2001 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2001 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 liter V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Shortly after I had bought the vehicle it was having a hard time idoling. In the morning when it was cold I could start it and then it would idle up and down and then shut off. I had it in for repairs and it needed a vacum hose replaced. Total repairs for labor and hose ran about One hundred and sixty dollars. About a month later the truck had a hard time starting; I thought the starter was going. When I went to start the vehicle it would sometimes take about five seconds to turn over. I once again took it to the shop where they told me that I needed a new fuel pump. Total costs to have that replaced was fourteen hundred dollars. This vehicle has been nothing, but a nightmare!

General Comments:

Vehicle is too costly to repair!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2005

20th Jul 2008, 00:24

You got completely ripped off paying $1,400 to have a fuel pump replaced. The fuel pump should of cost around $200 max... (my Ranger-probably the same fuel pump, cost me around $120. The labor should've been around $200 max. So they basically over charged you $1,000. Having to have a fuel pump replaced around 58,000 isn't that major of a repair. IMHO.

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Great truck, but poor gas mileage

Faults:

Leather bed cover fell apart and flew off the back.

Emissions problem at 35000 miles. The problem is the DPFE valve which isn't costly to repair, but the mechanic told me it doesn't really do anything.

General Comments:

This truck gets poor gas mileage, about 18 miles per gallon.

It is very comfortable for me and my toddler. The cab is roomy enough for a family of 4.

It's very reliable, never left me stranded.

It's a great compromise between a truck and an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

17th Oct 2006, 18:20

This is a great truck. It gets bad fuel, but overall it is good.

2001 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72985 kilometres
Most recent distance73007 kilometres

Faults:

Water leaking from left side of drivers side visor, I took it to the dealer as I bought it less than a week ago, they gave it back to me still dripping wet inside advising vent blockage?? they looked at it for 20 minutes and came back with "if it happens again bring it back" that's after I spent 3 hours showing them my wet pants, my pants got wet again on the drive home. 6 hours later I watch my leather seats get a bath and just think, our forecast is only calling for 2 more days of rain, I know it's a luxury model, but I never thought ford put pools inside their SUV'S, but I am told not to worry, they'll look after it. The belt in the motor is making noise, but they sprayed it or put a bar of soap on it to stop making that noise. The driver seat rocks slightly back and forth when stopping and going, but I was advised there was no problem with that. I also have a front bumper that has a bent bracket forcing the passenger side of the bumper to stick out 2 more inches more, but they told me on my next oil change they will fix that or did they say they will forget about it, seems like it to me.

General Comments:

The vehicle handling is great, the gas pedal could be bigger or wider, I think the mid size SUV is really for people under 6 feet tall with a shoe size of less than 10. There are a lot of good features, but I am just picking on the ones that really get me right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

15th Feb 2005, 11:59

You wet your pants and then had to show them to the dealer for three hours?

Sounds embarrassing.

2001 Ford Explorer XLT 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance24875 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

I purchased brand new and it still rides and looks brand new

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Ford Explorer XLT. I purchased it brand new and have only had it in the shop for routine stuff - oil changes, one tire rotation, etc.

Minor complaint - rear wiper doesn't clear the window very good.

General Comments:

Great vehicle for the price.

Extremely reliable.

I love the compass and outside temp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 30 reviews