1998 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 10 of 28

1998 Ford Escort 1.8 GTi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Awesome ride

General Comments:

Escort GTi's are great cars. I am about to buy one for around £1900 (3 door). I test drove this car and loved it. The steering felt a little heavier than my 1.6 LX, but I have been told this isn't a problem. The car is quick for its weight. Who really needs a car with over 115bhp? The whole point of a nice car is to drive slow so people see it. Instead of spending money on engine tuning, spend it on a DVD player and a sound system. Once lowered with a set of 16's, this car looks amazing. Anyone who says otherwise doesn't know much about car styling. You most likely drive a Saxo or something equally bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2006

14th Dec 2006, 09:02

You most likely drive a Saxo or something equally bad.

Like an Escort "GTi"?

17th Feb 2007, 14:56

Do yourself a favour, if you really must buy an escort, buy a 1.8 SI with all the extras possible.

Save yourself a packet on insurance (group 10 for the SI, 13 for the GTI) and get the same performance without looking like a tosser in a GTI when you pull up at trafic lights.

18th Feb 2007, 05:48

Hey you'd be surprised how many people want a car over 115 BHP. And if it looks nice too you can still drive it slow if you want.

12th May 2007, 10:26

The Escort is fair enough as a cheap workhorse, but this particular model has to be a favourite for the biggest abuse of the GTI badge alongside the mk4 Golf "GTI".

Badge engineering for the gullible. The Escort makes perfect sense as an LX or Ghia. The rest are pretentious nonsense

20th Sep 2007, 09:33

I have just bought a Escort GTI 7 weeks ago and I think it's a real nice car and great to drive looks good too. I didn't buy it to show it off or anything like that it was just an ideal upgrade from my MK 4 XR3I.

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 ztex 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission ztex 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Okay car so far

Faults:

I just bought this car. I had the tie rods end done and had a fuel pump put in. Not complaining in that I figured I was going to have to put some money in it.

My problem is that the temp gauge was broken when I got it and then the check engine soon light came on shortly thereafter.

Had that taken care of by the boys at Goodyear, or so I thought. Turns out my temp gauge is not working again and the check engine soon light is on.

Anybody have any experience with a problem like this? Here's the kicker. I've driven about 1,000 miles with the check engine light on, and everything seems fine.

Gas mileage is okay, no funny noises, handling good. Is it possible the sensor is the problem, and not something else?

Any help would be appreciated.

I like the car so far except my temp gauge doesn't work and I don't feel like pouring money into it if it is just a "quirk" of this car.

General Comments:

Car handles good and is fun to drive. Often get 30mpg. Decent looks.

Love the tight turning radius.

Decent room for being small as it is.

Interior is kind of chintzy, but functional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2006

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Definitely a head-turner!!

Faults:

The bush on the passenger side wishbone went at 98000 miles. this caused the tracking to be off, but was inexpensive.

The section of the exhaust between the cat and the back-box had black blow on it and had to be replaced at 98000 miles.

Handbrake needed readjusting at 98000 miles (the travel was a bit too long)

General Comments:

I have had no major or expensive problems with the escort Gti.

Its very reliable and relatively cheap to run, nearly every part in the workings of the car are original, that's how often they break down!

I'm 19 at the moment and this car is perfect for me, its practical and fast, what more could I want?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 128 reviews