1996 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1996 Ford Crown Victoria police interceptor 4.6 P71 V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 P71 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A sporty, fast car for people who like comfort.

Faults:

My harmonic balancer cracked at 190,000 miles.

The transmission cooler started leaking and had to be replaced at 189,000 miles.

The top radiator hose blew, but the car didn't over heat going under 20 miles per hour.

General Comments:

The car is fast enough to beat a lot of imports and domestics.

It handles very good, and is very predictable through hard turns.

The seats were comfortable, but a pair of sheep skin covers made it very comfortable.

The car had no center console when I purchased it, so I bought one and it is kinda comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

1996 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The best American made car today

Faults:

Three O2 censer's, and one ABS censer.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owed, hand's down. Easy to work on, cheap/easy to find part's. It's a 4 door Mustang basiclly. I highly suggest buying one if you wanna car for life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

28th Apr 2009, 01:41

The same sensors were the problem with my 96 p71. This is truly the best car I have ever had, and cheaper than all the cars I've owned. I'll never sell it.

1996 Ford Crown Victoria LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52991 miles
Most recent distance109855 miles

Summary:

Rip off

Faults:

Intake manifold on 1996 model is made of plastic.

Without previous problems or warning and with 107,853 miles, vehicle suddenly oveheated while driving on highway.

Had it towed to garage and was informed that 1996 models have plastic intake manifolds. I was advised by mechanic this is a common and ongoing problem with the 1996 Crown Victoria. Ford is aware of problem and indeed has issued a recall of the 1996 models for police and taxi cabs, for this specific problem, but will not issue a recall of the same vehicle for consumers. Ford continues to ignore consumer complaints and refuses to assist with repairs.

There is no other intake manifold for another model that is interchangeable, nor is there a metal one made. Ford dealers sell a "kit" that is required at the price of $656.25 (per my invoice). This kit is only available at dealerships, and obviously you cannot find a "used" one because they are cracked. My repair invoice was for $1204.57: Intake Manifold $656.26

5 quarts oil $14.85

1 oil filter $5.96

8 plugs $53.64

1 coolant $8.95

2 cleaners $6.00

1 thermostat $8.95

Labor $375.00

Parts $763.61

EPA Charge $2.00

Local Tax $63.96

TOTAL REPAIR BILL: $1204.57.

You can expect the same thing to happen approximately every 100,000 miles per the dealership service department.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

22nd May 2004, 01:15

Other than that the car will never let you down give it a chance.

24th Feb 2005, 18:28

I replaced my manifold for 250.00. O'Reileys sell them and they are better than OEM.

1st Mar 2005, 12:51

I had the exact same intake manifold problem with mine, leaving my wife & young daughter stranded while I was out of town. $1200 repair bill. I had never heard of an intake manifold failing- ever. The Crown Vic was given to us for free by Ford when they were forced to take back our Taurus SHO under California's "lemon law", but that's another story. We decided to sell the Crown Vic after hearing about the high death rate from fire in rear-end collisions with this car. It was replaced by a very nice 1982 Mercedes 300SD diesel that does not have a plastic intake manifold.

1996 Ford Crown Victoria PI V8 4.6ltr from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 4.6ltr Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Fastest luxury sedan ever

Faults:

The oil pump blew in it and that cost a whole 80 dollars to fix and that was the only thing that went wrong.

Someone stole one of the turn signal headlights and that was 45 dollars to fix for another used one. Sad though, a week later I crashed the car after fixing the turn signal.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best cars a person could ever own. Although I totaled the car going a whole 30mph. So it kinda falls apart easily.

This car was great! I took it up to 110mph in a race and the car I was going against got blown away at how quick it picked up in such a short distance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews