1998 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1998 Ford Explorer Limited 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

A bomb waiting to explode!

Faults:

Front end was making strange noises at the time of purchase. The dealer had this fixed, but a few months after the warranty ran out, the noise came back.

The turn signal switch had to be replaced.

Various problems with the electrical system over the past two years.

The radio caught fire and needed replaced.

The four wheel drive system makes awful noises when turning and I am scared to use it.

General Comments:

I like the looks of the car. The inside is very nice and it used to drive like a dream. There are just too many problems with the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

17th Jun 2003, 00:48

The 4wd system is not designed to be used on road. Occasionally I forgot to switch it over going from off to onroad and when turning there's some jarring and clonking. I think because the diff locks when in 4wd.

Even offroad on fairly solid ground where the tyres can't slip so easily, you can get the clonking noises.

21st Jul 2003, 09:04

I lease a 1998 Ford Explorer Limited. I agree with the ticking time bomb comments. From day 1 I have had problems with the front end suspension, for 2 years now my local ford dealer says there is no problem. My 94 caravan with 135 thousand miles on it rides better. Lucky for me I bought the extended warranty. The radio illumination system does not work (not covered) I have have had the front rotors replaced 3 times. Thank god - January 2004 I'm out of this lease.

26th Jun 2004, 21:08

I would have to agree with the bomb theory - A large lemon just waiting to drain your wallet... buy japanese.

13th Oct 2004, 15:11

Help 1998 Ford Explorer, creaking noises started when turning. Anyone know anything? I am clueless.

Karen Ostby.

19th Oct 2004, 11:01

I recently purchased a 98 Explorer Sport after three happy years with a 93 Explorer XLT. I checked out two Sports before settling on the second one. Both of these vehicles had broken driver's side seat recline levers which I thought (at first) was an odd coincidence. It was only after I purchased the necessary part and installed it (rather than pay Ford's $110 installation fee) that I found out how flimsy this piece really is. In no time, it is bent almost completely in half, and bending it back into shape will only hasten its fatigue and eventual break from its support. I believe this problem must be endemic to Sport models and should be recognized by Ford as such, prompting a recall or refund at least.

1998 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A glorified LEMON of an SUV

Faults:

Idol air control valve cleaned by dealer twice. Replace the valve twice after that. It causes the car to die for no reason. Has left me stranded 6 times.

The electronic climate control is a joke. When the heater says 90 its 90 or off. I have to open sunroof in winter with the heat on to vent some hot air out.

The air conditioning works well if you want it on 60' at all times otherwise you are playing freeze out. there is no medium even if it says 72', its not.

The rear wiper does not wipe the entire window. Have replaced glass, motor, blades and arm and none of them helped.

Power antenna quit working completely.

Rattles unbelievably at highway speeds. Very loud inside the car as well.

Replaced spark plug wires twice in less than 30K miles at $156 each time.

The radio display does not work for the first twenty minutes the car is on, then it decides to work.

General Comments:

Would never buy another Ford.

Would not recommend an Eddie Bauer. I was told the top of the line would be better, would hate to see problems of the low end models.

It does have a nice punch from the 5.0L V-83

The keyless touchpad is very handy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

8th Dec 2003, 23:31

For all of you out there, who have a Ford Explorer, Expedition or Mercury Mountaineer OEM radio, where the display is dead. This is a GENERAL issue with 1998 to 2000 Explorers. There is some help at the site below available.

I did get my radio display fixed by figuring it out myself (just re-solder the joints on the powerboard in the upper left corner of the radio). But when the multifunction knob became faulty, I settled for a new MP3 radio. Just 97 USD after rebates + 12 USD for the in dash kit. Sound is WAY better. Wouldn't go back to the original radio if I got one as a present.

Here are the relevant links:

http://www.epinions.com/content_113223437956

http://www.shareamemory.com/radio/

Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews