1998 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 7 of 28

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 liter DOHC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter DOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance148539 miles

Summary:

The best American built economy car on the road

Faults:

Carpet stains easily.

Tie-rod ends have been replaced twice.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best cars you can buy for the money. I have had no problems out of the car, and have almost 150000 miles on it.

I have taken very good care of the car. I have had no problems with the motor, transmission, or anything else in the car. My only expense has been a clutch that was replaced for the first time at 105k miles.

If people would just take of the car and do everything the service guide says in the owners manual, then the car will last for a very long time. And I get about 30mpg!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2008

1998 Ford Escort SE Sedan 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance113500 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Small, efficient, and cheap

Faults:

So far no problems really. Had to change the battery when I first bought it. I got one warning ticket because whoever had the car originally did not wire the aftermarket cd player right. My taillights were out because of that.

General Comments:

The car runs good; even after sitting for over a year. The car handles good, and gets good gas mileage. I get around 30-32 on backroads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2008

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Good car for someone that doesn't have much money, but wants a sport car

Faults:

There is now a dent in the upper right of the car.

Finally, it needs new tires after 10 years of driving.

Also, it finally needs new brakes.

It is now grinding (where car was hit).

General Comments:

It will take right off faster than a new Acura (and other sport cars that are new).

I haven't had to perform many repairs on the car, even after 10 years or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2008

1998 Ford Escort SE from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

'Til Death Do Us Part

Faults:

Serpentine belt broke

O2 sensor malfunctioned.

General Comments:

This little green wagon has got to be this man's best friend. Twice across country and back and twice to Florida if I do 55 mph on the highways in cruise I get 50 mpg. The only thing that doesn't work is the motor that drives the passenger mirror. That is because a tree fell on the car and sheared off the mirror. I glued it back together and now I am in business. The car is comfortable and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2008

24th Apr 2008, 17:33

I highly doubt you ever got 50 miles to the gallon out of a ford. I don't care if it's a 4 cylinder and you were going slow.

2nd May 2008, 10:46

I routinely got 44mpg @70mph with my 5 speed Escort from 1996.

1998 Ford Escort LX SOHC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Fine commuter car with great reliability

Faults:

I've had very little go wrong with this car. I've only done routine maintenance, replacing the brakes at 75k miles, the tires every 40 to 50k, the timing belt every 60k miles and so on.

Nothing outside of routinely replaced parts has broken.

General Comments:

The trim level leaves something to be desired, but all in all, the car has quality plastics and a decent look. Definitely less Euro-edgy than the Focus, which also means it appears less dated. My '98 Escort seems newer than an '04 Focus sometimes.

It handles great, accelerates fine and gets great gas mileage (about 30mpg with 70/30 city/highway miles).

Legroom is lacking in back, but what do you expect on a compact sedan?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Don't Know
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Cheap, looks good, fun to drive

Faults:

Only just bought it.

General Comments:

I have bought this car as a cheap runabout. Sold my Civic Type R, which was an animal and very fast, but for 1200 pounds my fully loaded GTi does all it needs.

Everyone knows they ain't quick; if you want something quick don't get one, but they go OK, and are cheap to buy and run, and don't look too bad.

What else can you get for a grand with all that spec!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired106000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres

Summary:

NEVER buy a Ford... they cost you more than the car itself

Faults:

I have owned my 1998 Ford Escort ZX2 for just over 2 years. My boyfriend, who is a mechanic, has done regular maintenance on the vehicle (oil changes, filters, etc.) Those people who keep commenting on maintaining vehicles can shove it. I drive all highway and keep regular maintenance and do NOT race the car or have it pimped out. The fact of the matter is, Ford does not put enough time or effort into building their cars. At 120,000km, the serpentine belt needed to be replaced as one of the bearings blew up and wrecked the entire unit! At 130,000km I replaced the radiator which wasn't a huge deal except for the fact that the thermostat gauge stopped working entirely after working on and off for about a year. Since about 130,000km also, my transmission started slipping. When merging onto the hwy, the car would rev up no matter how much gas was given, but the car wouldn't go past 20km/h. Eventually it'd catch after a few seconds and run regular. In keeping up the maintenance, my boyfriend did a tranny flush in hopes of clearing the problem up temporarily. 2 weeks after the flush, my tranny died. I only have 148,000km on my car. My alternator is on it's way out as well. This car has cost me more than I paid for it. It was driven by an old lady before and she gave me the records on the car indicating regular maintenance as well.

General Comments:

From what I've read on previous comments, the trannys on the Ford Escort ZX2 (1997-2002) have serious defects. Some of you may be lucky enough to find one that was built by a professional, but most are lemons and I wouldn't suggest investing your money on these. I will be buying an import from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

22nd Jan 2008, 12:07

I'm a mechanic and I have advised a handicapped friend (who must have reliable cars due to their handicap) on two occasions to buy a Ford Escort because they were so reliable. He put 190,000 miles on the first one with virtually no problems, and well over 100,000 miles on the second one before it was hit by a truck and totalled.

The Escort is a very solid and dependable car. To regard a 9-year-old one that was probably abused and neglected as typical of all Escorts (or Fords) is a big mistake.

Of course if you insist on an import, be ready for big buck repairs from day one. My experience with imports has proven them to be more unreliable than any domestic I've ever owned.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 128 reviews