2005 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Ford F150 XL SuperCab 4x4 4.6L Triton V8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.6L Triton V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Great Truck

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I love my F-150.

It has a lot of interior space, big bed and I love driving in on the snow.

However, 4.6L Triton V8 (231 hp) seems underpowered. Great for towing, but not for daily driving.

I wish XL would have more standard equipment. At least power windows, CD player and cruise control.

But overall, I got 4 door truck with V8 and 4x4 for only $21,000 and I'm really happy with what I got.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2007

11th Jun 2007, 12:36

Underpowered for daily driving, but not for towing? ehhh.

15th Jun 2007, 22:23

Well yeah.

Towing and payload capacity numbers are great.

However, for daily driving 231 hp just isn't enough (I have '00 Mustang 3.8L 5-speed for daily driving; I use F-150 only when necessary). Maybe that's because I went from Mustang to F-150.

15th Feb 2009, 07:06

Why didn't you go with the 5.4 engine option?

When I was buying a new F-150 in 2005, I was picky, test driving the 4.6 engine was not exciting to me, then I found a 4.6 engine with a 3.73 rear axle, it was better, but still lacked the power and acceleration I wanted. I was ready to buy the Chevy, but at the last minute the dealer found me a new FX4 with the 5.4 engine and 3.73 rear, test driving it I fell in love and took it home. It came std with the power windows, door locks and shift on the fly 4x4 that I didn't want, but I learned to love it.

Don't believe the people that tell you the 4.6 and the 5.4 has the same power, the fact is these engines have a BIG difference in power.

2005 Ford F150 XLT SuperCab Flareside 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

A Sporty, Economical, Refined, and best of all QUIET truck

Faults:

The tires had "flat" spots from sitting on the lot, making the truck drive a little roughly. The dealer told us to drive it for a week to see if they would smooth out. They did not smooth out and the dealer upgraded the tires without hesitation.

The black paint has started to flake off of the "F-150" emblems on the front fenders.

Other than these two little issues, the truck has been excellent.

General Comments:

We purchased this truck when Ford was offering the employee pricing deals, so we snagged it for about $8,000 less than its list price. Since the price was decent, we opted for the 100,000 mile warranty as we tend to keep cars for at least 5 years.

The truck has the smaller V8, but we find it to be very responsive for daily driving. The fuel economy was about 19 MPG at first, then it jumped to 21 when the engine was "broken in." This is so much better than our old Suburban that only managed 12 MPG on a good day, albeit not as good as the Jaguar's 24 MPG. We sold the Suburban and the Jag to make room for the F-150. It is cheaper to run the one vehicle opposed to the two, of course.

The interior of this truck is finished well. The panels fit together perfectly, although some of the plastic is a little hard and might scratch easily. The fabric seats look and feel expensive and are very comfortable for traveling. I was relieved to see that Ford bothered to design a classy-looking steering wheel and dashboard instead of those plastic shell dashboards that plagued previous Ford trucks. Overall, the interior is very inviting.

The step-side bed has proven to be very useful considering the depth and height of the bed. The back of the truck also has a much sportier look to it with the wraparound taillights. This is also the only F-150 with this body style and color combination (White w/Sand bottom) that I have seen locally, making ours very distinctive among the others around that all have standard fleet-side beds.

Although the truck is too huge for me to drive comfortably every day (parking it can be a chore), it is good for my Dad's commute. It tows our medium-sized Hi-Lo camper quite nicely while getting about 16 MPG opposed to the Suburban's 10-11 while towing. This truck is much more practical than both of the Suburbans that we had before it. It is also much quieter which is always a welcome feature in any truck, as many of them are made to be obnoxious with loud exhaust systems and more wasteful with their over-sized tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2006

25th Nov 2006, 23:59

I want to purchase a used 2004 to 2006 f150. I just want to know if I should or not. Is it a good truck for my son to drive (teenager). I just want some opinions from people that have them. I love the body style and everything about them. I just need to know if it is right for me.

2005 Ford F150 4X4 Supercrew 5.4 liter 3 valve from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.4 liter 3 valve Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5200 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Very Poor

Faults:

#1- engine stumbles when accelerating. 3 times to dealer no repair. Answer frustrating, but get use to it.

#2 Front tire wear. Normal must be a tire issue.

#3-Fuel mileage is lucky to be 13 on highway.

General Comments:

To all Ford lovers.

Ford does not respect their buyers. Just try to get service or repairs done in a timely manner and done correctly the first time. Mine is a 2005 F150 Super-crew 4X4 5.4 liter engine, 5200 miles, yes 5200 miles.

Would trade it off, but no dealer will give me more than 20 grand for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

18th Jun 2006, 16:40

Tire wear = align it, balance it, correct the tire pressure.

Poor mpg = Don't complain about a full size 4 door 4x4 pickup with a large 5.4 V8 getting bad mpg, that goes along with getting a truck.

Stumbling = could be any number of things, check the fuel injection system?

2005 Ford F150 STX 4.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Terrible purchase will never buy another Ford again

Faults:

It uses oil every 1000 miles and Ford says this is normal.

General Comments:

It has no power and towing is very poor.

Does not have a good handling capability if you go around a curve it better be very slow.

Gas mileage is poor.

Uses oil and I do not drive this truck hard at all.

Does not live up to the slogan "Ford tough".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

27th Nov 2005, 21:58

Stop spreading lies. Ford would give you some help if you have a warranty...

Anyways, you might want to make this review look real by making it longer, using correct grammar, and knowing that F150s don't have the 4.0 litre engine. They have the 4.2 v6, 4.6 v8, and 5.4 v8 dummy.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews