1984 Ford F150 Reviews

1984 Ford F150 300 I6 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 300 I6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

Tough, strong truck

Faults:

Radio.

Lights.

Alignment.

Got a new engine.

General Comments:

I love this truck. Dad bought it about 15 years ago, and put in another 300 as the first one ran on natural gas. It's got a ton of goodies like headers, Clifford intake, forged pistons, cam, glass packs, and some more things I can't think of. I got it from Dad at the start of the school year.

It's loud and obnoxious, and has climbed mountains and hauled wood and towed trailers, and will still run for a long time.

I love this truck, with the indestructible engine and 4 speed.

The best part is it's a highly modified, performance oriented piece of junk that can be thrashed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2011

1984 Ford F150 4x4 LWB 300 IL6 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 300 IL6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

It was a true workhorse.

Faults:

Front end alignment problems, until the dealership got tired of seeing me and beefed it up.

Ignition module at about 20,000.

Transmission at 51,000 (Due to the Jiffy Lube techs replacing the 80wt with DexronII!) I never allowed anyone but myself to add/change fluids after that experience.

Clutch at about 70,000 (My wife drove it for a while.)

2 water pump changeouts.

1 heater core.

2 sets of shocks.

2 front & rear U-joint changeouts.

Bench seat began to lose driver side foam around 125,000.

Catalytic converter around 150,000.

Paint began to oxidize in 2002.

General Comments:

This pickup took care of everything I ever asked of it, but the heavy duty springs (front & rear) and 36" gumbo mudders made it ride like a log wagon.

Acceleration wasn't too quick, but it didn't hold things up, either.

The carburetor / computer combination didn't make it through a single emissions test in 22 years without being leaned-out way too much before the test; then re-adjusted to the sweet spot afterward.

The only reason I'm not currently driving it is the run-in with black ice in 2006, resulting in rolling off the road down an embankment. I walked away with two small cuts on each ring finger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2010

1984 Ford F150 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Amazing truck!!!, I had to fix almost nothing since 1984!, great truck runs like new

Faults:

The alternator went on the truck last year, and the headlights burnt out like most vehicles, and the high and low beam switch on the floor had to be replaced 2 years ago. the seat is pretty worn out, other than that normal stuff like tires, brakes (didn't get replaced much!)

General Comments:

The truck has a lot of power for pulling trailers, wherever I need. braking is great!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

1984 Ford F150 XLT 302 CI from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 302 CI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance50500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Best truck in the world!

Faults:

Valve cover came loose.

Starter came loose.

Alternator went out.

Back up light switch has gone out.

Replaced the fuel pump for the forward gas tank.

Ignition switch broke.

Rear brakes wore out, causing loss of brake fluid.

Keep blowing out the 15 amp fuse for the tachometer.

Blew off the heater hose.

Got mad at the truck and kicked out the grill, and dented the drivers side rear panel.

General Comments:

Dependable old truck, wouldn't replace it for the world.

Still runs good after 22 years of hard driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2007

23rd Mar 2007, 11:01

I don't think you can call 50,000 miles in over 20 years 'hard driving'. Anything should run that long with that few miles on it.

1984 Ford F150 long bed strait 6 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
Engine and transmission strait 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It was a monster that could pull anything and have great gas mileage and would never break down

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This 1984 ford F150 was a beast the only reason I got rid of it because it was rusting out. this truck could pull 10 time its max out wieght. i pulled 28 foot boats um people out of the mud. this truck was the best I ever had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2005

1984 Ford F150 LX I6 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission I6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

It is an awesome truck!

Faults:

The timing was off. The suspension needs to be replaced. The whole motor needs to be rebuilt.

General Comments:

The 300 straight 6 is the most reliable motor ever made in my opinion!

Although an electric wheelchair is faster than my truck, it will pull a house right off it's foundation!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

1984 Ford F150 XL 4x4 351 2V from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 351 2V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Rusty, but Trusty

Faults:

Ignition control module burned out.

U-Joints are wearing out.

Getting rusted out in the cab corners and rear wheel wells.

Rear fuel tank vent tube plugged.

Water pump went.

Paint flaking off all over.

General Comments:

Overall, a really dependable truck. Lots of torque, good for hauling with the 351 and 3+1 Granny Gear transmission. The really low gear is great for pulling ships onto the beach at low tide and pulling stumps.

Dual shock front end, so 31's fit no problem. However, the wide tires make the truck kind of scary in the snow.

Non-Catalyst model from the factory, so it gives the smog police fits (Always fun to watch!)

Frightening fuel consumption, around 15mpg, so keep the gas card handy.

Very easy to work on. However, water pump bolts can snap off in the block, so be cautious if you are a shadetree mechanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews