1998 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 8 of 28

1998 Ford Escort SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned. Reliable beyond belief

Faults:

Switch on the cruise control went bad as well as the on/off switch on the AM/FM radio. Both were replaced under warranty. Replaced worn out wiper blades and have gone through two sets of radial tires. Had to flush the radiator, and top off the freon in the air condtioner system. Changed out transmission oil twice. That's IT!

Brake pads are original and they are nowhere near worn out.

Simply the best car I have ever owned.

General Comments:

Sorry that Ford no longer makes this gem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2007

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

The ZX2 is a zippy, safe ride

Faults:

Heater cable came loose at about 64,000 miles.

General Comments:

Not the fastest car on the block, but reliable.

Saved my life in a T-bone crash; getting hit on the driver side door caved the door, but I didn't get even a scratch.

Perfect for college students with an interest in looking cool, but not so great for older drivers with more cash and more interest in power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2007

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Good looks, good top end, but don't wheel spin

Faults:

Blown 2 gearbox's in 2 months.

Had 2 new clutches. These Escorts don't like wheel spinning.

Timing belt should be changed @ 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This Escort is my pride and joy. It goes OK; not the fastest at 135mph top end, then started to run out of road. Should definitely do the clock (140). Even at high speeds she sticks to the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2007

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Previous carFord GMC Jimmy

Summary:

Crappy

Faults:

My transmission went out.

My belt comes off at least three times a day.

The engine knocks.

I have no idea what to do about the problems with the vehicle.

General Comments:

It's not worth paying for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2007

17th Jan 2008, 21:11

Based on your entry for the previous vehicle that you owned, "Ford GMC Jimmy" I would say that you do not know much about cars, and should not be leaving reviews on this site. You probably bought a car that was beaten and not maintained, therefore you have problems with it.

1998 Ford Escort SE from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles

Summary:

OMG...I have to replace the best car I've ever owned. This is a sad time for me

Faults:

The air conditioner has gone out, twice. No other problems... other than Ford stopped making them.

The pick-up at a stop isn't bad for a 4 cylinder.

General Comments:

No major problems major... just routine maintenance. The car has been reliable

It handles great, fast or slow.

No oil leak and I love the fact that I have had very, very minimal hassles.

I drive all day long and this car has allowed me to do that with no problems for over 250,000 miles.

If only everything in life was this reliable. We whould have nothing to grumble about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 I4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 I4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Fun reliable vehicle

Faults:

Cooling thermostat.

General Comments:

Very reliable! I had the car while I was going to college 900 miles away from home, so I spent many long hours on the road, and I never had any major problems with it. The engine comes stock with a good bit of power relative to the car's size, and the addition of a K&N filter, and the removal of the restrictive resonators only helped the situation. The only negative I found was that the model I had didn't have cruise. I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2007

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Could have been better, but they are throw away cars so deal with it!!

Faults:

Air stopped working. Left blinker was blinking really fast and the lights didn't burn out. Stopped Starting.

General Comments:

If your air stops working, go sit in the passenger side with the car started and air on high, and kick the black round thing under the dash until it kicks in. I did that to my car and now it works fine, just sometimes have to kick it about once every two months or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2007

1998 Ford Escort Wagon SE 2.0 liters, gasoline. from Mexico

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 liters, gasoline. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very good wagon. Reliable car with good space and trouble free transportation

Faults:

Nothing. There was a recall for a fuel line or something of the sort, I don't remember exactly. They sent us a letter home to let us know. The piece in our car wasn't damaged, but they changed it nevertheless. We used very much this car, we did many kilometers in an small amount of time, and the car always gave us great service, we could always depend upon it. We were sorry to sell it, but we bought a very nice Mercedes, and as it was expensive, we had to let this one go.

At the very end, the ventilation system expelled something like a fume, but we never knew what was it, as we sold it just about on those days.

This car had very good assembly and materials quality.

General Comments:

The car had good acceleration, the automatic transmission was extremely nice and smooth. It worked very well with the engine requirements.

The charge space was very good and you could fold both back seats.

The dashboard had a design very new for those days with a black oval zone where ventilation, air conditioning, and radio-cassette controls were all located in a friendly way.

Suspension was very good, handling was fine and performance was also quite well.

This car had quality and lots of qualities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 128 reviews