2002 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2002 Ford Explorer Limited from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Avenger

Summary:

The ride to work is not long enough!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

Words cannot describe how much we like our Ford Explorer, Limited, V8.

The ride is smooth, comfortable, and oh the heated leather seats are wonderful in the winter. We have had this vehicle only a few months and did not want to write a review until we had experienced driving in snow. Did I mention snow? What snow! You do not feel the weather in this vehicle.

It handles well, lots of pick up and we are glad we purchased the V8 engine. The power is there if we need it.

We purchased this vehicle for my husband as his old truck had seen better days. People ask him all the time how he likes his Explorer, and he says "I don't know, ask my wife". I started driving this vehicle, and I just can't give it back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

2002 Ford Explorer XLT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Troubled paradise

Faults:

The service engine light came on at 46,000 miles.

The transmission had to be overhauled at 64,000 miles.

The transfer case needed repair at 80,000 miles.

The gears should be moved because of the placement of the radio.

There is a recall on the rear window which may fall unexpectantly.

Other than this I love my car. its roomy and comfortable.

General Comments:

I like the overall design of the explorer, but the costly repairs are a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

14th Apr 2005, 09:13

I had to overhaul my 2002 Explorer transmission at 51000 miles.

11th Oct 2005, 15:48

Our 2002 Ford Explorer transmission failed at 45,000 miles.

23rd Aug 2006, 12:07

My transmission made it to 80,000 miles. There has been nothing but problems after that.

3rd Sep 2006, 21:02

Replaced (at cost of $3,200) transmission in my 2002 Explorer at 85,000 miles. Many, many problems with this dog. Never a Ford again.

12th Oct 2006, 15:18

I bought my 2002 Ford Explorer brand new. I like the design of the car, and the four wheel independent suspension. The car turns on a dime (which is great). I really have had no problems with the car until I had to have the transmission replaced at only 57,000 miles (which is crazy). #*&^%J.

8th Sep 2007, 14:31

My 2002 Explorer now has over 86,000 miles on it, and drives perfectly. I was wondering if people who experienced problems had taken their vehicle in for the recommended service intervals? The transmission fluid is supposed to be checked every 15,000 miles and changed along with the filter every 30,000 miles. It's also a good idea to check the fluid levels in the transfer case and differentials every year, and add fluid if necessary.

27th Oct 2007, 09:59

2002 Ford Explorer transmission fails- I have 57.300 miles on my Explorer and the transmission started slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear and when going into reverse. The vehicle is in the shop now and expected repair bill to be 2,300 dollars. I have seen and read about over 160 complaints about the same problem. My last Ford vehicle...If you have had the same problem please report it. Ford should have a recall on these transmissions!

2002 Ford Explorer XLT V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A serious safety hazard that needs to be investigated

Faults:

The car stalled while driving it at 26,000 miles.

The car stalled while driving it at 26,005 miles.

The car stalled while driving it at 26,600 miles.

General Comments:

This car is dangerous and has serious safety issues.

Until these stalling incidents, we were completely in love with all aspects of this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

28th Oct 2004, 07:15

I'm sorry that you have been having these stalling problems with your Explorer. I have not experiencing these very hazardous issues. May you get them resolved quickly and to your satisfaction.

1st Nov 2004, 15:46

My 2002 Ford Explorer had the same stalling problems. Stalled at 70 MPH. as well as 25 MPH. Ford preformed a "wiggle test" on all the wires that go into the computer & found that none of these wires were totally connected. No problems now. Have experienced a vinegar smell in the air conditioner. Not a pleasant thing on a hot day. Unit has been disinfected twice, but the smell is still evident when the unit is first turned on. Ford can't explain it. Also a loud chirping sound from under the car from the air conditioning clutch. Ford attributed it to dust accumulation on the unit. Some problems with the glass rear window on the tailgate not latching all the way & popping open, but there was a recall (10/2004) on that particular problem, including the hinges that enable the glass to move. Other than that, I like the car.

3rd Jan 2005, 19:17

My 2002 Explorer XLS has 27,000 miles on it and was new in August 2001.

On January 4, 2005 I was horrified to find a crack through the rear tailgate, right next to the Ford oval. And, of course, it's out of warranty.

I've also had problems with two power windows... one needed a new regulator. But the SUV always starts and is reliable... it's just these little problems that can drive one mad.

1st Mar 2006, 22:32

My 2002 Ford Explorer XLT has 75,000 miles and is a piece of junk. I also have a crack in the rear window trim next to the Ford logo, which the Ford body shop says is related to the three times the Ford service area had to replace the hinges on the back window, but Ford Service says it cracked due to cold weather. I wrote to Ford - they stand behind the dealer. I have an extended warranty, but of course it does not cover what they consider cosmetics. Just this past weekend I saw another 2002 Ford Explorer with a crack at the exact same spot. He said he never received the recall for the rear window.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 33 reviews