1973 Ford Courier 1.8L from North America

Summary:

Being a bit of a hick from north Idaho, this truck fits in very well

Faults:

Not much. mostly electrical, starter, voltage regulator, also had a short under the hood. that was fun.

Just wanted to put my two cents in. I am looking for a dash for my 75. see, I have had the 73 for 5 years and bought a 75 for $25.00 and have rebuilt the thing for $1300.00 so far.

General Comments:

I would have to say this truck has been my most reliable rig I have ever owned. for $300.00 back in 2000. it won't stop running, as long as I tune it up. it also doesn't smoke at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 20:08

Cool, I totally agree with your approach. Pick up a vehicle for twenty-five bucks, even if you have to snake it out of the weeds, and get that thing running. It pains me to see vehicles sitting in the weeds. I want to see somebody get that thing running and drive it. Those '70s vehicles have lots of life in them. I can spot somebody from Idaho/western Montana right off because they use the term "rig" instead of truck or SUV!

30th Oct 2006, 19:44

I would drag myself through mud and broken glass to have an early 70s Courier pickup. My brother had a new one back in 76; it was light green with a 4 speed. Nice and quiet, and great on gas. He kept it for about 6 months because he missed the roar of a V8. So he bought a 73 Mustang 351c.

There's just none of these trucks around at all now. I have a hard time even finding a picture on the web of one. It's a shame how people don't bother fixing these cars and trucks from the 70s up to factory specs. Someday, if I ever find one in decent shape, I will definitely restore it, after I get my Pinto done.

Mark Eastern Canada.

30th Nov 2006, 21:39

There is a new forum on the web for Ford Courier owners. It is fordcouriercollector.com, and it became active on November 29, 2006.

17th Dec 2008, 11:40

Yes I have a 73 Courier and it's a great truck. It was given to me and I'm thinking of selling it for the right price.

29th Sep 2009, 21:09

You still got it? I'll buy, name a price.

1972 Ford Courier 1.8L from North America

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

I overheated and blew the engine at 250,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have really enjoyed owning this truck. I have plans to restore it soon. The only problem is that it I very hard to get good parts for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

31st Dec 2004, 09:16

Your Courier is basically the same truck as the pickup sold by Mazda back then, if that is any help in finding parts.

Unless the body is almost rust-free, it's probably not worth restoring though. Like everything else made in Japan in the '70's, they rusted like mad unless they were in a desert climate.

1993 Ford Courier Leisure - D/C - 4X4 3.0 V6 from Namibia

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

1. Steering arms worn out at 160000 Km.

2. Roof stabilization inside the ceiling came loose, resulting in the cab cracking on the outside.

General Comments:

Point 2 above was fully repaired by Ford Motor Co SA at their cost. Many thanks to a superb service.

Engine performance could have been better (down-rated version of V6 fitted ex factory at the time).

Fuel consumption is hefty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1978 Ford Courier Pickup from North America

Summary:

Ugly little truck, but still fun

Faults:

Seat torn up due to age and wear.

Windshield wiper broke, my fault due to a bad fix.

Starter went out.

Tailgate never worked because it jammed.

Tires were always worn out.

General Comments:

I'm not sure if the mileage is correct - at the time I really didn't care about that. This was my first vehicle and it served its purpose well.

I noticed that these other reviews were for a car, but this was a pickup model. It only had an AM radio and dummy lights, but it ran and was fun to drive. Being light and rear wheel drive made it really tail happy, so I had this truck sideways a lot. Also the truck seemed too light to get stuck in the mud.

I had to sell it because I was going to college and needed a more reliable car, the truck was held together with wire and duct tape. Also never changed the oil and it never complained.

One last point, although this isn't a sports car, this truck was the only thing in town that could spin the tires in any gear, and get the speedometer up about 75mph without moving from one spot. That's why the tires were always bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

17th Jan 2005, 09:55

Spinning the tires on a pickup is no great feat.

ANY pickup with an empty bed will spin the tires if you want it to. Little weight over the driving wheels = tire spin.

Especially if the back tires are bald, as yours most likely were!

Given the foregoing, spinning the tires up to 75 mph is just stupid abuse.

23rd Jun 2005, 13:18

Yeah I agree, but like I said it was my first vehicle and at the time I didn't care about car care much. I have become much more careful now.

29th Nov 2005, 23:35

I own a 78 Courier 78000 k's, no rust, 2.3, 5 speed.

I am in the middle of stuffing a small block Chevy into it.

My goal is to tow my 23' Wellcraft behind it. It'll get some looks for sure ha ha.

Also, tire smoke is a beautiful smell in the morning.

29th Nov 2006, 14:13

Ford courier can sit for a year and I went out and it started right up mine just keeps on running just like a ford just won't die.

23rd Aug 2008, 16:12

I also have a 78 Ford Courier and I got it for free. Didn't run at the time and now runs like a champ. I put a Weber carburetor on it and it loves to spin the tires. And it only has the 1.8 four cylinder motor in it; amazing huh.

1982 Ford Courier 1.8 litres from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

The shock absorbers failed after 520000 kilometres.

The seat springs have collapsed.-

The main bearings are slapping the walls.-

The head gasket split in two places.

The carburettor needs rebuilding.

General Comments:

On the whole, the Ford Courier is the most efficient vehicle for carrying goods that I have owned.

The Ford Courier is fast, accelerates well, climbs hills extremely well under load and corners well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004