2001 Ford Escape XLT 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America




Transmission goes Poof. No warning, no signs of potential disaster, just poof. I have 69000 on a 2001 Ford Escape and the 5-speed transmission just quit right in the middle of a busy intersection. It would not go into gear, forward or reverse, nothing. Took it to the dealership who tells me this is unusual for the Escape. I see from this site, that it is not. Why is Ford not forthcoming in addressing this issue?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

2001 Ford Escape XLT from North America


Overall, a good solid automobile for the money. I would get another one


There was a compressor leak in the AC.

The floorboard flooded on passenger side.

The electrical components are ghost.

The brake dust on the front tires is bad.

General Comments:

This car has great acceleration. No comparison with the Ford Ranger (same size engine, but SO slow). I have been very pleased with the performance of this SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2004

2001 Ford Escape XLT V6 from North America


Great vehicle for a domestic


Coolant Light comes on, even when full.

Transmission is starting to shift hard. Not too concerned since I have a 100,000 mile extended warranty.

General Comments:

Bought this Escape new, and have been very happy with it. I have driven Jeep Cherokees and Chevy Blazers and there is no comparison. The Escape comes out on top. (except maybe for heavy duty off roading).

Handles like a car and has plenty of power for passing and quick take offs.

I'm an import guy, and was going to get the Mazda Tribute, but the Ford dealer was closer to home. I gave the Ford a try and am impressed.

I'm not going to keep it over 100,000 miles due to the transmission shifting hard, but would consider another if I didn't need more room. I'm looking at the Expedition next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

30th Apr 2005, 05:40

Ford owns Mazda and the escape and tribute are basically the same vehicle with different body's, under the skin it's all ford.

2001 Ford Escape XLT 4x4 3.0 litre gasoline from North America


A fun and functional ride


Nothing requiring service yet.

Occasionally stalls out when the engine is cold at very low speeds.

General Comments:

Handles extremely well and has a softer, more car-like ride than most 4x4s.

Very spunky engine -- easy to bark the tires.

Transmission shifting is unpredictable, but functions well in tandem with the engine.

Excellent fuel economy for an SUV (I average 24 mpg).

Plenty of room for passengers in the rear and plenty of cargo space.

Spare tire stowage in tidy, hidden compartment in the cargo area is a nice touch.

Controls are easy to reach and read.

Vehicle is well-equipped; the optional Mach sound system and sunroof are fantastic.

Brake dust on front wheels is annoying, but not uncommon for vehicles in this class.

Now for personal comments. I used to drive a Ford Aerostar and had 12 long years of service with that van. When it was time to look for another vehicle, I was looking for fuel economy and functionality, and I didn't want a car. The Escape answered every need. I absolutely love my little get-around. It is comfortable and capable and I'm looking forward to having it for many years. I trust Ford products and they've got a real winner with this little SUV. It is priced a bit more than others in its class, but it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

23rd Jul 2004, 12:01

Stalls at low speeds... check recall... http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/ford_escape_shutdown.html talks about it... or consumerreports.org and search.

2001 Ford Escape XLS 3.6 4X4 from North America


A peppy well rounded suv, for your money


Since purchasing my vehicle 3 months ago, I have had to have a nail removed from a tire. Nothing major. I guess it was my own fault for going through a construction sight.

I have noticed that the cloth seats tend to pill too.

General Comments:

Having previously owned a mustang convertible, I find the Escape to be very roomy and safe. I do however find that the front seats are not supportive to the lower back. I prefer the power lumbar seats that the mustang comes with. I do feel as if it should come standard with larger wheels like at least 16 inch. Being that it is an SUV, The larger tires would add to the huskiness of the vehicle. I feel that for the price you are getting a great American made suv, that will go the distance. Ford makes good quality vehicles and I will continue to purchase them in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

20th Mar 2005, 12:19

I loved my '01 Ford Escape until my transmission tore up in it. I bought it new in 2001 and have always kept the oil and fluids changed and taken care of it. I used it for travel, and I had 129,909 miles on it when it went out. That was a big disappointment for me. I will not buy another one.