1997 Ford Expedition Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Nice truck, to costly to keep running

Faults:

Transmission seals leaked, had to be replaced (~15,000 miles).

Front A-arms needed to be replaced (~45,000).

Rear differential gears needed to be replaced (~75,000).

Oxygen sensor needed to be replaced due to air conditioning hose dripping on it.

Trans-axle needed to be replaced, was warped and caused the truck to vibrate (~90,000).

2 more oxygen sensors on exhaust went bad and needed to be replaced (116,000).

Switch on steering arm for windshield fluid has shorted. Hasn't been replaced since it costs over $300.00 (~116,000).

3 stall outs early on, about first year to 3 years, while accelerating on turns. Known computer problem with no fix.

General Comments:

We love the styling and the way this truck fits our family. Great for everything from going to school, to camping out in the National Forests.

However the constant big ticket repairs will prevent me from buying another Ford Expedition or even a Ford. Or at least not without an extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

27th Sep 2004, 15:43

Sounds to me like you drove it an awful long time 116000 if you werent happy with it. don't give up on fords I have a 97 expedition and I love it. maybe you just got a lemon.

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great concept, but unreliable and expensive to maintain

Faults:

Trip computer went out prior to warranty expiring, otherwise would have cost $1000+ to replace.

New brake pads annually, new rotors a couple of times. (I don't tow or haul anything)

Rear end rebuilt at 74K miles.

4wd gear drive, ball joints and pitman arm at 79K miles.

Squeak in drivers door that is unidentifiable therefore has not been fixed.

General Comments:

The whole concept of the Expedition is great, I love the looks, the ride, etc. Having these frequent serious mechanical failures, however, has soured my fondness. I will be researching quality and reliability reports more closely on future vehicle purchases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

8th Mar 2005, 11:26

But is yours the same year? If it's a later model than that being reviewed, it might have been improved over the year (s).

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A really nice ride!

Faults:

So far everything has been fine.

General Comments:

This SUV is a great car, really comfortable for long trips.

I wish the 1997 model had the electric fold down third seat option like the 2002 model has. The third seat takes up a lot of space when not in use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4.6 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Good vehicle for large family

Faults:

Door ajar light stays on after doors are shut and do not turn off for some time after-wards.

General Comments:

Nice comfortable ride also good in high water.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2002

17th May 2004, 08:44

I had the same problem with our 1997 Expedition. Use some WD-40 to spray on the door latch mechanism (inside the door). More than likely the driver's side door is the culprit.

1997 Ford Expedition XLT 5.4 V8 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.4 V8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Great family car

Faults:

The "door ajar" light won't go off. The interior lights stay on even when the doors are closed (tightly) and the light stalk is on off. The Rear air don't work correctly. The rear window wiper sticks occasionally.

General Comments:

Great family car, runs great, just minor things go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

4th Dec 2002, 19:27

I know what may be wrong, my Econoline did it too, check the door jam "sticks" that push in when the doors close, one could be worn down or busted, and not letting the thing push in all the way, therefore letting the lights stay on.

27th Feb 2003, 09:58

My 97 expedition does the same thing. The door ajar light along with the running board, interior light stay on. They stay on until I maintain a certain speed, the the lights go off, but the door ajar light stays on. Maybe a recall soon.

1997 Ford Expedition LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Faults:

Besides the normal recalls, I have had nothing but trouble with this truck.

The rear end leaked fluid through the axle and onto the brake system. The car began to smoke and flames were noticed from the brake system. Dealer replaced all the seals on right axle assembly. TWICE!!! The third time this happened, they decided it must be a warped axle assembly (housing) so they replaced the entire unit. Now it seems that the leak is gone, but my warranty just ended (3 year) and there seems to be a lot of "leakage" around the pumpkin.

General Comments:

This car sucks. The gas mileage seems to be getting worse.. The car only has 42K miles.

Took it off roading (well if you call it that, just a dirt road with puddles on the Army Base), and the dang splash guards in the front wheel wells began to fall off.. Go figure..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

1997 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 5.4
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Since day one I can only put 20 gallons of gas in my car and I paid more for a 30 gallon tank. It takes forever to fill up as it shuts off ever 2-3 gallons. I have had the dealer replace a nozzle twice now, and they say they can't fix it. It is very much a pain especially since we use it for business. I paid cash for it so I would take a beating if I sold it. I love the overall vehicle but I am very disappointed in the service I have received. I have been too nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

25th Jan 2006, 23:40

We had the same problem. We removed the fuel line and cleaned it, it was clogged. Wouldn't hurt to try that, very simple to do. Much easier than standing at the pumps so long.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews