1988 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1988 Ford Escort 1300 Popular 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Ballade

Summary:

Testimony to the fact that a great car cannot be built by accountants and marketeers alone

Faults:

We discovered hesitation uphill was due to carburettor wear.

Thermostat seized open was replaced at time of purchase.

Besides rust on sills noticed at purchase we subsequently found through -metal corrosion on upper interior boot floor panel.

General Comments:

The OHV Popular 1300 model (basic) Escort is a wonderful buy at its 2003 price point of around £300.

It was conceived as a value buy for the eighties.. this value shines through ever more readily today.

I take severe issue with the worlds oldest mass manufacturer... the fact that they saw fit to produce and market a semi-sealed (V.V type) carburetor assisted motor WITHOUT FACTORY FITMENT OF AN INLINE FUEL FILTER speaks volumes why until only very recently they and their overall reputation were in such doldrums in the European market.

The Escort is a throwaway car today partly due to enormous cost in the replacement of the carb which must be done to a larger number of those traveling beyound 60000 miles... partly also because of the high level of rot that will pervade any poorly conceived and protected vehicle chassis such as the Escort has. It is an under-body design full of sludge traps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

1st Sep 2004, 17:59

Ford VV carb does have a fuel filter, a small, but effective gauze filter inserted up the brass inlet pipe of the carburettor.

1988 Ford Escort LD 1.6L diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

A very low performance cheap and easy ride

Faults:

Warped front disks. Fixed by a garage for minimal cost - one caliper bracket was found to be broken at this time and was replaced with one from a scrap yard.

Rusty sills needed welding for MOT.

Upper alternator bracket sheared off at ~150k miles replaced with one from a scrap yard. Access to the bracket mounting bolt necessitated fuel injection pump removal and hence was ~£100 job for the garage to do.

General Comments:

Interior very basic for a modern car.

Very noisy engine, especially when idling and cold.

Forget about overtaking, performance is abysmal.

BUT outstanding cheap motoring, phenomenal 60+ mpg achieved with steady cruising on A roads. (Much cheaper to run than my current Mondeo TD)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

1988 Ford Escort GL from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Great on gas

Faults:

Distributor blew after doing donuts in the snow. Cost me $400.

Transmission slips in third gear. Cost me $150 to get it fixed.

Leaks brake and transmission fluid.

Air conditioner broke.

General Comments:

The seats are very small and uncomfortable.

It runs choppy.

The dashboard shakes and vibrates when accelerating after a complete stop.

However it starts right up on a cold morning.

Great on gas. $10 gets me through a week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

1988 Ford Escort GL 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance138000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Cheap town car

Faults:

Transmission blew up at 133,000 km.

General Comments:

This car is great if you're an older, laid back driver. I don't think it's really a car for younger people because repair costs are heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

27th Jul 2004, 16:30

I don't get how the repair costs are heavy... the only thing that went wrong with it is the transmission?

28th Mar 2005, 16:59

My Escort GL is about 135000km and transmission seems about to give trouble, but still work smooth if hot. A very good tough little car indeed. Pepe.

1988 Ford Escort Popular 1.3 OHV from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 OHV Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Excellent, reliable runabout!

Faults:

This car has been excellent from day one.

Apart from the alternator wearing out at 100,000 miles, which only cost £35 for a new one, the only things I have had to replace are regular service items such as tires, exhaust and brake pads.

General Comments:

For a 1.3, this car is fairly quick at accelerating clocking in at 12 second 0-60 mph.

The interior is still in immaculate condition.

Keep up regular servicing, and this car will prove to be really reliable. I have drove this car huge distances with no hassle and a comfortable ride.

All in all a great buy for £100!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

1988 Ford Escort XR3i 1.6 mfi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 mfi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Roaming rollercoaster for cheaper than a normal ride fair

Faults:

Just a general service kept this brilliant car out of trouble.

Alternator at 106,000.

New exhaust and gearbox seals, ignition modules at about 105,000.

Cheap to do all of that.

General Comments:

Absolutely stunning car for performance and looks; all round brilliant.

It's true about the Escort bug, once you drive one for a few miles, you will never be without one.

I got the bug, and I'm pleased to say I still have it.

I bought this XR3i, and fell in love with it, until someone made me a huge offer on it that I couldn't resist, but now deeply regret, and would pay the world to get it back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

29th Nov 2003, 06:03

I have just changed mine for a new shape Vauxhall Corsa 1.8 SRI and as the good old XR3i was my first car I deeply regret it and advise nobody to sell it and get something else!Although the Corsa would thrash the XR3i in a race I still think the XR3i is quite nippy.

15th Apr 2005, 14:54

Thrash it? :|, hmm... thinking a bit to highly of a corsa there.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 42 reviews