2001 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 3 of 9

2001 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0L V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Great vehicle that has lasted me a long time

Faults:

Few minor problems.

The door lock on the driver's side is broken.

There is a lot of body rust forming on the rear bumper and hatch door and on the chassis.

General Comments:

I have changed the oil and oil filter every 3k miles and have had no mechanical problems. Surprising for a ford.

Very good little SUV with some power too.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2008

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 4.0 V6 SOHC from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72500 miles
Most recent distance98200 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

This cross-over takes a lickin and keeps on tickin!

Faults:

Ball joints were extensively worn on it at about 75,000 miles (found out from hearing metallic rattling from the front when driving over bumps or potholes), $670.00 to replace at dealership, covered by extended warranty.

Recently some part has broken or come loose inside front driver side door. Bumps window when I roll it down, other than that does not interfere with door or window operation, switches, or power locks. No price on repair as I have not had it fixed.

Side steps have begun to rust, have found this to be a recurring issue with this truck.

Paint has worn off of some of the interior trim.

General Comments:

I've liked the Explorer sport Trac from the first time I saw them on the road and mine has definitely met all of my expectations.

From the time of purchase till now, there have been NO mechanical problems with my Sport Trac and it has never broken down on me. Haven't had to replace anything in the engine, transmission, or electrical. This being somewhat of a high mileage vehicle I've had some preventative maintenance done on it: oil changes, transmission fluid change, serpentine belt replacement, radiator flush, replaced front brake disks and pads, and cleaning of the fuel injectors.

Living in the Midwest and having had driven my Sport Trac out of state has put it in all kinds of severe road and weather conditions, which it has handled with ease. The 5 speed automatic with overdrive is ideal for the highway, and the four wheel drive hasn't backed down from tackling the snow we've gotten out here in the past.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2007

10th Feb 2007, 09:55

I guess the severe usage may have caused the early ball joint failure, but 75,000 is a pretty short lifespan for parts such as this on a high-quality vehicle like the Explorer. We've had 3 since '98 and none ever had one single problem. Lots of luck with yours. It should make 250,000 miles easily. One of our Fords went over 300,000 with zero engine or transmissions problems.

2001 Ford Explorer Sport from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A dependable vehicle

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This car has been a real gem for me. It is reliable, good on gas considering the size, and is spacious and roomy, especially for a single person sans kids. It carries cargo easily. The ride is a bit bumpy, especially over rough city streets with potholes - the car feels out of alignment each time it encounters a pothole. It's a bit slow to accelerate onto the freeway, but does a great job speeding along on city streets. There have been no repairs or issues in over 5 years of ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2006

2001 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It burns tires and saves gas with good looks, I love it

Faults:

It has a plastic pipe that transfers the heat from the motor, we had it replaced with a new metal one. It was a first year Sport Trac so it has it's downers.

General Comments:

This is a very nice truck. Nice interior, and awesome exterior. Power is packing, but the gross vehicle weight is too much. It is top heavy like any SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

2001 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great car, bumpy ride

Faults:

No problems were encountered during the 2 years we owned the car.

General Comments:

A great performing SUV with very adequate power.

The interior was well-finished and comfortable, with all gauges and controls within easy reach.

The ride was harsh and bouncy, and was the primary reason for trading it for the far more comfortable GMC Envoy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2006

15th Feb 2007, 22:46

Uh...having owned the Ford Explorer Sport (which performed flawlessly) and having also traded it for the absolutely incredible GMC Envoy, I have to disagree with the previous comment. Not all truck-based SUV's ride poorly. The Envoy is actually much SMOOTHER than my family's 5-series Beemer!!

26th Jun 2007, 17:31

I agree that this model puts out a bumpier ride than other truck-based SUV's. I have had mine for 3 years, everyone who rides with me always comments on the general rough ride how it handles bumps.

4th Jul 2007, 11:00

An SUV is not a truck. A GMC Envoy is not a truck, it is a glorified station wagon.

The Explorer actually has a two-speed transfer case. If you don't know what that means, this was not the vehicle for you. Buy whatever suits you, but don't buy a truck and then complain that it doesn't ride like a car.

People make the same comments about Jeep Wranglers all the time, which is a sign that this was not the vehicle they should have bought, because it obviously is not suited to their needs.

29th Mar 2010, 17:55

I agree that an SUV or truck will not ride as smooth as say a car, however, I've owned my share of 4x4s, and my 01 Explorer Sport's suspension sucks. Love everything else about the Explorer, but when every bump you hit makes you frustrated, clearly there is something wrong with the engineering of the suspension!!!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 30 reviews