1998 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 11 of 28

1998 Ford Escort SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104500 miles
Most recent distance120650 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

Ford Escort = Cheap and Crappy

Faults:

Struts were bad when I bought the car. I have yet to replace them.

I performed a complete tune-up at 105000.

I flushed the transmission fluid at 105000.

Drivers side caliper seized up at 110000.

Thermostat went out at 115000. I replaced the upper and lower radiator hoses, thermostat, timing belt and water pump as preventative maintenance. I did it myself so it only cost $300 total instead of $1000 at a garage.

Pre-cat oxygen sensor went out at 118000.

My #1 cylinder has fouled out a spark plug, but I have yet to determine the cause.

General Comments:

I used to have a 93 Honda Civic lx 5spd that would get better than 40 mpg MIXED DRIVING CITY AND HIGHWAY. That was a tough act to follow. My Escort barely holds a candle to that miser. She would be a great car if little things didn't keep going wrong. I understand that brakes and thermostats and oxygen sensors are all so common that they can be considered general maintenance, however the fact that they are all breaking on me within a short time makes me question my car's overall reliability. I love the gas mileage. I can get 30-40 on the highway and 20-30 city. The seats are not comfortable at all after more than 2 hours of constant driving. Everything feels cheaply made and paper thin. I'm afraid to drive it hard because it doesn't have the solid feel of some more expensive compact cars. I would seriously have to think long and hard before purchasing another Ford product. I love working on my car, but should I have to be in the garage every other week for something stupid?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2006

9th Jan 2007, 19:19

Uh, Hello... the car had over 100k on it when you bought it. It is probable that the previous owner neglected the maintenance on this car.

5th Dec 2007, 14:24

Or simply that is is an American economy car with over 100k miles on it. These Escorts have a general reputation for being quite reliable and long lasting. Just look at the reviews. The ZX2 is another story.

26th Apr 2008, 00:38

It also sounds like poor part quality, try premium parts and maybe you won't have to replace them all the time.

28th Jul 2009, 00:43

It's a used car, chances are the previous owner didn't take good care of it. Also, if things keep breaking that much, it might be a good idea to take it to a mechanic, even if you will have to spend a little bit more. It'll save you money in the long run.

30th Aug 2010, 23:50

Try a model from 1995/1996. I had one that lasted 238,000 miles. A bearing went bad in the engine and I decided to junk it after getting so much use. I acquired the little grocery getter at around 158,000.

Oh yeah, it died due to moving to a mountain area with a constant elevation of around 7,500 feet. Mountain passes...

1998 Ford Escort SE from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100031 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

GREAT...Reliable and fair priced

Faults:

My only issues were the rotors. I had to replace them twice, but it wasn't very expensive and I think it had to do with they way I drive.

Around 127,000 (guessing on miles) my clutch went out. That cost me $1000. But I don't blame the car, clutches wear out with poor driving and well I learned to drive stick with this car and I didn't treat it the best.

Aside from those three things I had no other problems. It was an awesome car, I would still have it today except for the car accident : (

General Comments:

Great, Reliable Car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good, but could be better

Faults:

2 new wish bones.

2 back bearings.

1 drive.

Engine not idling right.

Engine racing.

General Comments:

I had the same make and model car before this one, and never had as many problems.

The head gasket went, but that was just a straight fix.

But with this one, it just seems to be one thing after another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2006

18th Aug 2006, 16:26

I've had wishbones replaced, and had the ISCV (idle speed control valve) cleaned out with carb cleaner, as this can cause dodgy idleness. You've had the car for about 7 or 8 years, what are you expecting? Your list of 'complaints' is very very short considering the length of time! Do you expect your escort to be zero-maintenance? Your list of issues are replacement parts required every few years, and they're not exactly expensive either, being a Ford. I feel you're perhaps new to car-buying and maintenance, so I'll let you off :-)

22nd Aug 2006, 15:57

I had to replace a wishbone just after 50k I think there was a problem with this.

26th Feb 2007, 02:26

This is normal practice for a car that has covered 50k!!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 128 reviews