1998 Ford Contour Reviews - Page 5 of 29

1998 Ford Contour GS from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

It has been reliable for me

Faults:

I've had this car for just over a year now. It has been the most reliable used car I've owned in my entire life. Just today the check engine light came on. Its the first problem I've had with the car.

General Comments:

I've changed the oil every 3thousand miles. Everything has been wonderful up until now, and I expect things to begin going wrong at 128,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

1998 Ford Contour LX/Sport/GL 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Powerful, but cheap feeling and uncomfortable

Faults:

- Alternator

- Window crank (Driver's door)

- Outside handle (Driver's door)

- Battery

General Comments:

I have only had this car for a short time, and I really don't like it. It feels flimsy and cheap. It's very uncomfortable to ride in, and I just don't feel safe in it.

It can take off and do it well, it just has poor steering and control.

The interior is very plain and dull looking. It feels like it is always about to break down.

The third day I had it, I went to roll down my window and the crank came right off. It broke and the steel bar inside the door.

It just feels so awkward to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 11:25

If you read through a bunch of reviews, then you will realize that steering and handling are the points people really like about this car. If yours are bad in this regard, it must be because of worn out parts. Have it checked.

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84225 miles
Most recent distance95200 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

A good car in its next life..

Faults:

The paint flakes from the body for no particular reason. I wash and detail this thing weekly, and use Maguair's. I'm putting small band aids on it with aftermarket touch up paint and brush.

The radio speakers don't function properly. No matter what I try, seems only the RF and LF will operate. Oh well, at least it's stereo.

General Comments:

I have NEVER been a Blue Oval Guy, and probably never will again. This car was the right price at the right time for me. Really not a bad car, I'm just not into crappy little Fords. Hasn't FoMoCo learned anything from the Pinto, Tempo and Escort?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

1998 Ford Contour LX 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Overall, the best car I have EVER owned

Faults:

ZERO - VERY reliable and cheap to maintain.

General Comments:

I have absolutely ZERO problems with this car, and it STILL runs like a charm. Sure, it's cheap and lacks frills, but I love the combination of power and economy from the V6 and 5 spd transmission, although I wish the final ration was a bit taller for better highway cruising and MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2007

1998 Ford Contour SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance232000 miles

General Comments:

This car has had the standard issues that any car has as it ages, but recently the transmission failed at 232,000 miles. This is the first major repair that I have had to do to this car. Everyone is in aw that a Ford Contour has kept on the road this long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2007

1998 Ford Contour GL 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

The biggest piece of crap I ever owned

Faults:

By the time the car had 50,000 miles, I had to replace the timing belt twice.

Wire harness from the blower to the fuse box melted almost lit the whole car on fire. Probably would have been better off.

Car constantly jerks or misfires. Had it at Ford a dealer and two different mechanics, and nobody can figure out why it is doing it. Must be possessed.

New water pump.

Oil keeps getting in by the spark plugs.

Struts went bad very early.

General Comments:

This Ford Contour is a piece of junk. I will never purchase Ford again, and good for the guy who said his kids won't either. I learned the hard way; my kid shouldn't have to.

This car has been jerking and misfiring for years now, and it's hard to believe you take it to the place that should be able to tell you what it is, and they have no idea either.

It says a lot about Ford when they quit making this car after only a few years. They knew they were building a piece of crap, and then had the nerve to sell it to hard working people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

24th Jul 2008, 22:46

Sorry you feel that way. I have a 1996 Ford Contour 16v zetec DOHC, 163,000 miles. Only had normal maintenance done on it and still going.

Also have Ford Bronco 1990. Lots of fun 4 wheeling.

3rd Aug 2008, 12:55

I own a 1997 Ford Contour GL. I would have to agree that the car has very poor design and is not built to last. I'm glad they have discontinued the car. Here is what I have had to deal with:

-It idles very rough, so rough at times it feels like the engine is going to fail. One time it did.

-Timing system broke around 90,000 miles and had to be rebuilt.

-Serpentine belt has been replaced numerous times.

-Timing belt has been replaced numerous times.

-Oil has been found in the spark plug area.

-Unknown leaks are common.

-Cup holder broke with regular use.

-Motors in the doors that control windows and door locks broke with regular use. Very expensive to fix ($650 per side)

-Electrical problems (several recalls about this) that lead to melting wires and loss of exterior lights.

-Using the heater for long periods of time leads to a hot plastic smell in cabin.

-Car reads at running very hot, temperature gauge seems unreliable and inaccurate even after replacing several times.

-Car jerks and misfires.

-Water pump broke at 130,000 miles.

-Transmission has become sticky at 133,000 miles.

-At 133,500 miles I have deemed the car unsafe to drive.

22nd Sep 2008, 21:15

I have a 98 Ford Contour and anything that could go wrong with this car - has. It has 125,000 miles on it and I can't even get the thing to drive anymore.

I have had to replace the timing belt twice. None of the gadgets work (windows, washer fluid, radio) The car constantly needs work. I've had to replace my spark plugs 7 times because my car kept jerking. I just put 1,000 dollars into it in the past 6 months, and the other day the transmission went out. Lucky me - I have to now buy another car.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 112 reviews