1979 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1979 Ford F150 XLT Custom Explorer 5.8 H.O. from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.8 H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance279000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Built Ford Tough

Faults:

The brake cylinders on the rear have frozen up. The universal joints have worn out. The valve cover gaskets have leaked.

General Comments:

This has been a very good truck. It has had some of the common problems for a truck of its age, but it is a very reliable truck and has been driven all over the south eastern part of the United States. It is not the fastest truck, or is it the best handling truck, but it is a very good all around truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

1979 Ford F150 RANGER LARIAT 351 MODIFIED from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 351 MODIFIED Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance179000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A very solid,dependable truck

Faults:

This truck was an automatic. But since I had trouble with the transmission and a parts truck in a field, I did a four speed conversion.

I have a heavy right foot so I did scatter a rear end last year.

The engine had a bad rod knock so I replaced it with a fresh engine.

General Comments:

Bought this truck because my dad had a 1973 when I was growing up and I was corrupted ever since.

I use this truck as a daily driver, working on my farm and to plow snow.

This is the last of the great work horses from the 70's, out hauls, out plays any of the newer trucks out there today.

Owning this truck is like being in a huge fraternity, those that own or have owned one love to see them on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

3rd Apr 2005, 06:41

Good sir, I am in total agreance. Since the purchase of my '79 Ranger XLT, my faith in fords offroad has been affirmed. A bored 400m with B&S built C-6, Superlift 6", with 35x17.50 MT's, is undeniably the best off road rig ever.

1979 Ford F150 400M from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 400M Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

This truck is Bullet proof

Faults:

My power steering box went out due to a 3 inch body lift.

Ignition module just died.

General Comments:

This is one solid truck. the 3 inch body lift makes plenty of space for the 35's on 15x12 welds. The engine is stock, with dual flowmasters for a little better sound. I also just swapped out my trans for a rebuilt C6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

4th Jun 2003, 04:24

I have the 4x4 351 M ford step side ranger, IT'S AWESOME! Yes 35's are nice! My Truck is super and I got it for a great price, I need a camper shell and new wood decking in the bed. The campre shell I'm looking for would be fiberglass and have NO windows on the sides. anyone got any good connections? Email me with the subject line your 1979 4x4 Ranger to DudeOnAWire@aol.com Thanks a million!

13th Mar 2010, 22:06

Ford makes a trans kit. Good to have when rebuilding your 4x4 C-6 tran. It offers a lower planetary gear set for 1st gear, along with needle bearings instead of shims, and other good stuff.

1979 Ford F150 Custom 351M from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 351M Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles

Summary:

An everlasting work horse

Faults:

Broke A Camshaft at the last 2 cylinders. The seats have a few holes in them. There is a few paint chips, but little rust. Sometimes has an attitude problem.

General Comments:

I have only had this truck for one year, but I have fallen in love with it. We have had our share of problems, but everything on that truck is an easy fix. The truth is I don't want to ever buy a truck that's newer then 1980 because compared to mine new trucks are made out of recycled aluminum cans. I have had less problems with this truck then most people have with their new cars. It just keeps going and going. I've never gotten stuck in snow or mud with the stock 4-wheel drive. I recommend this truck to everyone in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

8th May 2003, 15:25

I have a '79 Also, it was stock with the 351M and C6 Automatic, and 80k original miles in '99! Can you believe that? I have since upgraded to a 460 and retained the automatic. I highly recommend this upgrade, from L&L Products, if you're pulling anything up the hills. It still only gets about 8.5 MPG, but it will make.5 past light speed (75 mph up 8% grades at 12k ft., Vail Pass CO.) Most of the things I've had to fix are a result of age; window seals, cowl strip, carb. rebuild, etc. I would recommend this truck to anyone that wants something reliable and easy to work on when it does need maintenence.

-Pete.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews