1986 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews

1986 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 5.0 302 V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37600 miles
Most recent distance37750 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

A tank with couches in it!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

In the sense of sheer beauty, it is not quite my 1979 Lincoln that I used to have, but it makes up for it!

I never expected the car to be so smooth. It takes bumps just as well - if not better - than any other car I have owned. It rides beautifully! I also never expected the cabin to be so silent, the only thing you hear is the engine.

In my Lincoln, I was spoiled with big cushy leather seats (anyone who had a 70's Lincoln knows what I'm talking about). So I wasn't expecting the cloth split bench to be nearly as comfortable. I tell you though, those seats are very very supportive and comfortable, I could take a nap in there (I can't of course... because I'm driving, haha).

I have to say though, it IS an attractive car. There is something about that old school simplicity that makes it beautiful. Some of my friends look at me strangely, because I'm 22 driving that car. I don't care of course, I love it!

Something that surprised me... was that 302 under the hood! I figured it would be fine, but not a race car. I was shocked... that thing MOVES. It's a fast car with a wonderful burly sound... a sound you can never get out of a 4 or 6 cylinder (you can come close, but no cigar). I have only had it for a week, but it seems like the gas mileage is good.

Handling is quite floaty, but that's the way I like it. It WILL corner though when you want it to. If you can get your hands on one... go for it! It's a wonderful car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2011

15th Dec 2011, 17:42

I wish they still made 'em like this, big and floaty. I have always loved the big American cars from the 70's and 80's. I recently traded my 2005 Park Avenue, which still had a nice floaty ride, reminiscent of this time, and beautiful throwback styling. I bought a brand new Lucerne, and am not happy with it at all. I will probably move to an SUV ASAP, since there aren't anymore true American cars left. What a disappointment.

30th Jan 2012, 01:12

These are great cars. I usually drive Chevys, but will admit my 1986 Crown Vic Sedan with a 351 was one of my favorite cars to drive ever.

Amazing on the highway, great handling, braking, performs very well.

Full size, RWD, boat-like and luxury ride like a Lincoln or Cadillac.

Not to mention the smooth ride, quiet cabin, comfortable interior for 6 adults, etc. I would buy one again in a heartbeat.

23rd Apr 2012, 17:15

Yes, the Crown Victorias had an optional 5.8 Carb motor in the 80s.

22nd Nov 2012, 17:37

ORIGINAL POSTER HERE:

Unfortunately, I have to sell the car (if anyone is interested, let me know). The car has now cost me near $5000 to repair. It turns out that the car was not taken care of, and it sat for way too long, and parts rusted out/dry-rotted. Now, the last thing to finally replace is the computer itself! It has caused me nothing but financial problems and heartburn, I have not enjoyed the car ONCE. It's the biggest financial mistake I have made yet. It's a shame, because it COULD be a nice car.

23rd Nov 2012, 11:34

That's the way to try and sell a car LOL.

24th Nov 2012, 08:03

Well... it IS a new car now, LOL. It runs beautifully now (because everything is new).

1986 Ford Crown Victoria LX Coupe 5.0 EFI V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres

Summary:

Best first car/get around vehicle ever made, period

Faults:

Didn't have much problems with it, just regular maintenance such as changing spark plugs (hardest thing to do in these kind of cars, very little wiggle room under the hood despite the size of it, a 5 liter is a big engine) changing oil, etc.

Had some wear and tear, but that's because I bought it used, just made it slightly more ugly.

I like car audio, so I put an aftermarket deck in this car. Just gonna say ahead of time to make sure you replace the stock speaker wire, as I found out the hard way it can't handle the wattage put out by modern decks (a mere 15 watts). Or you could just keep the volume low, but there is no fun in that.

General Comments:

Incredibly reliable and strong, could have sworn it was a tank in disguise. And now for a short story on the life of this car.

The drive-train in these cars are solid. It was my first car, and I was a dumb teenager, so the abuse I did to this car would have killed any other car instantly.

- From locking it in first and almost redlining it when I had the exhaust cut off (sounds mean, like a V8 should).

- To treating it like a 4x4 while going through bush trails to people's farms and fields, causing it to bottom out multiple times and almost getting stuck. Be cautious while driving it through deep snow, it's only rear wheel drive and there is a lot of weight behind it. Also, I guess my tires were bald too, so that doesn't help.

- And on the topic of bald tires, this thing lays down rubber like no tomorrow (via brake stand). That V8 is torquey, and acceleration isn't too bad for a car that weighs about the same as a locomotive.

When I say I abused this car, I truly mean I abused it. But yet it never gave up; the only time when it decided to act up on me was when I took a corner too fast and it stalled; that was the only time this car has ever given me trouble.

I will admit it likes gas, but then again my foot liked being on the floor, and the pedal so happened to be between the two, so that may explain the gas consumption. But if you drive it nice (like how I did when it was getting low on fuel) it does do really good fuel mileage; 25 ish MPG on the highway and 18 in town, not bad for a 5 liter V8 pushing an ingot of steel on wheels.

The interior may possibly be the most comfortable interior possibly to be had in a car. Period. It's like Ford had a special partnership with Lazy boy chairs just for these cars. If you really wanted to, you could use the seats as a bed, especially the rear seats, but as a general rule when in used vehicles "always question what happened in the back seat", so keep that in mind before you curl up and take a nap on the rear seat (on a side note, I'm over 6 feet tall and can easily lay back in the back seat of this car; yeah, it's roomy).

Also, I hand painted this car entirely flat black, awww yeah!

Though unfortunately this car came to a sad end when a idiot decide it was a good time to check his phone while driving at a intersection (why do you text and drive? honestly, don't be stupid), and blew through the stop sign (was a two way stop with a pass through, I was passing through) and smashed into the rear left side of me and spun me around (I'll admit, the spinning around was fun, like I was in an action movie), the amount of damage caused caused the car to be written off.

But a bit on the crash. The car handled the impact like a champ, just the rear left fender crushed in and the whole entire rear section of the car literally shifted over. What did the car decide to do? Shrug it off and kept driving like it normally would.

So this thing will keep you safe in a accident, just don't be no super man though while driving, think of the other people out there driving non-crown Victoria vehicles that could be seriously hurt or killed, drive safe people.

In conclusion? Possibly the best first vehicle anyone can own, absolutely solid and reliable, and are generally really cheap. Parts are cheap as well since Ford went all happy with their 5.0L V8's and put them in practically everything. Kinda like GM and their 3.8 V6's (fantastic engines by the way, but that's another story).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2011

18th Jul 2011, 17:33

I use to have one of them, and always preferred the traditional American look compared to the later models, but even so, the later ones up to this year still looked nice compared to everything else on offer from all manufacturers. Bring back that boxy shape true car. Look again, who cares about cd factors.

18th Jul 2011, 21:52

"always question what happened in the back seat"

That's good advice.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews