2002 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0L from North America

Summary:

Get rid of it now!!!

Faults:

Let's go down the laundry list:

5400 miles, 4X4 module quit working.

12000 miles, blower fan for climate control burnt out.

23000 miles, second 4X4 module quit, airbag system quit working due to problem part in seat belt.

35000 miles, replaced transfer case, and another 4X4 control module when module caused to shift into 4X4 low at 35 MPH.

42000 miles, airbag system quit working again. Seems to happen when the weather changes from warm to cold??

51000 miles, ABS sensor dies and another 4X4 module for the Explorer.

59000 miles, rear backup sensors quit working.

74000 miles, the beginning of wheel bearing failures, front right bearing/hub failed.

77000 miles, right rear wheel bearing failed.

82000 miles, the left rear wheel bearing failed, wheel fell off and literally passed me while going down the road.

Just a hint for those out there, the cost for the following items is as follows:

4X4 module - $475 installed.

Front hub/wheel bearing - $750 installed.

Rear wheel bearing - $375 installed.

ABS sensors - $175 installed each.

Airbag sensor - $225 installed.

Now if you think this is bad, it is better than the F150 I had with the "self ejecting spark plugs".

When I complained to the Ford dealer, he called the regional rep who would not discuss the wheel bearing issue at all, go to www.carcomplaints.com, it is interesting.

He did tell me thanks for being a loyal customer.

General Comments:

This is the last Ford product I will own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2008

2nd Mar 2009, 18:17

Not doubting your experience, but you could have purchased a lemon, any car from any manufacturer can have one.

4th Sep 2010, 14:16

I don't think it's a lemon. I have one with 120k miles, and I have had many of the same problems. I am about to trade it in for a Tacoma before something else goes wrong.

11th Sep 2010, 12:40

Comparing this car to other recent cars I/we own or have owned, this one was much more expensive to maintain. I have needed many of the same repairs, and am getting tired of it too.

12th Sep 2010, 18:49

Trading a Ford for a Toyota is a BIG mistake. Ford is currently ranked 5th in quality out of 33 car makers while Toyota ranks a VERY poor 21st. I help people select cars and trucks to suit their needs, and there is no way I'd suggest a 21st place ranked vehicle over a 6th place one. Last week I went with a friend to look at trading their Honda (also ranked lower than Ford) for a Ford. Ford has come a long way since 2002, while import quality has really plummeted. Even GM outranks most imports in quality now.

8th Nov 2010, 13:00

Ford has come a long way I agree, BUT, GM being good is a joke. Just own one, I dare you and say that to anyone who walks by. If they are doing well, why drop half of your brand names and ask for a bailout?

Own a Ford, no longer own my... Cobalt, Aveo, and S10. No comparison.

2002 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.6 Liter SOHC V8 from North America

Summary:

Relatively Great Buy

Faults:

Poor wire connection behind the dash caused the oil pressure gauge to drop to none and warning lamps come on.

Cylinder 6 Misfire, causing it to dump raw fuel into the Catalytic Converter.

Right Rear Hub bearings wore out, causing vibration at speeds between 50 -70 mph.

Key less Entry Pad on door failed due to moisture.

Engine Balancing failed, causing the engine to shake lightly at idle, almost like a old muscle car would.

General Comments:

The Explorer is a great truck/suv, and minus the mechanical and electrical problems, I have had nothing, but good things come from this vehicle. I have had this vehicle for a year, I bought it used, and had reluctant thoughts about buying the vehicle with 60,000+ miles on it and it being 5 years old. However, I have had few problems, and am thoroughly pleased with it. It is quick, sounds great under acceleration, does well off road, and rides well. The stereo is loud and crisp, the towing capacity is stellar for a vehicle it's size, and is a major step up from my luxurious XG300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

29th Feb 2008, 16:21

Thank you for your review. I am a 22 year old woman going to the University of Miami. I carry a lot of stuff around with me and needed a vehicle to hold my stuff between classes and on trips to see my family in Jacksonville.

I currently own a 1997 Toyota Camry, but need more room and I saw your review and thought I would look at a Explorer. Just wanted to say thanks!

Aubrey M.

Miami, Fl.