1988 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1988 Ford Escort 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carYugo GVS

Summary:

Worthless!

Faults:

Engine blew.

Throttle body.

Brakes.

Heater core.

Radiator leak.

Oil leak.

Axle.

2 starters, and probably several other things I can't remember.

General Comments:

I paid $2,000 for this car. Over the course of the 7 months I owned it I spent close to $3,000 repairing it. It literally broke down every week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

1988 Ford Escort LX from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Rusted down crap box

Faults:

Tie rod.

Transmission.

Heater.

Temperature gauge.

Paint job.

Steering.

Radio.

Alternator.

Engine coolant reservior.

Windsheild wiper reservoir.

General Comments:

My parents bought it for a thousand dollars, I would have paid 2 dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

1st Jun 2001, 17:36

The problems you had with seem to be typical for a 4 cylinder car with over 100k.

And althought the resevoir problems were not typical, I wouldn't say that they are outrageous.

1988 Ford Escort GT 1.9 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carAMC Concord

Summary:

A great car for a low price

Faults:

Headlight housings leak.

Head gasket work.

Paint.

Exhaust rusted though.

General Comments:

The car shocked me, I didn't think it would be as fast as it is. I'm very pleased with the performance that I got for the price that I paid. I LOVE THIS CAR!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

16th Feb 2001, 21:40

I would have to agree about this Escort. I just bought an 88 Escort GT for 500 dollars. The fuel pump needed to be replaced and the passenger headlight retains water. I need to fix a few things on it but it goes.

11th Aug 2001, 21:11

I own a 1988 Ford Escort GT. And boy do I love it. I've had to fix the water pump and reconnect a vacuum hose but other than that it's a great car and it had over 150K miles. It's extremely easy to drive (even when your drag racing down the street) and it's very comfortable. Also it has a lot of get-up-and-go for a 4cyl car. I love it and would buy another if this one had to go.

1988 Ford Escort LX 1.9 L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance133400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

A solid reliable car

Faults:

Water pump, struts, brakes, alternator, CV joints (both sides), timing belt (twice). That is basically it. Those are basic things that would go bad on any car with as many miles on it.

My only complaint is the timing belt went twice (90,000 expected, then at 115,000). That kinda bothered me. I like timing chains but what can you do?

General Comments:

It is fun to drive, has lots of pickup for 90 HP!

Pretty trouble free.

Some rust problems.

Gets great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

9th Oct 2003, 20:39

Well, the timing belt is rated for 60,000 miles, so getting 90,000 assuming it was original is pretty good.

I'm curious to know if your failed belt was OEM or aftermarket. I have had a couple of unexpected failures - at 53K and 42K - with cheap aftermarket belts. Now it's only original equipment manufactured belts for me!

Also, too much tension on a belt such that it makes a slight whine will destroy it quickly, as will lots of high RPMs.

1988 Ford Escort L 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

A reliable friend

Faults:

Carburettor.

Engine mounts.

Door lock.

Servo tracking done several times, only became undriveable once.

General Comments:

Very pleased, but dated now - no electric operation or c/l. Been to Brittany last 2 years, seems to like french petrol - got 40-42mpg with 4 up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2000

1988 Ford Escort RS Turbo 1.6 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Escort RS1600i

Summary:

Much speed for much cheapness!!!!

Faults:

Fuel pump, apart from that it's very reliable considering it's had quite a few mods.

General Comments:

So good I've owned 3 in the past 2 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

1988 Ford Escort RS Turbo 1.6 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Absolute stunning car

Faults:

The only problem I have had with my Escort is a burnt out circuit board on the fuel pump relay switch.

General Comments:

Since I purchased my car two years ago I have had only one problem with it. It is reliable, has no body rust, still looks good after 12 years, still has original components - alternator, starter motor, turbo, water pump. An excellent car, and if you haven't yet tried one, start looking for one. Just make sure it's Mercury Grey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

3rd Apr 2001, 05:48

I'm looking to get an RS Turbo and this is an interesting review.

However, owning one for 2 years and only doing 4000 miles is hardly pushing the car to its limits, so it would seem to be based more on the aesthetic appeal rather than mechanical stability!

Looking at it like that, and seeing that a circuit board has burnt out still leaves me pretty wary!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 42 reviews