2003 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2003 Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor 4.6L Modular V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6L Modular V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Cruiser S

Summary:

The perfect car for both beginners and avid drivers

Faults:

When I bought the car, the low and high beams did not work. Only the driving and park lights worked. I still have not been able to fix this problem. The only way to drive at night is to hold the High beam flash toward you (makes your hand cramp out...)

The bakes wore out completely in less than three months without warning until the rotator disk wore right off the rear end on both tires. Replaced all brake pads and discs.

At 230,000 kms, the car is now making an ungodly loud clacking noise - the cam rod went in it. Needs new motor. Transmission was also beginning to wear out.

Engine burned both oil and transmission fluid.

General Comments:

Amazing acceleration and power - can get you just about anywhere you need to go.

Would be an excellent family car as there is tonnes of room in it.

Very comfortable to drive, even on long trips. (I do wish it had cruise control though, legs got tired after a while).

A/C was amazing in 30-40 degree (Celsius) weather. Would have to turn it off because it got too cold!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2009

25th Aug 2009, 09:16

You have that kind of trouble and call it the "perfect" car?

A hint: if the A/C is too cold, dial the temperature up.

25th Aug 2009, 13:50

LOL, for the comment above. High and low beam might be a relay that the vendor forgot to connect up.

I wouldn't trust an ex-cop car to be a very reliable vehicle considering the abuse they take.

12th Mar 2012, 09:36

FYI most ex cop cars get purchased by taxi companies, where they tack on an additional 250k mostly trouble free miles.

There is a reason that police and taxi services use these vehicles. They are bullet proof. Literally, if you get one with the ballistic door panels!

27th Jun 2012, 00:51

I personally drive a P71 (Crown Vic Police Interceptor) both as my taxi, as well as my personal vehicle. I have no issues with it at all, other than just the normal wear and tear on it.

As posted about the headlight issue, this is a commonly known issue with the light control module under the dash on the driver's side. I do believe Ford put out a Technical Service Bulletin on it, but there was no recall on the faulty part to my knowledge. Other than the heavier fuel consumption, and the lack of cruise control, at 612,031 km to date, my 2003 P71 is still going strong! I'd buy another one in a heartbeat!

2003 Ford Crown Victoria Base 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Great if you don't mind going slow

Faults:

Needed new front rotors

Has an engine hesitation in the low RPMs.

General Comments:

Really good car. They last forever, mine has 108,000 miles on it and it still goes strong. I did not give it a perfect score because they are fantastically large and fairly slow. If you don't mind that though, I cannot think of a better car for the price. Excellent car for highway cruising as well. The only problems with mine are I had to replace the front discs at 105,000 miles and the engine has a slight hesitation in the low rpms. I also wish they had a tach meter, but the new ones do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2008

2003 Ford Crown Victoria LX Sport 4DR Sedan V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance240563 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Starts every morning on the first try and I have not a single regret

Faults:

The only problems I can remember, outside of regular maintenance were:

(1) The handle to the glove box broke one time.

(2) The dome light burnt out one time.

General Comments:

I bought my 2003 Ford Crown Victoria in 2003 to replace a RAV4. I had the last straw of foreign vehicles with my 1995 Civic after it bit the dust in late 1997 (transmission failure).

I bought a Windstar to replace the Civic because there was a dealer within 4 miles of my house, and I only had a broken seat latch and one power window regulator. I also needed more room than the RAV4 I had. It always served the family without a complaint or a cough, and, truth be told, I could not ask for anything more in a minivan.

I bought the Crown Victoria based on the fact that my Windstar was so reliable.

My favorite features of the Crown Victoria are interior space, comfort, and ride.

The amount of space in the Crown Victoria is the largest of any sedan sold in North America- with the exception of the extended-wheelbase Lincoln Towncar (a more expensive version of the Crown Victoria) and this generation Ford Taurus/Mercury Sable (previously known as the Five Hundred/Montego).

The comfort is second to none. The leather is supportive, and has worn extremely well. The seats adjust properly, and finding an appropriate driving position takes about a minute. I wish my particular vehicle had memory, so I could program two settings.

The ride is as smooth as silk. Every bump is absorbed in the suspension. I feel as if I am "riding on a cloud." This may also be in part to how comfy and welcoming the interior is.

The controls on the center stack are placed logically. They are accurately sized, and all buttons, including the radio display are still as readable as the day I drove my Crown Victoria off of the lot.

My least favorite aspects of the Crown Victoria are the gas mileage (which is understandable) and a few oversights.

I have the V8 engine. I do drive with a light foot, but I get 13 MPG in the city, and 19 on the highway. This is almost pitiful. The mileage has not increased or decreased in age, it has been like that its entire life. The gas mileage (or lack thereof) is probably my most major complaint. For the few times that I do 'floor it', it is worth it.

The engineers at Ford should have paid just a touch more attention to detail. For example, the pinstripe on the side is not straight and it does not match up to the door on the same side as it.

There are no adjustable rear headrests for an unidentified reason.

There should be a 'taillight adjuster' so that on foggy days, the taillights can be set to a brighter hue for better visibility.

In conclusion, I am very fond of my Crown Victoria for these reasons:

(1) It has never left me stranded.

(2) It is comfortable.

(3) It is luxurious and cheap.

(4) The engineers did their homework, and that's what matters to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2008

30th Nov 2008, 20:57

What gears do you have? 3.55 ratio?

1st Dec 2008, 15:15

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE:

I do not know what ratio it is. I can tell you that it is stock.

9th Dec 2008, 00:23

I believe stock is 2.73. It should be on the door sticker.

www.crownvic.net

13th Dec 2008, 15:10

The LX Sport has 3.27 gears.

21st Dec 2008, 17:19

The Crown Vic and Mercury equivalent are in my opinion the nicest styled cars out there, and if ford ever bring in a replacement let's hope they don't try to look too modern, because the current which is 10 year old really is the oldest Ford on the market, and the nicest looking by a long shot.

23rd Dec 2008, 17:40

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE.

That was one of the main reasons why I bought the Crown Vic. It had been around for a while and had proven its capabilities.

Also, to comment 21st Dec 2008, 17:19, comment 22nd Dec 2008, 13:45 is correct. Another example is the Ranger pickup- going back to 1984.

23rd Dec 2008, 21:44

Everyone seems to think "newer is better" with regard to auto design. As a mechanic I can guarantee you that is a MAJOR myth. Older designs are tried and proven, and have all the bugs worked out. I refuse to EVER buy the first year model of anything. I waited 2 years to buy the redesigned retro Mustang so others could go through the "first year headaches" and save me the trouble. My 2007 has been flawless thus far.

31st Dec 2008, 15:27

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE.

I totally agree with the last comment. Look at reliability charts of any model, and the reliability is always lower the first year of that model name or of a major redesign.

4th Jan 2009, 00:07

Well CV cars today or 30 years ago will still seat 4 adults in comfort; what more do you want. The current Crown Vic mechanically wise may be 30 years old, but its styling is 10 years old, and I do believe it is as good as you can get in this era, without copying the euroyachts or riceburners.

4th Jan 2009, 10:19

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE.

Again, I agree with the last comment.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews