1998 Ford Escort zX2 from North America


I want a newer model!!!


I have had no problems with my car what so ever.

General Comments:

This car is the best car that I have ever owned. Before this car I had a pontiac grand am gt which I purchased BRAND NEW and I turned it into my insurance because I had so much engine trouble with it. The escort is very comfortable for being a small car, good on gas, and pretty fast also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

1998 Ford Escort SE from North America


Been there, done that, got the t-shirt, time to move on!


Right and left tie rods.

Low fan output.

General Comments:

Since it sits so low, have to fall into the car and climb out of it. There isn't any leg room to speak of, but then it is a compact. I've got a permanent back ache.

In the cold Iowa winters and hot summers, a good fan is needed. This is not the case. The windshield takes approximately 1/2 hour to defrost. And still the car isn't very warm. Dangerous in a snow storm, the ice collects on the windshield while driving. The fan isn't strong enough to keep up.

The car does have a lot of zip to it. No problems with hills or passing. Although the shifting is loose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2006

1998 Ford Escort Ghia 1.6 zetec from Poland


Working horse


I do not have any negative comments to the car. If you service the car on a regular basis you will not have any problems. All repairs were due to normal exploitation reasons.

General Comments:

The car is not too extravagant. It is not really too fast however 190 km/h is not a problem. It is just a car that you treat as your shoes: you get in every morning and ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2006

1998 Ford Escort LX from North America




I have taken it in for routine check-ups and have only fixed minor things (the battery, tires)

General Comments:

This car will not let you down!

It makes a great start/commuter car. (I have actually taken it on a week long road trip without any problems!)

It's nothing fancy, but it gets the job done.

It's roomy and bright inside.

I have had NO serious problems with the car at all!

I keep waiting for something to go wrong, thinking it's too good to be true since I only paid $2500 for it, but it keeps going strong!

I highly recommend this car!

It's worth way more than I paid for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 Sport from North America


Eat me Ford


Clutch needed to be replaced twice.

Head gasket blew, the mechanic argued with me about it saying that the antifreeze in the oil was there because I put it in there. After that the engine needed to be rebuilt.

Not much else.

General Comments:

These are generally good cars. I guess I just got a bad one, I hope. But I really am sick of the dealers who are always a pain when something goes wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 02:52

Ford has a reputation for accusing the customer of abusing a car under warranty. My dealer refused to replace my clutch saying that the wear to my clutch pedal indicated that I was riding the clutch and voiding the warranty! This was unbelievable behavior (second only to VW dealers). I replaced the rubber pedal myself and went to another service dept. and got it fixed.

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 Sport from North America


What a mistake


The clear coat began to come off.

Headlights filled up with water every time it rained.

The little engine could not supply any power and soon blew a head gasket.

After the gasket was replaced the check engine light came on for about a month, still no mechanic could find out why.

The engine finally blew and I junked that piece of crap.

General Comments:

The car looks sporty, but it is not.

This was supposed to be the sport model for Ford besides the Mustang. But both seem to have gone horribly wrong.

No one should ever buy a Ford, they have now power and are very unreliable.

But the dealers are very friendly when selling you junk.

Buy a Kia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

7th Sep 2005, 18:59

Buy a Kia!?

I'm sorry, but I think that's the funniest thing I've ever heard. I guess you got the only lemon out of the 60 other reviews here!

8th Sep 2005, 21:48

Yeah really, a Kia?! Wow, that's a real improvement!

15th Nov 2005, 00:06

Kia is junk.

2nd Apr 2007, 11:01

So far with my experience with a 1998 ford escort zx2, I have had to replace at 85,000 miles, the head lights, all hoses, radiator, head gaskets, clutch, overflow tank, windshield washer tank, overall never again would I buy a escort let alone a ford and about the KIA, what are you thinking they are just as bad!

24th Dec 2010, 15:08

I don't know how well you treated your Escort, but I treated mine good (meaning not racing it, and doing the services), and it has been a great car. Good luck with the Kia!