1991 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1991 Ford Crown Victoria Country Squire 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

The Last Great American Car

Faults:

Transmission went-more than once and I am still below 100K Miles. The Achilles Heel of every ford I have ever owned.

General Comments:

This is the last dance- The Ford Woody Wagon ended with this model year.

Rides Like a cloud, hauls tons of stuff.

The BEST Drive in Movie Car ever. My kids won't let me take our Suburban!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

31st Jan 2013, 01:03

When changing the transmission filter and fluid, it's a must that you torque the new transmission filter to 11 inch pounds or it won't shift to 4th gear! This is a must! 11 inch pounds! This was per the instructions in the filter kit! It worked for me. I drove without a 4th gear for a while, and after the filter change, I've got all 4 gears!

Good luck.

1991 Ford Crown Victoria 5.0 lt 302 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 lt 302 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance100140 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

People of any age could appreciate this automotive gem

Faults:

I bought the car with a slipping transmission.

The starter relay acts up sometimes.

The head liner is coming off behind he rear doors.

The rear brakes are too touchy.

General Comments:

The ride and handling make any driving experience a sheer delight.

The 302 seems a little under powered, but does its job well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

28th Oct 2004, 09:06

So...it's underpowered, the transmission slips, the brakes grab, it sometimes doesn't start, and the headliner is falling down?

If this thing is a gem it would be cubic zirconia.

1991 Ford Crown Victoria Police packate 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChrysler Fifth Avenue

Summary:

I hate Ford but want MORE Crown Victoria

Faults:

Rusted out complete exhaust & brake lines. Engine blow by (replaced engine), power window motor replaced, windows readjusted, Cassette player stopped working, A/C hose blew out. Fuel pump kept stopping. I bought a plug for the fuel pump, but then realized that the wires were just loose.

General Comments:

I bought the car in Mass (the state, too long to spell right) and drove the HECK out of it back to South Texas. It had a bad blow-by problem and I figured that if it was gonna break down on me, I'd leave it there & bus back home. Darned thing just wouldn't quit. After another YEAR of hard driving, my mechanic recommended I replace the motor. DONE!

Window motor slowed then gave out. I replace the plastic bearing and we're back in the drive up window at McDonald's without embarrassment. Some adjustment to both front windows was a luxury, but easily done myself.

I use my cassette player to listen to audio notes for college and it quit on me. Salvage yards kept selling me bad ones. This is still not fixed.

After my initial recharging and minor (clutch) repair, the A/C was great! After a year, a hose blew while adding more refrigerant.

The fuel pump is noisy so I easily realized it when it stopped running, I reached up and manipulated the wires and they worked again. Later, I just fixed them correctly. No more problem. Pump still makes noise, though.

I really do NOT like Ford products. I bought this car because it was cheap. I'm in love. All the problems just go away when I'm on the highway. I'm hard on my cars but this Crown Vic just will not quit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

1991 Ford Crown Victoria LX 5.0 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A great package

Faults:

It has a slow voltage drain.

The passenger side power window doesn't work.

General Comments:

With the police interceptor tires on 15" rims, the ride is greatly increased.

The 5.0L gives enough power for the car, but a bigger engine would be nice.

With the exhaust cut off, the engine is starting to show signs of wear.

Overall, the car gives you more power and comfort for the buck.`

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

1991 Ford Crown Victoria LX LTD 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Its like driving a very fast couch

Faults:

I bought this car with leaky valve cover gaskets and replaced them right away for $23 a piece.

The power window motor on the front passenger side is weak and I haven't had time to fix it.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned. I bought it as a winter beater while my Firebird was in storage and fell in love with the Crown Vic. It has high miles, but drives like it is fresh out of the lot. It always starts up and just purrs down the highway. The gas mileage is decent for such a boat of a car. I plan on taking this one to 300,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 23:47

I've rolled over 3 times so that 300,000 won't be too far away for you.

10th Jul 2005, 10:56

Mine made it to 425,000 and I replaced the engine for only $300.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews