1995 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 22 of 29

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles
Previous carn/a n/a

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

1) Timing belt went at around 85,000

2) Check coolant light malfunctioned

3) Gas Gage sensor malfunctioned

4) Catalytic Converter heat shield fell off at around 15000, then again at 90000

5) A random clanking noise coming from the driver side front tire. Ford Dealership couldn't figure out what it was coming from.

6) The trunk of my hatchback leaked after 1,000 miles. Ford "fixed" it, which lasted until the next time it rained. When I went back to get it looked at for the 2nd time, they said that that was all they could do. They then suggested that I drill holes in the bottom of the wheel well and 2 other places.

General Comments:

Essentially, the only good thing that I have to say about this car is that within about a minute of starting up, both the heat and the air conditioning come up fast enough to the point where its effecting the temperature in the car.

As someone who is over 6 feet tall, there is definitely not enough legroom for anyone who is over about 5 foot 7 inches tall. Including if the seat is pushed all the way back and tilted generously.

The speakers for the stereo sounded OK for about a week.

I've heard a few people talking about how they've owned older models of the escort, and saying how happy they were with it and how many miles they've put on it. If this is true then ford must have thrown their standards out the window when they made the 1995 LX model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

3rd Jan 2003, 15:53

I'd recommend getting the '97 or newer Escort or Tracer.. that was the last Escort design before they stopped making them in 2001. We use them in the rental fleet at my work and they're very reliable cars. They're so solid that some have over 120,000 miles on them and we STILL rent them out to people, confident that we'll have no breakdowns ;)

12th Jul 2011, 08:11

Timing belt is a MAINTENANCE item...

Heat shields... pretty minor.

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance2592328 miles

Summary:

This car has been fantastic

Faults:

The only real problem I have had is a water pump failure.

The other piece that broke was the seat belt clip on the drivers side. So what.

General Comments:

The maintenance schedule has been followed almost to the letter.

Oil changes have been done at 5000 mile intervals with tire rotation at 10K. It has not used any oil since day one.

The car was totaled once when an Explorer hit me doing 45 while I was stopped. Despite the damage even the rear window did not break!

It is in the shop now because it has started to leak a few drops of transmission fluid. No complaint though I have over 250K miles on it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1995 Ford Escort LX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance73600 miles

Summary:

A reliable bargain and a great starter car

Faults:

My rear defroster button does not stay in, and needs to be held in by either the passenger or a piece of paper wedged in there somehow.

Recently the hood latch has become temperamental and the hood refused to open due to blockage. However, it was able to be fixed.

General Comments:

This car is reliable and no major problems have occurred.

The interior is comfortable.

The temperature controls are simple to use and very efficient and make the car very comfortable. The defroster is quick to clear the windshield as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.9L SOHC MFI from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9L SOHC MFI Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

Good up to 50000 miles!

Faults:

Replaced clutch 3 times within 70000 miles of driving. Dealer told me not to "ride the clutch." If you drive in a big, congested, stop-and-go city, how do you avoid this?

Body pan bent inward at correct Ford-specified jacking points. Mechanic told me to use the base of the steering knuckles for jacking, which works. Like all cars today, even the metal under the body is so thin you can almost see through it.

Engine and body vibrates with lots of noise at 2500+ rpm. Road noise and tire noise add to this and make it impossible to conduct a conversation with a passenger.

Engine now has a mysterious misfire that is increasing to cover the entire rpm range. Ford dealer cannot find the cause, and charged me $100 to look at it.

General Comments:

My 1995 Ford Escort LX has been well maintained all of its life. The body and paint are really nice, and even the driver's seat is tear-free. The custom alloy wheels are beautiful. The oil was changed every 3000 miles. But, I cannot sell it to anyone because of the incurable misfire problem. Two used car dealers offered me $200-250 for it. One dealer said the engine was too "rough" to make an offer. This Escort is ready for the junk yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

30th Aug 2004, 00:35

Before you spend a lot on diagnosis, replace the spark plugs, if that doesn't fix it, then the spark plug wires.

Also, in some cases, a worn clutch can feel like a misfire... but that isn't likely in your case as the clutch is fairly new.

As far as not wearing out the cluch... the best thing to do is to sign up for a driving school that specializes in driving with a manual transmission. One school that comes to mind is 'Shifters'

12th Aug 2012, 18:39

Time consuming clutch replacement under warranty was costing auto makers too much on the cheap front wheel drive passenger cars. The solution was to decrease the amount of new shifter cars sold, and increase the number of new automatic transmission cars sold. This plan was so successfully implemented, that many younger drivers do not know how to drive manual shifting cars.

I owned a 90's 5 speed Escort, and was informed by a mechanic that when the clutch assembly is changed, the FLYWHEEL needs to be resurfaced or replaced. This is NOT what dealer shops do under warranty service, because it adds too much additional costs. Don't do this, and the second or third clutch can go in succession within 100K miles easily.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 100 reviews