28th Nov 2005, 08:57

"Built ford tough" is a oxymoron.

Its like seeing Britiny spears in a Harvard sweater.

21st Dec 2005, 12:07

Using oil every 1000 is NOT normal in a F150. There should be some warranty for you as well. As far as "Built Ford Tuff" just ask anyone who works on all makes of trucks and ask them who has bigger, stronger, and better parts than Ford.

21st Dec 2005, 15:57

I am wondering if the reviewer meant he has a Ranger instead of an F-150. STX is a trim level of Ranger.

12th Feb 2006, 01:11

..."has no power, towing is poor!"

Is 'he' kidding. I just test drove one today, and its effortless. You hardly know your going 40 mph. Wide and roomy inside. (drove the 4.6L V8 SuperCrew 6.5' bed)

Maybe he was talking bout the 'ranger'

12th Feb 2006, 11:43

If you're going to tow something bigger than a small little utility trailer or a tiny boat, then buy the full size pickup.

Using a small truck for a big truck job.


Problems, repairs, money, unhappy owner.

PS: Did you break in the engine before towing and what not? The first 1,000 miles are for easy use, no towing, no loads, no hard driving, and staying low in RPMs.

16th Apr 2006, 17:18

I hate to be Capt. Obvious, but Ford Motor Company has never and will never put a 4.0L V6 in a full size truck. But never the less the Ford 3.0 and 4.0 are superb engines;i have one siting in the drive way that has 155,886 miles on it, and might I add still has about 90% original stock parts on it.

3rd Sep 2006, 22:34

"Built Ford Tough" perfectly describes Ford. "Like a rock" describes this guy's head. He obviously wanted to go on a Ford hater's rant, hence the crappy review. As for fuel milaege, it's a truck...

29th Sep 2006, 12:28

Doesn't tow much? Excuse me did you happen to look at the tow rating before you bought it.

All indications are you don't own it. You're just some competitor (Toy) spreading lies.

Guys do not reward their behaviour.

15th Nov 2006, 15:16

Ford trucks are horrible. Always breaking down. Poor mpg. I'm trying to trade mine in for a Toyota.

17th Nov 2006, 16:18

Built Ford Tough. Does that mean "tough ****, you got suckered into buying a Ford", or does it mean "tough to keep running after 60,000 miles", or does it mean "tough to push up your driveway"? I'm not sure which one. Maybe all of them.

23rd Dec 2006, 16:34

You surely have never even looked at a wrench much less turned one. if your burning oil slick ford will replace the engine. Because your engine 1) has worn rings, valves or bearings. get your facts straight.

23rd Dec 2006, 16:39

Do people go to the Honda page and bash Honda's? No, so please don't post crap like this here. The F150 is and has been the #1 selling pick-up truck in America for a long time. It's also the most reliable and dependable pick-up truck with towing capacities, Fuel consumption, and has torque/HP equal with it's competitors. As far as buying a Foreign pick-up, well good luck with the Titans tranny, or the Mitsubishi's re,badged Dodge pick-up.

24th Jan 2007, 11:36

I own a 2005 Ford F-150 STX. It has a lot of power - 4.6 liter, enough for towing and powering around Toyota and Chevy trucks. It has got me out of a lot of jams! In the winter it is great on snow and ice, including hitting a deer with very little damage. I would recommend this truck.

While the big truck sticks around the beanery, the Ford goes up and views the scenery.

11th Feb 2007, 11:09

The 2005 STX is probably the best all around truck I have owned, I took it off road and got in some pretty hairy spots, but had no trouble getting out.

26th Dec 2007, 02:22

Always been a Chevy fan. But my last job here in the States was for a large construction firm who bought Ford. Drove two F-150s, both w/the 4.6 V-8. The newer one had 174,000 miles and the older 237,000. They had a few rattles, but both ran well and didn't use an excessive amount of oil. Even after the higher mileage one (thank the Lord) was left in gear and went down a hill and into the trees up at Tahoe. (That picture must be somewhere on the web. Look for the big-haired woman w/the pained expression on her face, in the foreground.) While in Iraq I noticed a BIG difference between the Ford and Chevy pickups used by KBR. (No paved roads on Cedar 2.) In only 4-7,000 miles the Chevys were falling to pieces. That is not hyperbole. I really mean things falling off. The Dodges weren't as bad and the Fords, by comparison, were almost entirely free of rattles. As I said, I've always been a Chevy guy. But if I ever feel the need for a pickup.., you can guess.

22nd Jan 2008, 12:34

The reason Ford trucks hold up so much better than other domestics and all imports, is the fact that Ford actually uses larger than required structural members, drive train components and bracing.

Our companies routinely get 200,000-250,000 miles out of our Ford trucks without any major problems.

My personal Ford vehicles (both cars and trucks) have been absolutely flawless.

I currently own 1 Ford and 2 GM vehicles. The GM's are smoother and more comfortable, but the Ford is better overall quality.

17th Mar 2008, 14:08

I am not going to completely agree with this review but I do agree with one part. The V6 has no power. I have an 08 F150 4300 miles now and the truck has no power. My old S10 had more power to it. Should have bought the V8. See my review 2008 F150. Only one on here as this day for a 2008.

14th Nov 2008, 18:42

I can attest first hand that Ford is not willing to listen to customers that have issues with their trucks. I also have a 2008 F-150 that has never ran right, been in the shop more than 10 times in a year, they are listening to me now though, using the lemon law and they don't like my attorney!!

21st Nov 2008, 04:30

I happen to absolutely love my 2005 F150 STX (Supercab). Recently wrecked my '04 Heritage flareside ('03 body style), and even though it was a total loss wreckage, majority of the $ came from airbag deployment and braking system. Body held up great. And no injuries.

Got the 05' STX Flareside and love it. 4.6 V8 Triton, great towing power and hauling capacity, heavy duty brakes, and hardly any cab noise. Gas mileage is not too great, but hey, it's a truck, what do you expect?

Only 31,000 miles and feels like the motor isn't really even broken in yet.

Test drove some of the competitors trucks and I was not impressed. Tundra and Titan? Forget about it. Just because the names are tough doesn't mean they are tough. I wouldn't use either to haul a couch let alone a full-load. Stick to compact cars.

Sierra and Silvervado? Not bad, just not a fan and not aesthetically pleasing.

Ridgeline? Yeah, just walked right passed that one. Not even worth calling an actual truck.

And Ram? Lets just say that I don't want to have to shell out the extra $3000 to get the power that already comes standard in most pick-ups.

All-in-all, Ford makes the best truck hands-down. Tested and proven over time, no competition. Any "extra amenities" I can do myself. Heated seats and bluetooth capabilities does not a pick-up make. Real men use real trucks for real jobs. And FORD epitomizes that mantra.