1986 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1986 Ford Crown Victoria LX Station Wagon 5.0 EFI V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Family wants for nothing

Faults:

Dual exhaust recently rusted out and had to be replaced from catalytic converters back.

Power locks don't work in rear doors.

Rust starting under rocker panels.

Bad oil leak from valve gaskets.

Fuel gauge is spotty.

General Comments:

This is a great family car.

The engine has plenty of get-up-and-go, and enough room for three kids, two dogs and all the accompanying luggage.

We're nearing 240,000 miles and looking for another 1986 wagon to stablemate with this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

13th May 2010, 16:10

I recently bought a 1985 Crown Vic LTD Wagon as well, from the daughter of the original owner. Talked it down to $750, put $3100 into it, and it's great!

Only storage, no seats in the rear, but it's all good. Beige color, we use it on the weekends/grocery time. Love it! It's my "bucket car", the 3 kids and wife love the room. Door behind me lost the doorlock in the frame, and sometimes the car "jerks" when around 65 mph on a certain highway (what's up with that?), but it's still a great ride. Just load and go.

Moving to Yuma is fall (live in San Diego now), hoping to do some "Griswald" family adventures between that time. Want to add stuff to the wagon, but it just looks so good now to me, maybe tint the back windows for the AZ sun. Glad we have it, yes, I've turned into my dad, and it feels awesome. :)

13th May 2010, 23:41

I fondly remember renting an '85 Crown Vic wagon for a vacation back in '85. That was when we were young and carefree and didn't worry as much about tickets. On one lonesome, desolate stretch of road, I set the cruise on 100 and left it there for about 50 miles. It seemed so effortless and smooth. I loved those big barges.

15th May 2010, 22:23

"sometimes the car "jerks" when around 65 mph on a certain highway (what's up with that?), but it's still a great ride."

Sounds like the throttle valve (TV) needs to be adjusted. You should also upgrade to a brass TV grommet. The plastic grommet can break, which holds the cable to the throttle-body. Premature transmission failure will be the end result... For more tech data, please visit www.grandmarq.net.

1986 Ford Crown Victoria 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Great ride

Faults:

Replaced water pump. Had car repainted, new top installed. Looks new. Replaced shocks and springs at 120,000 miles Changed oil every 2,000 miles. Transmission serviced twice, replaced all transmission fluid, 12 quarts. Replaced ignition module at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this car in 1994 for $4000. It's been very reliable, with minimal repairs. The biggest expense was the paint and top, about $1,200 total. I think I have the only Crown Vic in town with fresh paint. I like the ride, no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

23rd Dec 2004, 06:19

Try to hold onto the only 86 in town with the fresh paint and top

1986 was first year of the MFI engine and it changed in 87 making the 1986 an exclusive car, it has parts that fit no other year crown victoria, if any crown vics become a classic it will be the 1986.

1986 Ford Crown Victoria LTD 8 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle

Summary:

Okay for a temporary vehicle

Faults:

When I got it, the front lock motors were bad, $8 total.

The alternator went, $120.

General Comments:

The car rode like a dream.

The car was awful in winter, I slid into a bank. I also slid through a ditch, hit a small fruit tree, and came within 2 feet of hitting a huge oak tree.

The car had power.

The only reason I bought a Ford was because my Eagle's engine was going to blow (which I didn't tell the dealer).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

11th Jun 2003, 15:04

These are great cars. Very simple, reliable, and well-built. I've wrecked 2 of them and came out just fine. Both times the cars still ran and made it to the scrap yard without the aid of a tow truck. If that's the actual mileage your car should last you a lonnng time if you maintain it right.

20th Oct 2010, 16:36

HAHAH, I just had to laugh at the "I didn't tell the dealer" about the Eagle's bad engine. That's great... I would do the same.

24th Jan 2014, 10:36

To do better in winter you need two things. More weight in the back is one of them. It is a rear wheel drive car, and to get traction you need the wheels to actually dig in.

You also need actual snow tires. They will help you to get through the snow. I say get some plain rims (nothing fancy) for the snow tires, since the salt on the roads will tarnish them and make them look bad. Also slow down when you drive.

25th Jan 2014, 00:31

$120 for an alternator? They're like $40 tops bro.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews