2007 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Ford F150 XL 4.2 V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carVolvo S70

Summary:

For the price, doesn't get much better

General Comments:

For the XL model, I was impressed. I have the 8' foot bed, 2wheel drive. The tires and wheel seem very cheap for the truck. The interior wasn't bad at all for the price. The regular cab has 4 doors for access to the storage behind the 40/20/40 seats. There is about 1.5' of space back there, enough for a suitcase or grocery bags. I have had no issues with the truck whatsoever. If you drive conservatively, you can get 17.5 mpg. the tank size is nice coming in at 27 gallons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

2007 Ford F150 Super Cab 5.7 Liter from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance17854 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

I would buy another!

Faults:

The cup holders are to small for my kids sippy cups.

Has a hard time in 4-W-D.

General Comments:

Excellent pick-up, The car will get you up & over the hills where I live. Earlier we had to go down a steep slope in the middle of winter (Fire Chiefs Truck) & it had no problem getting down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2008

8th May 2008, 17:40

I have an '06 XLT Supercab 4x4, 5.4L... love it!!!

I will admit it's a bit heavy, and the gas mileage goes down hill pretty fast if you really put your foot in to it, but for it's size, it's really not that bad. (better than my Chev S10 Blazer 4x4, 4.3L V6)

The ride it unbelievable for a 4x4 pickup. I have owned a number of Crown Victoria's in the past, and the F-150 rides almost as smooth down the road.

Love it... Love it... Will DEFINITELY own another when I am done with this one!!!

2007 Ford F150 XLT 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fit, finish, and overall quality are good, so far..

Faults:

So far, nothing has failed on the truck, a regular cab, 6.5' bed, 2WD XLT. However, access to the oil filter on the 4.6l V-8 is cumbersome, at best. I changed the oil & filter at 1000 miles, so that fewer break-in metals would be remaining in the oil pan, replacing the dino oil with Mobil 1 synthetic.

I managed to access the oil filter by first removing the plastic drip tray, but what a pain. Afterward, I ordered a Trans-Dapt oil filter relocation kit, which I'll mount in a more accessible location.

General Comments:

After years of driving Honda Accords and having an older, beater Ford work truck around for weekend projects, I decided to take the plunge and support the "home team", as the F-150 is produced locally. Ironically, my best friend recently switched from longtime domestic truck/SUV ownership, to Toyota...

The regular cab has small "pocket" doors, which are convenient and easily accessible, but I have noticed the doors rattling over bumps, which may necessitate a trip to the dealer to have them adjusted.

The seats are comfortable and supportive over long trips. I recently towed a Kendon trailer with 2 full-size motorcycles, gear, and a 200+ pound passenger, 2400 miles round-trip from Kansas to Montana. The gas mileage was in the low/mid-teens with an Interstate cruising speed of 70mph and tire pressure at 40psi (I didn't realize until later the OEM tires' max cold cap. is only 35psi!). I've seen 20mpg at 65-70mph on solo, unladen trips, and I've noticed the truck has excellent coast-down, which may be credited to a combination of the all-season Michelin tires and lower drag of 2WD. My truck has a 3.55 limited slip rear end.

I would recommend a spray-in bed liner, such as Line-X, for sound absorption and bed protection. Also, the interior of my truck is light grey, which shows dirt/stains, so regular cleaning and/or a fabric protectant is recommended.

The optional AM/FM/6-disc CD/Sirius Sat Radio head unit with auxiliary jack is of decent quality/sound. I can plug in my MP3 player/GPS unit and play them through the head unit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2007

8th Jan 2008, 16:01

I just bought 2 weeks ago a 2008 F150 XL. (base model) I took out the factory AM/FM radio and put in a CD player. Mine has a V-6. I am averaging 15 MPG. Think it will get any better as I go?? Mine is a manual shift too.

22nd Jan 2008, 12:29

You definitely should get better mileage as you get a few miles on it. You can help by installing a high-flow K&N air filter and switching to full synthetic oil at your first oil change.

My V-6 Ranger started out getting 17-18 miles per gallon, and after about 5,000 miles and the above-mentioned changes, I was getting 20 in town and 24.5 on the highway.

My friend with a V-8 F-150 4X4 gets 17 city, so you should certainly get better than 15.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews