1986 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1986 Ford F150 XLT 5.0L from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carGMC 1/2 Ton

Summary:

Wish they still made them like this

Faults:

Radiator developed leaks at about 230,000 miles.

Drivers side power window motor has recently died.

General Comments:

Good truck overall. Use the 4x4 all the time, and it's still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2009

10th Oct 2009, 11:44

When I was building my house in 1986 one of the contractors, who was a friend of ours, had just bought a new 1986 Ford F-150. He finally traded it last year for a 2009 F-150. He had driven it for over 23 years and had put 365,000+ miles on it. He had had virtually no problems with it. He thinks the new one will be even better, and I'm sure he is right. He'll probably drive it until he dies of old age.

1986 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 5.0L EFI from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Great truck, rides like a truck, fills up like a truck, but I love it

Faults:

Have had to fix three leaks. Poured stop leak into the radiator and fixed the coolant leak.

Have to replace valve cover gaskets to stop the oil leak.

The tranny fluid was leaking, so I tightened the tranny pan/cover and that seemed to fix it.

Engine was missing some, so I replaced the spark plugs and cleaned up the contacts on the spark boot and the distributor cap; that fixed that problem.

A/C was outfitted for the new R134 coolant and that blew a hose a few weeks ago. Replaced the hose and recharged it. Now it's frigid.

A little surface rust. Power washed it off then painted over it.

Temp sensor went bad. Had that replaced no problem.

Radio display burnt out a few years ago. Sent that out to be fixed. Came back as good as new.

Windshield leaks a little in heavy rain. Put some clear epoxy sealant on the outside of the windshield to fix that.

General Comments:

This car has great creature comforts and was way ahead of its time.

It had a cassette player, A/C, cruise control, EFI engine, auto transmission, power windows.

Don't like that it doesn't have an arm rest in the center, and needs some cup holders.

Also has terrible visibility over the hood (has a big nose).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2009

1986 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 5.0 liter EFI from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1051000 miles
Most recent distance1093000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

I love my truck

Faults:

It had two converters on one pipe. Camshaft broke at 58,000 past the turnover. Gas line came off. Replaced a few belts.

General Comments:

I am impressed by how tough and reliable this truck is, as old as it is and very few things have messed up. This is by far way better than the other vehicle i owned. My truck is a 2wd, but i did put a body lift on it because i drive in the local woods to help keep them in decent shape. Could I fit 33x12.50s on it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

19th Mar 2008, 16:22

One million miles- ROCK ON, FORD!

3rd Apr 2008, 07:28

Keep that thing running. You shouldn't have a problem putting 33s on it with the 3" body lift. My only advice is that you order a set of 15x10s because the factory rims are 15x6s. Your front tires will scrub though when you make turns. The bolt pattern you are looking for is 5x5.50 or 5x139.7

Robert.

1986 Ford F150 XL 4.9L 300 6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.9L 300 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles

Summary:

Wouldn't trade it for anything

Faults:

The bench seat is getting worn.

Frame has been welded once.

Front brakes have rotted out.

General Comments:

This truck is the best machine I've ever owned.

The engine is very reliable.

It has all the power of a small block V-8, but better mpg.

It pulls wonderfully, including a 2003 F250 5.4.

Doesn't like going up hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

1986 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 302 EFI V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 302 EFI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles

Summary:

It's the most reliable truck on the road even with the new suped up trucks out there these days.

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong are the inner tie rod ends which are rusted and need replacing, and the upper ball joints need replacing. Regular muffler work was needed. (new tailpipe)

General Comments:

The car starts up every single time, even in below freezing conditions. It's a great work truck or a great first car. It runs very solid and tough and can pull a house it seems like. The 4 wheel drive has never had any problems with the previous owner and still works perfectly for me. It's literally impossible to get stuck in snowy/icy conditions. The interior is extremely roomy and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2007

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews