1979 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1979 Ford F150 Ranger Lariat 429ci from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 429ci Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

The single greatest truck I've ever seen

Faults:

I had to replace the bed because it rusted out.

General Comments:

This is by far the greatest truck ever made, and anyone who has ever owned one will back me up. My truck was a heavily modified truck, but it was still a truck. We took the 429 out of a mustang, and overhauled it until it was pushing somewhere in the area of 575hp. This truck was several colors as I couldn't afford to paint it. Gas prices weren't too high, but when you get 4 1/2 miles per gallon, you don't end up with a lot of money to spare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

7th Feb 2006, 18:27

Well considering the guy has enough money to throw in a 429 engine and not paint it, well that's the mpg you would expect. Plus I'm guessing it's a 4x4 with a 3 speed auto (ouchie on highway mpg) and lets see, no money for paint = no money for tuneup or any wearable parts that affect mpg. Then we got a clogged exhaust or air intake probably. And the wonderful aerodynamics... yeah 4 mpg aint bad for those conditions.

19th Mar 2007, 14:55

Do you sell this truck...?

14th Jun 2007, 23:11

Ya he sells the truck all the time!

1979 Ford F150 Custom 351W V8 2BBL from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 351W V8 2BBL Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

New trucks WISH they had half of what these do..

Faults:

Little, insignificant things.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I bought it for a work truck because it had a decent body, and 73-79 has always been my favorite body style. Everyone I've talked to say this was the "Golden Era" of Ford trucks.

The Original Engine was a 302, but it got ripped by the other owner for a 351W. Its got a C4 Automatic Transmission, and a 9inch rear.

First off, let me start by saying this isn't a "sissy" truck like they turn out nowadays. You drive it and you know its made to do some work. It rides rough, but you can load it up with twice as much as you can a new 1\2 ton. It isn't the fastest thing around, but for an old Pickup it sure ain't bad. Its got plenty to merge and get into traffic safely. If you keep your foot off of it gas mileage isn't even that bad, about 14 in a mix of city\hwy driving.

Just because it isn't fast doesn't mean it doesn't have power, its got what is lacking from most new trucks, and that's Torque, which is the force that gets loads going.

The only compliant I have is it sucks in the snow and mud. But its only a 2wd so that is to be expected. With some Cinder blocks however, it don't do too bad.

I recommend this truck to anyone who needs a real, reliable, workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

1st Jul 2005, 23:28

I have to agree with this evaluation. I have owned two 1979 Ford trucks and loved them both. Mine were equipped with the 351M engines and a C6 trans/NP203 transfer case in one and a 4 speed/NP205 transfer case in the other. Both had the Ford 9-inch rear and Dana 44 front axles with 3.55 gears. I ran stock 235x75R15 tires on the auto and 31x10.5-15's on the manual truck.

My trucks were fast enough, very capable on and off-road. Being 4x4's, they were both taken off-road often and proved to be very capable in snow, mud and trail riding.

I was able to get an average of 16 miles per gallon on my manual gearbox truck. The auto was in the 15 mpg range.

I had really minimal mechanical problems with both of them. I lost the auto due to a failed transfer case. The NP203 is a full-time 4 wheel drive system that uses a chain to drive the front axle. The chain stretches over time and needs replacing.

Overall: these trucks are an excellent value and are increasing in price because of this. They were the pinnacle of 4x4 technology at the time and have stayed at the top since. Even the new Ford "Super-Duty" trucks are using an updated form of the same suspension system.

2nd Nov 2007, 13:01

Absolutely agree. This is one of the most amazing, durable, rugged and dependable trucks ever. From farming to city work, it is the best. Mine is a 1979 F150 Custom, 2WD with auto. tranny and 302 V8. Simply an amazing and lasting piece of American made machinery.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews