understand now why Ford is losing market share and in trouble as I will never buy a ford again and my kids will not buy one either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

15th Feb 2006, 19:31

You should not tell your kids what to buy and what not to buy. My mom owns a Contour with almost 130000kms. It has not had any of those things go wrong that your Contour and it is the same year. Ford are good cars, but the Contour was their worst car made, so do not judge Ford by one of their worst cars. That is why they only were made for five years.

1998 Ford Contour GL from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31065 miles
Most recent distance156550 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Have had some problems, but nothing major and it was very inexpensive to repair.

General Comments:

I purchased my contour in 1999 and have loved it every since. I now have 156550 miles and it continues to run great. I am very happy with my contour and would purchase another one, but they no longer make them. This has been a very reliable car and very inexpensive for repairs and maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

1998 Ford Contour SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Endless electrical problems

Faults:

After the first year, there was never a time when the electrical system was all OK. At various times the turn signals, brake lights, dashboard lights and the dome light switches didn't work.

The last straw was the simultaneous failure of the horn and the cruise control.

The flapper in the fuel filler line was stuck constantly, and filling the tank was always a hassle. Our local dealer replaced it, it was OK for about a month, and then the new flapper was permanently stuck.

We needed a new battery every two years. Replacing the alternator didn't help.

The engine was constantly overheating, even in winter.

General Comments:

It had a comfortable interior and nice ride at least, but this hardly compensated for the endless problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1998 Ford Contour LX 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres

Summary:

Drove it like I stole it and loved me for it!

Faults:

Tie rods (common every 100000 kms)

Sunroof motor (cheap & easy fix/self install via ebay)

Power mirror motors = crap (dead at 70000kms)

2 clutches (after 305km though is great)

Door & trunk seals are lousy.

General Comments:

Really, to be honest I drove this car like I stole it from the day I bought it off my dad (at 80km), a careless car abusing disaster of a man. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. Overall I am greatly impressed and would consider even getting another one, exactly the same. Mine had loaded everything, FAR nicer than the tacky fabrics they had in lower versions. Clean, good looking, kept relatively solid until a neglectful error (my poor student fault) of not replacing the alternator in time, which caused the battery to spew, which then corroded all the under-hood wiring ultimately ruining our relationship. Get yourself one! They are great in Canadian winter snow too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2006

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews