1997 Ford Expedition Reviews

1997 Ford Expedition xlt 4.6 (V8) from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.6 (V8) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired51439 miles
Most recent distance254869 miles
Previous carford expedition

Summary:

250,000 miles and still riding strong

Faults:

The ride stablizer in the front broke after about 175000 miles and I was out about $50 dollars.

General Comments:

I've had this vehicle for 7 or 8 years now and have had only minor problems. The 4.6 liter V8 is a very reliable and works better than my 2006 expedition. Its transmission works smoothly and the ride is very strong and smooth even with large tires. The interior was very nice compared to competitors. The leg room and head room are plentiful. I'm very impressed how this vehicle has stood the test of time even though its been every where from the beaches of North Carolina to upstate New york. I would definitely buy this vehicle again with no hesitation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2007

31st Oct 2007, 22:19

OK, so I got you beat. i bought a 97 in 1999 with 32 k miles. at the present a now have 279k miles without any major problems. as a matter of fact I change the oil every 3-5 k miles and I have the original transmission fluid in the car. its the eddie bauer version and love it.8 sets of tires and brakes. upper ball joints and only two tune ups. i will absolutely get another one. good luck to 300k.

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired270 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

An excellent SUV that does everything you ask of it

Faults:

A/C went out at 38000 miles.

Air-ride suspension repaired at 40,000.

No other major repair - this is a good SUV.

General Comments:

Performance is very good.

There is acres of space to carry large objects (move kids in and out of college etc) when the seats are folded flat and the third row seat is taken out. This has been a great car for utility plus a comfortable people carrier.

The ride is kind of like the "F" series trucks that the Expedition uses as its platform - but with the improved suspension and comfortable leather seating, this is greatly improved in the Expedition.

This SUV handles like a car - with great precision power steering - a piece of cake to drive and park.

The Eddie Bauer interior is bright, roomy and comfortable - with rear A/C and rear audio controls.

The leather seats are VERY comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

1997 Ford Expedition V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

It has been very good to us

Faults:

It is using oil between changes, but I am told that is normal considering the miles I have on this vehicle.

Drivers electric window went out, but I was able to fix myself.

General Comments:

Been very good to me and a smart buy, Still have it and drive it weekly. It IS costly to operate regarding gas. No better than 14 MPG city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A powerful bumpy ride (vibrating)

Faults:

Vibration at speeds above 40mph.

4 wheels transmission box failed to come out of 4 wheel low.

Speakers blown. Rear and woofer.

General Comments:

Very useful vehicle.

Love the internal room.

Very powerful.

Replacing transmission fluid to 100% pure synthetic oil gave me 2mpg. Average of 14.6mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2004

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I got a lemon, but Ford's are good cars

Faults:

The day after I got the car, there was a coil pack that went bad. $100 a piece for those things.

At 99,000 miles 2 more coil packs had gone bad. Another $100 a piece.

At 102,000 miles I got stuck in some mud. I wasn't off-roading, I had just parked in a ditch that I didn't know was that wet. When I tried to get out, I got stuck. The reason I got stuck was the 4x4 would not turn on. I took it to the dealership. Battery acid had leaked and had ate through the 4x4 connector.

At 105,000 car died at stop sign. The car then wouldn't start. I had to keep turning it over. It finally started. Tried to drive it home. I got 10 miles from where I was and stopped at a stop sign, car died. Now it won't start. Had to tow the car to dealership. They said it was a fuel pump problem. They fixed it and finally got it to where the engine would turn over, and when it turned over it was making a loud popping noise. Evidently it wasn't the fuel pump it was the engine. Dealership said I blew a valve. Had to replace engine at 105,000.

General Comments:

This car drove very well. Its quick with the 5.4L engine.

Leather seats were great.

Factory speakers were excellent.

This thing has bad gas mileage though. From day one I never got over 13mpg in this SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

14th Mar 2011, 16:49

Obviously, with blowing a valve at only 105,000 miles and the fact that you never got more than 13 MPG shows that you drive with a lead foot.

I have a '98 with the 5.4 and it has 270,000 miles and has never given me issues. I get 16-17 in town and 20-21 MPG on the highway. Learn to keep your foot out of it, and it will surprise you...

This applies to ANY car.

6th Jan 2012, 18:29

I completely disagree! We had the same experience with our 1997 Ford Expedition. It blew an engine at 106,000. Now, I REALIZE that we are in the minority, but we had incredibly bad luck with this car from the day we bought it. And, NO, I do not drive with a lead foot. I babied the thing.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews