1999 Ford Explorer Sport from North America - Comments

3rd Apr 2004, 11:25

My husband and I purchased a 99 Explorer Sport for our daughter to drive off to college. We've had minor problems like; marble noise when its running; we've been told this is normal on the 6 cyl 4.0 and several problems with the rear wiper blades. We have only had one recall and it was on the drivers seat. Until now- the transmission started acting up; at 45 mph it would shift very hard. We took it to a transmission shop and after $1,498 it was rebuilt. The problem was caused by poor workmanship and poor quality controls; according to the transmission expert and he rebuilds them for the local dealers all the time. The problem was a clip was placed over the oil chamber that prevented the fluid to flow properly; which caused the transmission problem. I have a 90 Chev Lumina that has 231,000 miles and I have never had these types of problems with that car. I may have to buy another Chev.

30th Sep 2004, 13:10

I have a 2001 Ford Explorer. This is my second Explorer that I purchased from the same dealership. I did not have problems with my first Explorer so I purchased my current one. It has approximately 46,500 miles on it and when it goes between 35 and 45 miles an hour, it jerks very hard. It is at the dealership service department, but being only 3 years old and having transmission problems, I will not be purchasing any more Ford vehicles. I will be purchasing foreign vehicles from now on. Why can't American auto makers get it right?

11th Jan 2005, 11:29

I too have a 1999 Ford Explorer XLT. Bought new. Had to replace the transmission at 68,000 miles. Now have 127,000 miles, transmission is leaking, the LCD light on the radio blinks on and off, the rear wiper won't wipe, but just a small part of the window. And the check engine light stays on all the time. I don't know about anyone else, but I have sunk enough money into this piece of junk, and plan to cut my losses and run. Will never own another Ford at this house.

8th Mar 2005, 21:21

I bought a used 1999 Ford Explorer 2 door Sport with 100,000 miles on it. It is now at 118,500 miles and it is the best car I have ever owned. It seems brand new both mechanically and cosmetically. All of the features, controls, and extras work beautifully including the rear wiper blade as noted to perform poorly in previous reviews. The transmission shifts quietly. Yes, the ride is somewhat bumpy, but with Sport Utility Vehicles they are meant to carry heavy loads. I noticed that when we travel with excess cargo, the ride is considerably smoother. This is my primary family car, and I have never been more pleased with a vehicle, including Sport Utility Vehicles, trucks, and cars.

14th Mar 2005, 20:25

I purchased a 1999 Ford Explorer. This was my second chance for Ford (1st 1994Explorer) for me, my husband has been a Ford person his entire life. The 1st Explorer had transmission problems and he was sure this was an isolated incident unfortunately it was not. The ABS light came on several months after we purchased it (used), and now the transmission on the 1999 has major problems. I have to agree with most of the other comments in this forum I will not own another Ford in my home. I forgot to mention my son's 1991 Ford Truck and its transmission problems.

2nd Aug 2005, 13:48

I bought a 99 explorer in 2001 and have owned it for the last 4 years. In that time I've had problems with the transmission, 4 wheel drive, and did have one recall on the drivers seat. I've also had issues with various jimmy jacks of all sorts, control valves and chips and sensors and what not that no one ever knows if they even exist or if it's just a scam. Oh, and my car almost caught on fire and burned to death because of a burned out sensor. The latest is that one of the wheels is about to fall off and will cost 600 bucks to fix. I've always been the biggest proponent of American cars, but doubt I'll own another one at least not a Ford.

9th Aug 2005, 13:20

I recently bought a 1999 Ford Explorer Sport and I love this truck. I read other comments and the only thing to say to that is you have to maintain any car you own. No car is maintenance free. Everything is in working condition and the tranny is in tip top shape. The only thing new on it I replaced is the shocks... My opinion is Ford is definitely a reliable brand. To those who have problems with violent "jerking" you might want to have the plugs changed because I did and believe me, there is tons of power.

11th Aug 2005, 09:14

Two years ago I purchased a used Ford Explorer Sport (1999, 6 cyl. automatic with 4WD). I have always loved Fords, my last car, a 99 Ford Contour was a dream. This car has had more things go wrong with it than any Ford I have ever owned (I've owned 12). First the automatic door locks went, then I had three separate recalls, all of which it took months for dealers to get parts and schedule the service. I have maintained my car impeccably and the transmission just blew up at 89,000 miles. I have previously never had a transmission go until at least 150k. I still owe a good deal of money on the car and do not have the 3k to fix it. It is my opinion that Ford should be more proactive in taking responsibility, if you are going to make a poorly built (again, my opinion) car then you should be ready to take responsibility. I will look elsewhere in the future for transportation. Very disappointed.

30th Nov 2006, 11:46

I bought a 1999 Ford Explorer XLT 2 wheel drive to replace my Chevy Blazer. I talked to neighbors that owned Explorers and they raved about them. Also, Consumer Reports gave Explorers a "Recommended" rating. So I bought the V6 SOHC model. Very happy with the performance of it, the ride is a bit bumpy, but not as bad as my previous vehicle (1987 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4). The tranny had to be rebuilt at about 1500 miles (warranty), there have been many recalls including the Firestone tire issue, for the driver's seat, cruise control, etc. Also had problems with the rear window wiper and just had to replace the idle control sensor (wouldn't hold an idle when cold). Overall, I like the style and performance of the truck. However, I would hesitate to buy another Ford based on my experience with this one.

14th Dec 2006, 20:09

I have owned my 1999 ford explorer for the past 5 years and I have not been good to this machine. I have yet to change the oil in this thing all year and this thing just keeps going. I am at 136,000 miles and haven't done anything, but replaces tires and brakes. We owned a previous explorer and drove it to 170,000, sold it to my dad who drove it for 2 more years up to 228,000 before selling it. He says he still sees it on the road (small town maine). I love explorers and would definitely recommend to others.