2004 Ford F150 Reviews

2004 Ford F150 FX4 5.4L Triton 3 valve from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.4L Triton 3 valve Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7400 miles
Most recent distance98400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

All in all, a pretty reliable truck

Faults:

Both power windows have broken.

It has a leak in the rack and pinion.

It is rusting through below the FX4 sticker. (dealer would not fix).

I cannot keep the interior from staining.

I had to buy seat covers.

The cup holder broke very quickly.

Mechanically under the hood, it has been pretty reliable.

General Comments:

It has been reliable under the hood so far.

Gas mileage is terrible.

It is still a great looking truck.

I was very unhappy about the rust and the fact that the dealer would not fix it. For that, I will not be buying another Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2011

2004 Ford F150 V8 Triton from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Triton Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4500 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Good, reliable vehicle

Faults:

I had to replace the rear axle seals at 55,000.

Other than that, it has been mostly routine maintenance stuff like brakes. I drive pretty hard most of the time, so brakes went quickly, but no more than other vehicles I have owned have.

One other downside is that the seats really hold stains. Spilt water in the passenger seat and it left a visible ring.

General Comments:

Honestly, I love this pick up. I live in Montana so it has done well with going in the mountains hiking, hunting, etc. Also, has been good in the snow etc.

It is a good pick up for someone who wants/needs a pick up for small jobs, etc. and is more economical than the F-250 or 350.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2010

2004 Ford F150 XLT EXT Cab 5.4L V8 Triton from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.4L V8 Triton Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired69995 kilometres
Most recent distance74132 kilometres
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Hasn't failed me yet

Faults:

The third brake light on the roof has started to leak.

I have replaced the tires on it with Silent Armours, and that's about it.

General Comments:

Awesome truck. Not the best for fuel mileage, but great to just cruise around in. This truck has yet to fail me.

My next truck is going to be another F150, if this one will ever break down.

The thing I love most about this truck is that the back seat has a lots of leg space, and that the rear windows roll down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2010

2004 Ford F150 FX4 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Best truck on the road, and I don't need to change bulbs all the time like every Chevy or GM

Faults:

Back up sensor.

Valve damper.

Front brakes.

General Comments:

Love this pickup.

Lots of power.

Rides perfect for a 4x4.

Interior is 100 percent.

Noise around rear doors is minimal, but could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2009

5th Jan 2010, 11:12

I bought my 2004 F/X4 brand new. It's a super/extended cab. Have loved it from the start!! It now has 87,000 miles on it! Added a Roush Charger two years ago.. WOW did that wake it up. It pulled my car trailer with great ease when it was stock with just dual exhaust added. And now it's amazing!! Only big issue was the traction-loc/positrac shuddering clutches... which warranty replaced free! It has developed a rear main seal seep.. BUT at 87,000 miles NO big deal!! Wish I could buy a 2009...

2004 Ford F150 Lariat 5.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired31500 miles
Most recent distance35650 miles
Previous carCadillac CTS

Summary:

This truck is better than a CTS Caddy

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This truck is one of the best vehicles of any kind I have ever owned so far.

It could use a power boost compared to the others, but my truck gets about 19.5 mpg highway, 15 city; that's pretty good for a full size truck.

It has leather seats and smooth ride. And it is a head turner as well.

Owned a CTS Cadillac previously; NO MORE GM PRODUCTS FOR ME. I own a 2004 F150 and my wife has a 2005 Mustang V6, and we are satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2008

2004 Ford F150 XLT 5.4 3V from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 3V Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

I had it serviced for a noisy belt tensioner, and figured I'd have the spark plugs changed. Walked away with a 1000$ repair bill due to the funky spark plug location that took 20 hours labour to remove. Stay away from the 5.4 3V.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

26th Jun 2009, 14:04

I own a 2003 F150 fx4, and yes the spark plugs are a pain in the butt to change. I will never do them on my own again.

2004 Ford F150 Supercrew 5.4 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good, no-surprises truck with plenty of room

Faults:

Some transmission work right out the door (quality problem at assembly plant), but fine since then.

No other problems. I just keep up with general maintenance.

General Comments:

In general, nice fit and finish. Interior is huge. However, I think Ford could use better quality carpet and seat material. My front carpet started to wear through in about 20K miles, and the cloth seats stain terribly -- even water leaves an ugly stain.

Good acceleration, and handling / braking are fine, given that it's a full-size truck (ie, you better slow down in turns).

I like the styling, but one drawback is that the sides are so high it makes it difficult to sideload the truck. Counter-weighted tailgate is really nice, however; you can flip it up with one hand.

All in all, what I expected and am pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews