1987 Ford Escort Reviews

1987 Ford Escort Wagon 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Type I

Summary:

Car with an engine from hell

Faults:

Replaced tires when purchased at 80k.

Blew a head gasket within the first month of ownership. It then blew another head gasket the following summer.

Starter relay switch replaced at 85k.

Car's engine caught on fire at 90k; it burnt to a crisp.

Automatic seat belts worked when they wanted to.

General Comments:

I wanted to like this car, it was sort of cute and the seats were fairly comfortable for a small car.

Unfortunately, it was yet another terrible purchase. As stated above, the engine blew a head gasket twice, costing me US $1100 to fix the first time and $900 to fix the second time. The Escort would overheat very frequently, I worried every time I got into the car that I would be stranded somewhere.

Finally, after parking the car in my driveway, I turned around to see the whole front of the car engulfed in flames. The engine caught fire and burned to a crisp. Shrug, good riddance.

I have owned three Fords in my lifetime; all of which tended to overheat (why do Fords have this problem?!).

I will NEVER buy a Ford again, should have learned my lesson the first time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2011

29th Jul 2012, 21:34

You bought a 21 year old car; of course it was going to have issues.

27th May 2013, 06:17

Read his stats; he owned the car from 1995-1996.

28th May 2013, 06:34

Well of course it's going to blow a head gasket if it overheats all the time! Why didn't you have your cooling system looked at, instead of just driving it around and letting the engine overheat. It's not the engine from hell, it's an inoperative cooling system and the owner causing the problem.

1987 Ford Escort GT 1.9L Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9L Gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance77450 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Karmann Ghia

Summary:

I love my little 21 yr old GT

Faults:

Does seem to eat exhaust systems.

General Comments:

I've had this car since new. Drove it for 2 winters, and have put it away for the winter ever since.

I can't wait to drive her each spring. Such a fun little car to drive. Quick, responsive, and reliable.

It's first spring, I had installed, a color matched, silk-screened sunroof, imported from Las Vegas. Makes it totally unique.

Only tires, and exhaust have been replaced. Everything else is original.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

2nd May 2008, 10:45

What a great car, sounds like you take great care of it. What color is it?

1987 Ford Escort GL 1.9L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Best Compact Car Ever Made

Faults:

Transaxle leaked, tightened gasket bolts after it was serviced by Transmission repair shop.

Water pump went bad at 69000 miles, replaced with new- 20 bucks.

A/C did not work when purchased, has since been removed.

Rear wheel bearings replaced at 63000.

Radio replaced with CD player at 64000.

Uses a slight amount of oil, mostly dripping from possibly the oil pan gasket.

Rear Springs sagging, using 'spring helpers' to raise rear end ride height.

General Comments:

Overall for a car 19 yrs old I can't complain. I'm the 3rd owner and I know both previous owners. I purchased the car for the sole purpose of reducing the miles I put on my other car. The $200 I spent to buy it was well worth it.

This is the 4th Escort that I have owned (the others were '84, '85 and '86). The only complaint is that it is an automatic, all my others were 4 or 5 speeds, and this transmission is a bit on the slow side. I can't complain at all, especially since it sat idle for over two years in the HOT southern/central Florida sun. I doesn't look like much, but it runs and that's all that matters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

10th Jan 2009, 09:29

I bought a 1987 Escort GL Wagon with manual 4-speed. It was problem free for 17 years and I spent very little on maintenance. I had to do the brakes twice in seventeen years and have the A.C. recharged once. That's it.

It was still running very well when I had to get rid of it after 17 years because a rear strut support was too corroded. That was my fault because I never maintained the poor thing. What a great little car it was. It took me from the east coast to the west and back across many moves and many jobs. It will be missed.

1st Apr 2010, 10:40

I love my 1987 Escort. I was able to purchase mine a couple of years ago for $1,600. It only had 60,000 original km on it. The engine was in mint condition (and still is), the body in good condition. Unfortunately the dash is cracked, and the seats faded, but these things are cosmetic, and can be fixed as long as I'm willing to spend the money. I bought the car from the original owner. She had purchased it the year prior to retiring. After retirement, she and her husband predominantly used his car... hence the low mileage. The only thing I see having to spend significant money on within the next year are new all-season tires, and in the fall/winter new snow tires.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews