2003 Ford Escape Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2003 Ford Escape XLT 3.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carFord Escape

Faults:

Had the car for less than 6,000 miles and traded it in for a Saturn Vue. My 2 kids both got sick in the car due to an overly bumpy ride. I tried lowering the tire pressure a few pounds, but no good. The kids hated the car. I loved its looks, leather, sun roof, 6 CD changer, but what good was it if the kids got sick? Hence, I have a VUE, now at 10,000 miles. No sick kids. If you buy one test it with your kids in the back seat over pot holes, etc.

General Comments:

Lousy bumpy ride, poor for back seat passengers.

Nice overall.

Comfortable seats.

Strong engine.

Excellent in low snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

10th Mar 2005, 11:41

Our 2005 Escape is a smooth rider. Maybe those kids should be taken in for a check-up. Don't take them to an amusement park!

15th Apr 2005, 07:29

Good luck with that VUE, hope you aren't going fast when the rear suspension collapses.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/saturn_vue_suspension.html

1st Dec 2005, 21:52

I have no problems with my Escape and can only offer praise for the ride. Suggest you stop letting your kids rule your life!

3rd Feb 2006, 07:32

It's a fair comment. Who wants to be cleaning up vomit after every trip to the supermarket? Try Gravol for long trips in any car, makes the little ones sleep as well as preventing nausea, or otherwise bring a big bucket.

25th Apr 2007, 09:56

I think your kids are sallys.. you got rid of a car cuz they r car sick... you should let them get out more often.

2003 Ford Escape XLT Sports Edition 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Easily one of the best small SUV - Worth a look

Faults:

It's black and it shows dirt/dust marks easily.

No mechanical failures have cropped up even driven off-road daily.

General Comments:

Car has noticeably more pep than others in its (size) class. The engine seems happy to respond to petal demands. Some others I've tested seem to rev for a second more before complying. Others just didn't have the "go".

Space for four medium sized adults and two dogs comfortably. Or more commonly, two adults and two dogs and their gear. Comfy for all parties.

Rear seats could be more comfortable, but certainly not "uncomfortable". Ridden back there on occasion. Backseats not contoured. Slips a bit on leather. Otherwise, fine if the driver is tame.

Seats that fold flat w/o having to remove them is a surprisingly useful feature. This is convenient if not a bit awkward at first. If done incorrectly, the seat belts leave imprint (not-permanent) on the leather.

Strong difference using 4x4 on wet pavement. 2x4 does not hold high speed turns well except on dry pavement.

Driven in heavy snow conditions with happy results. Easily handled uphill in snowy/icy conditions where other vehicles obviously suffered (since I passed many spinning tires). In on instance, my other car (Honda Accord) couldn't get up the driveway due to icing. The Escape made it look like the pavement was dry and clear.

Cabin noise is a notable concern - particularly on the highway at higher speeds. This is corrected in the newer models from that I understand. May try to reduce it using insulator.

Stock sound system is unimpressive. Didn't purchase sound package.

Leather has been favorable with two dogs traveling often (dog hair easier to clean). Leather has resisted scratches well. No complaints here.

Overhead cargo rack on the Sports Edition quite useful. Not just (but certainly helps) about the looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

16th Jan 2005, 17:37

IN comment to the Jeep Liberty and such, we are talking about the Escape and how nice a vehicle it is. If we wanted to pay more than we would be discussing the Jeep or 4 runner, this is about the Escape. Of course we could talk about BMW or Mecedes... they make the top class SUV.

Think that this commenter was merely stating their views on the intended SUV and not getting carried away.

I think this made my decision as I have two dogs and was debating leather vs. cloth.

Thanks for the great review!!

13th Dec 2007, 19:48

Another comment for the person comparing the Escape to the 4runner and Liberty... I believe the 4runner is comparable to the Explorer in size, not positive though. I do know the more accurate comparison to the Escape is the Highlander.

Two colleagues of mine have Jeep Liberties, and report about 13mpg vs. my 22mpg. Again, not a favorable comparison, unless talking about off-roading capability. The Liberty diesel gets better mileage, but costs significantly more, and has many reliability issues.

5th Nov 2010, 15:56

Bought a 2003 Escape Limited in spring of 2004 with 11,000 km (7,000 miles). It has performed flawlessly since then with 168,000 km. Just don't like the road noise and wind noise.

Mechanically it has been excellent, very good on snow and ice, and very sure-footed on slippery roads.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews