1996 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1996 Ford Crown Victoria 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

A comfortable and reliable car

Faults:

The number spark plug wire corroded at the spark plug causing a miss fire.

The water temperature gage failed.

General Comments:

This car was probably the most reliable vehicle I have owned. Other than replacing fluids, tires and the few problems mentioned I never had to touch this vehicle. Even the original exhaust was still in great shape when I traded the vehicle at over 150,000 miles on the vehicle.

This car had the sport handling suspension so it handled and felt really nice on the road. I test drove the regular crown victoria's when I bought this one and did not like the handling. The sport suspension makes a big difference, especially when fully loaded. The air spings in the back keep the rear end from hanging low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

1996 Ford Crown Victoria P71 Police Interceptor 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86500 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Full-size luxury with high performance that is very affordable

Faults:

ABS module needed replacement when I bought the car @ 86500 miles.

A/C compressor replaced @ 88500 miles.

Pitman arm was replaced @ 88500 miles.

Turn signal/wiper switch assembly replaced @ 92000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a great car to own, drive and maintain. Heavy duty Police package combined with legendary Crown Victoria ride!!! Performance is very good for civilian use, although many police officers preferred the 94-96 Chevy Caprice as it had the larger horsepower output due to the larger engine. I had a '93 Caprice 9c1 Police Package prior and found the Crown Vic a roomier, more comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

14th Jun 2003, 16:28

More comfortable than a 94-96 caprice. the Caprice got a re tuned interior and suspension after 94.compare your 96 Victoria to a 96 Caprice. surprising results.

1996 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Family man's hot-rod

Faults:

My alternator shorted out after I put in an aftermarket stereo system.

My intake manifold has a crack in it.

General Comments:

The seats that came with it were the bucket seats. I exchanged them with seats out of a 2000 Ford C.V.P.I.. Now the car is really comfortable.

This car will get up and go. I had to buy a radar detector. People move out your way.

The car handles great and I will replace it with another Crown Vic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

26th Nov 2004, 23:47

I found that the stock intake manifold had a "design defect" more of a flaw that couldn't be accounted for except with time. The plastic design couldn't handle the pressure of the water when it reached high temps. My 96 Vic cracked it's intake manifold and an amazing one day take in and fix @ midas did wonders. I took the car in, they found where the coolant was leaking let me know the cost, happened to have the part in stock and fixed it and got it back to me in 5 hours. The new design is a light weight aluminium, it runs a little hotter than before, but it's splitting hair over the 5-10 degrees. A good car all around, I enjoy mine.

1996 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A good family car.

Faults:

Side-view mirror switch only works on left side.

Replaced the ball-joints at 85000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a good trip taking car. We have a 1995 Astro Van that has more room, but the family prefers to travel in the Crown Vic because it is much more comfortable.

My daughter drives this car more than anyone else. She had a friend get killed driving a little car so I bought her this huge Crown Vic.

This is really my 2nd Crown Vic. She totaled the last one when she ran a red light. She hit a SUV broad-side going 40 MPH. No one in either car was hurt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

9th Oct 2006, 07:56

I don't think buying your daughter a bigger car is the answer. Maybe teaching her how to drive might help, you know, so she doesn't run redlights and kill people.

1996 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

All around good deal

Faults:

When I got the car, it was due for the 50,000 mile maintenance, things like the antifreeze needed flushed and filled, oil needed changed, the generally fun stuff. I needed new brakes, and tires will be next.

General Comments:

I was initially leery about buying such a large car, especially since I sold my truck because of gas costs. I am quite amazed at my mileage being around 22 MPG.

The exterior is smooth and shaped nicely, and the light gray of my car looks fairly clean no matter what.

The engine has plenty of pep for getting onto the freeway, and it never seems to be at a loss for power when passing other cars at speed.

The smoothness is unbelievable, the car steers effortlessly and drives like it's floating on a cloud. Even on rough ground, over railroad tracks, gravel, anything, it's like it's just floating.

The interior is completely comfortable, with the power seats and lumbar adjustments. It's very roomy and plush.

The trunk is deep and has more than enough room for anything I've put in there so far.

A lot of my friends tell me that my car is an old person's car. This may be partially true, but it is also the choice patrol car of many law enforcement groups across the country.

I only have two complaints about the Crown Victoria.

1. The radio is just far enough from me that I have to lean to change the channels. Maybe that's just because I have short arms or something, but if I really wanted to I could get an aftermarket radio with a remote.

2. On the analog climate control model, the off position isn't located on the blower knob, it is located on the directional air flow knob, right between dash vents and floor vents. So you can't switch between dash and floor without shutting the ventilation system off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews