1988 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1988 Ford Escort Popular 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance106200 miles

Summary:

For an OAP it can run fast, and without squeaking

Faults:

To get it through the first MOT:

Welding, Exhaust, Handbrake cable, Headlight switch and two new tires.

Then the fan belt went, luckily not far from home!

My next MOT, was just some welding.

It hates the cold weather!

Has a few rust spots, but they are easily rubbed down and re-painted.

I've had to use my electronics knowledge to fix the wiper switch and the heater for the rear windscreen.

General Comments:

Bearing in mind that the car had been sat in a garage for 5 years before I got it, I'm quite happy with the quality.

The interior has quite obviously aged, the dash has a few scrapes, the seats have a bit of water damage and I've had to put a steering wheel cover on to stop my hands sticking to the rubber. But it's my first car, and I love it!

When it's warm, it accelerates nicely, and can pull away from traffic lights faster than some newer cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

1988 Ford Escort Pony from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Summary:

Great starter car or first car

Faults:

Always had cooling problems. Car woull overheat.

General Comments:

Great first car. I purchased this car from the dealer the first 10 miles was a test drive. It was cheap and dependable wile in school.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

1988 Ford Escort EXP Luxury Coupe 1.9L from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired555537 miles
Most recent distance601606 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

For the $700 I paid for this car, It has been worth it

Faults:

Timing belt went out after 58,000 miles.

Speed sensor went out at 59043.6 miles.

Cruise control has never worked since I have owned the car.

General Comments:

This is a very inexpensive car.

Great gas mileage. Approximately 35 miles per gallon.

For the engine size, the car has some get up and go.

The absence of rear seats make the cargo area perfect for larger items.

Handles great in all seasons. Especially winter. Perfect for snow covered roads.

However, the ceiling is rather low and injuries to the head may occur.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

8th Oct 2004, 07:20

This car has over 500K miles on it?

That must be some kind of record for an Escort.

16th Oct 2004, 13:54

No, I just noticed that. It only has 60,000 miles on it now, not 600,000. I need to fix that.

5th Nov 2004, 10:54

These cars are pretty amazing, Mine has 300 000 km on it, ans it still runs pretty good. Very good handling and fun car to drive.

2nd May 2006, 17:35

Purchased mine in August of 1988, new - has about 250,000 miles on it today. Great little car! Really reliable too, especially for a car with enough miles on it to drive one way to the moon!

11th Sep 2007, 23:58

I have an '82 EXP, bought for 600 bucks. This is one on the least expensive and most reliable cars I have ever owned! I hope you have as good as luck with yours, as I have had with mine.

1988 Ford Escort GL 1.7 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Not bad for a Family beater

Faults:

I paid $300 United States dollars for this escort and it was well spent. It went through a map sensor, a set of tires, a starter, and a headlight switch in less than three years! Not too bad, one problem I do have recently is that it warms up and dies on me (distributor) I'm thinking. but well worth the time and money.

General Comments:

The car runs awesome at high speeds 80 + mph!! a little shy on the handling, but what ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

15th Sep 2004, 07:29

"Family beater"?

That means you put your family in it and then drive at 80+ mph?

That would be a beating, indeed.

1988 Ford Escort RS Turbo 1.6 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A real drivers dream!!

Faults:

Melted fuel pump relay (£32 from Fords or £10 from a breakers yard).

Snapped rear tie arm (£52 from Fords).

Alternator failure (£36 local motorists shop).

Drivers door central locking failed (2 hours to locate and re-wire door looms).

Squeaky boot locking catch (2 minutes and 4 inches of electrical tape).

Worn front wheel bearings (yet to be replaced).

Track control arm bushing worn resulting in worn tread on the inside tire edge (bushings to be replaced with poly bushes).

Off side brake caliper sticking resulting in a warped brake disk and an annoying squeak and grinding noise when coming to a halt (Caliper replaced with a fully reconditioned unit £36 pounds and brake disks, both sides replaced with Ebc turbo groove disks and green stuff pads).

Finally turbo oil seals worn therefore blowing oil through the inlet manifold, greatly reducing power by about 40 bhp and loads of torque (turbo being replaced next week with an added -31 actuator).

General Comments:

The majority of these problems are general wear and tear, but some are due to the fact that the car is highly modified.

The car used to be a show/sound off car so it is in immaculate condition, and it still turns heads at 16 years old!!!

The car has had the following modifications; Piper cam, ported and polished head, Scorpion straight through 3 inch exhaust, Chipped ECU, running 1 bar/ 15psi of boost pressure, Pipercross induction filter, bleed valve, Samco silicon hoses, Turbo XS blow off valve (very load), Nomad Racing boost gauge, Ebc brakes, 90 spec interior, bumpers and spoiler, fully de-locked, smoothed bonnet, Antera 145 alloys, Clifford full closure alarm, Toad Power key transponder immobilizer. To cope with all the extra power adjustable Koni suspension had been fitted, this greatly improves handling and stance of the car, but the ride quality suffers as the ride is so firm.

I would recommend one of these flying machines to anyone who likes a real driving experience and loves attention! If this isn't what you are looking for in a car, then opt for a Ford Mondeo or similar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

21st Jul 2004, 14:39

GREAT!! ZzZz.

RS Oil Slingers are pure Junk!!

I wouldn't even waste the money!!

Keep the ZeTec and put it into a MK2 Escort or something worth while!

It may have 240BHP, but it won't even put 130bhp down on the tar when standard so good luck trying to get off the line!

Lattteeee.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 42 reviews