1993 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1993 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A good vehicle, not very comfortable

Faults:

The engine and powertrain have been solid.

The truck has always had uncomfortable seats and a bumpy ride. This is not unexpected for a truck.

The heat baffles around the exhaust system fell off after about 30K miles, seems to work fine without them.

Maintenance was about $1200.00 for 60,000 tune up.

General Comments:

(GOOD) The engine runs great, has always started easily. It idles at a very low RPM and maintains cool engine temperature going up mountains with the A/C running.

(BAD) Rear leaf springs and under carriage are starting to rust.

(BAD) Uncomfortable bouncy ride seems to be getting worse with age, I'm told this cannot be fixed by replacing the shocks etc.

(BAD) Uncomfortable bucket seats in the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

10th Mar 2006, 18:54

Really? I think the buckets are about as comfortable as any high end luxury cruiser, except this costs way less.

22nd Jul 2008, 00:55

Yea I love the bucket seats, especially if you have the electric ones; they are so comfortable.

1993 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carChevrolet truck

Summary:

Ford explorer's suck and maintenance at the dealer is pricey and inadequate

Faults:

Front wheels wear irregularly

Clunking noise from an unknown source.

Headlights go out while driving at night.

Transmission won't shift from first gear when cold.

ABS brakes come on for normal stops.

Top heavy, drives like a van.

No traction in the winter without four wheel drive engaged, etc...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2001

27th Feb 2001, 06:55

Well, in 1998 I bought a 93 Eddie Bauer with 237,000 kms on it. Since then I have 307,000 kms. The following is a list of repairs and maintenance since.

Transmission, transfer case, and the motor for the electronic 4wd.

The tranny and transfer case were expensive, but if you surf the web and print off the repair instructions, you can save about 300 bucks. It does not need replacement, just cleaning.

This week, I'm booking it in for the "Mad Rust" at the rear of the rockers into the rear wheel wells. It also needs the famous panel around the gas cap area. The body job will be 2k to 2.5k, but I too feel that I have so much invested, I can't afford to not keep it on the road. The rest is in very good shape, and who can afford a new Eddie at about 40K.

Oh well.

31st May 2001, 16:07

Explorers are the best SUVs on the road, that's why they are #1.

18th Aug 2010, 14:39

The reason that the maintenance is expensive is because it was taken to the DEALERSHIP. Of course the dealership is going to screw you when it comes to repairs.

7th Dec 2010, 21:32

To the person who wrote the original review. I have a 1993 Ford Explorer XLT 4WD 4.0L. I have the same problem with the transmission not shifting out of first gear when cold. It also stalls at odd times too. For instance, when I pulled up to my home. The Explorer just stalled, but I was able to start it right back up.

1993 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Oxygen Sensor (covered by the warranty) and the sunroof cover bolt needs to be replaced. Had to replace front hood after hitting deer on highway.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I have ever owned. The rough and tough look still looks great. There has not been anything that we do not like about this car. We have taken it on mildly rough terrain and hardly felt a bump. Great family car.....lots of space...plenty of room to go and do the things you want to do. Travels great on the freeway...

Very dependable !

Leather seats are easy to clean when drinks and stuff are spilled, but the seats do tend to burn after sitting in the hot summer sun and you are wearing shorts !

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 35 reviews