2004 Ford Crown Victoria Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2004 Ford Crown Victoria STD 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired5200 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Best overall car on market

Faults:

Water pump went out at 36,000 miles; Warranty took care of it.

Had to replace passenger's power door lock actuator; you can't put a life on electrical items.

Overall, that's it.

General Comments:

Overall, it's been the best car I've ever owned. It's my second Crown Victoria(my first was a 1990 Crown Victoria STD; I had to repair some things on it, for the first owner was very rough on it, but it became a great car). These cars are hard to beat for reliability; look at what the police drive. Just keep the car serviced.

It has a comfortable ride, roomy interior, and it's easy to drive for a big car.

Once inside, its seats are comfortable, and the controls are simple to use.

It's also very safe. It feels like a tank.

One thing I have to say is that it can go 500 miles on a tank of fuel if it's driven properly (No hot footing or lead footing; use the cruise control whenever possible). My car has achieved 31 MPG, which is as good as many small and compact cars.

If anything happened to my Crown Victoria, I would have to replace it with another one. After owning two, I wouldn't want anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2009

27th Jan 2009, 22:15

STD?? A base model?? LTD...

4th Apr 2009, 00:40

These cars have not been called "LTD" since the 1991 model year, when Ford simply called the car "Crown Victoria." As far as the STD, on the car's window sticker it says "Crown Victoria STD." That is referring to the entry level model; however, it is well-equipped for what you get. Like I said, it's the best car I have ever owned.

9th Aug 2009, 15:12

One comment if you buy an extended warranty for your car, regardless of brand: buy the extended warranty through the manufacturer; not a warranty company. The manufacturer's extended warranty will cover most items (depending on the coverage you purchased), and it's good at the dealer that sold that car new, so you've got a network of dealers that will help you. In my case, I bought a Ford, so I buy the extended warranty through Ford, not some warranty company.

2004 Ford Crown Victoria LX Premium Sport 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17200 miles
Most recent distance31500 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

What a car should be; the best value on the road..

Faults:

The only problem I've had so far was that the car came with a faulty passenger-side catalytic converter installed. (Simple dealer fix for free)

General Comments:

I grew up driving Crown vics and I've experienced just how reliable and enjoyable they are. I was actually shopping for a GT Mustang when I came across this Sport Package Crown Vic. Once I saw it, there was no debate.

I've been extremely happy with it, plenty of power and great handling and since it's shiny black on black, it gets a lot of looks and comments.

I only hope that they don't stop producing these fine cars anytime soon. It's one of the best values on the road and with tune-up intervals over 100,000 miles, you can't beat it. The extra power, great handling, and monochrome appearance package of the sport package really adds an edge too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2006

9th May 2006, 13:40

Shopping for gt stangs and I got a crown vic, now that's an odd story.

29th May 2006, 21:23

Not really considering they're both 8 cylinder american cars and both by Ford...

1st Apr 2007, 23:30

They have the same engine too.

13th Apr 2008, 20:13

... but one is a nimble sports car and the other a floppy land-yacht, But, to each his own.

1st Dec 2008, 14:11

Not to mention they both are rear wheel drive, and the crown Victoria can even have a throaty sounding dual exhaust system.

Believe it or not there's a lot of similarities.

6th Apr 2009, 01:52

The Crown Vic is really a 4 door Mustang, but with a much lower insurance rate. I too was also shopping for a Mustang and ended up in a Crown Vic. I was sold by the lower insurance rates and the cop look.

25th Jul 2011, 16:21

It's not uncommon for someone to run into a scenario such as this one. I was originally shopping for a Mustang, and ended up purchasing a Mercury Grand Marquis (My review can be found here: http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/mercury/grand_marquis/r134134/) and am happy with it.

It is true that these cars are similar with their drive train and RWD configuration, but I decided that the Grand Marquis would be more practical for a daily driver, and has more room than I would ever need.

Average review marks: 9.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews