1994 Ford Courier Dual cab 4X4 2.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Weak but reliable


Gas converter (for LPG system) broke down.

Overheats easily, once engine is turned off.

General Comments:

Not much has gone wrong with the car, but one thing that appears to be innate in its design, is the ease with which it gets too hot once engine is switched off.

I think its relative weakness, high torque even when doing a 100kph in 5th gear, engine heat, are all due to a comparatively small engine for a car its size. 2.6 and 4 cylinders is just not enough.

At a 100kph, you're doing 3000rpm. And on LPG, you can get only 300kms to a tank of 52L.

Just don't drive in hilly country, or pull anything too heavy, ie, don't have too much expectations about performance, and it will prove to be a reliable car that just keeps going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

22nd Oct 2009, 05:33

Hi, I drive a 2 wheel drive long bed ute, 2.6 litre petrol, 5 speed manual gearbox. 1994 model. Engine is strong for its size, very willing.

I've never had an overheating problem except when the radiator needed replacing a 110,000km. I've had the little coolant hose under the manifold break & still it did not get overly hot. It was an absolute nightmare to get at though.

Lifters replaced at 80,000km, & the synchro on second gear are weak from the start. Fuel economy is extremely lousy at 14 litres per 100km around town unladen.

It now has 175,000 on the clock & the input shaft bearing in the gearbox is getting noisy. The thing has never let me down though, & it kind of grows on you well into old age. But I now think it's time to go. Maybe one of the new Mitsi range...

30th Nov 2009, 17:11

You know, just before I sold the car, the problem was fixed. And all it took was a new radiator and coolant.

And I took it to 3 different mechanics before that, none was able to 'reproduce the symptoms'.

And the day I sold it, and saw it drive away I thought: there goes my most reliable car.

1979 Ford Courier LXT 2.3L Gas Carb from North America


Super Little work truck that you can count on!


Fuel Filter Replaced, Couple of Hoses replaced, Glove box sticks a bit, Distributor cap replaced.

General Comments:

Not a powerful ride, but gets good gas mileage.

Great for hauling stuff around town. Always nice to have a little work for side projects. I wouldn't say this truck is for the big road trip or traveling.

No Major overhaul need on this Little truck and have flipped odometer 100,000+ miles :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

30th Jul 2007, 07:48

You must haul a lot of stuff to have put 50K+ miles on it in half a year or less.

13th Aug 2007, 10:32

I drive 140 miles a day for work, 70 each way. The miles add up fast. It's mainly freeway miles so it's a little less harsh than stop and go traffic. This little truck likes to go, go, go :)

2nd Jul 2012, 18:07

What mileage do you get with it?

1973 Ford Courier 1.8L from North America


Being a bit of a hick from north Idaho, this truck fits in very well


Not much. mostly electrical, starter, voltage regulator, also had a short under the hood. that was fun.

Just wanted to put my two cents in. I am looking for a dash for my 75. see, I have had the 73 for 5 years and bought a 75 for $25.00 and have rebuilt the thing for $1300.00 so far.

General Comments:

I would have to say this truck has been my most reliable rig I have ever owned. for $300.00 back in 2000. it won't stop running, as long as I tune it up. it also doesn't smoke at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 20:08

Cool, I totally agree with your approach. Pick up a vehicle for twenty-five bucks, even if you have to snake it out of the weeds, and get that thing running. It pains me to see vehicles sitting in the weeds. I want to see somebody get that thing running and drive it. Those '70s vehicles have lots of life in them. I can spot somebody from Idaho/western Montana right off because they use the term "rig" instead of truck or SUV!

30th Oct 2006, 19:44

I would drag myself through mud and broken glass to have an early 70s Courier pickup. My brother had a new one back in 76; it was light green with a 4 speed. Nice and quiet, and great on gas. He kept it for about 6 months because he missed the roar of a V8. So he bought a 73 Mustang 351c.

There's just none of these trucks around at all now. I have a hard time even finding a picture on the web of one. It's a shame how people don't bother fixing these cars and trucks from the 70s up to factory specs. Someday, if I ever find one in decent shape, I will definitely restore it, after I get my Pinto done.

Mark Eastern Canada.

30th Nov 2006, 21:39

There is a new forum on the web for Ford Courier owners. It is fordcouriercollector.com, and it became active on November 29, 2006.

17th Dec 2008, 11:40

Yes I have a 73 Courier and it's a great truck. It was given to me and I'm thinking of selling it for the right price.

29th Sep 2009, 21:09

You still got it? I'll buy, name a price.