2004 Ford F350 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Ford F350 Super Duty 6.0 diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Very poor engine and transmission

Faults:

Transmission lost a snap ring at 65000. Totally trashed the tranny. Then at 89000, EGR cooler and head gasket went. I am in this truck another $10000.00 beyond the purchase price. I did contact two local Ford dealers, and was told that neither repair was covered under warranty.

After doing a lot of research, I found that Ford has had these problems with most 2005 6.0 Fords. I wonder why there was no recall.

I have owned Fords all my life, and now after my experience with Ford, I will not own another. I just can't believe that Ford is so stupid as to not know that this is going to hurt them financially. I have checked into the lemon law, and even talked to an attorney about getting some reimbursement. Not happening; well Ford can kiss off.

General Comments:

I will not own another Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2010

20th Dec 2010, 17:49

Not aware of any trans issues, but the IH 6.0L diesel was problematic by design. Probably the main reason why FORD went to an internally designed diesel engine last year. I have heard that FORD spent quite a bit of money trying to get IH to pay for the issues related to this design. Most of the problems are because of the EGR and the problems it causes. I also wish that FORD would understand that their reputation has suffered as a result of not standing behind this product.

25th May 2012, 20:43

I purchased a 2004 F350 6.0 liter, and had nothing but problem after problem.

My first problem started two weeks after I purchased the truck. When I took it to the dealer, I was told that four injectors had to be replaced under warranty, and it would take a week before my truck was ready. After much debate, the owner of the dealership decided to loan me a new F350 until mine was ready.

My second thru fifteen visits to the dealer were again all warranty issues that varied from four reprograms, one head gasket replacement, and other problems that would take a book to explain. The bottom line for me was I purchased a truck that was problematic from the start. The 6.0 liter diesel was a problem to Ford and its buyers.

I got rid of my headache in 2011; hopefully before someone purchases a used 6.0 diesel, they will read this comment.

By the way, Ford did a great job with the 2004 Expedition 5.4 liter, my wife swears by it.

2004 Ford F350 lariat 6.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17800 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

For the most part, it is a good truck

Faults:

I have had to get the ball joints replaced twice in the last two years and my have to get them replaced again this year.

The past two years I've had the turbo and the egr valve replaced twice.

When towing it does great on the highway, but when climbing in a mountain pass truck performance decrease tremendously.

General Comments:

I love the truck for its power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

2004 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0 diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77600 miles

Summary:

Great truck design, poor dependability

Faults:

Loss of power problem at 15,000 miles

Return to dealer with loss of power problem 17,000

Return to dealer with loss of power problem at 18,650 miles.

Return to dealer at 21,600 miles excessive smoking loss of power.

Return to dealer at 24,900 miles loss of power.

Return to dealer at 32,400 loss of power.

Return to dealer at 39,800 miles, loss of power on highway, vehicle towed.

Return to dealer at Return to dealer at 42,500 loss of power, vehicle towed.

Return to dealer at 49,800 loss of oil, vehicle towed.

Return to dealer at 54,800 for recall on engine systems.

Return to dealer at 54, 900 miles, loss of power.

Return to dealer at 62,945 miles, loss of power.

Return to dealer 71,350 miles, loss of power.

General Comments:

Return to dealer at 73,700 miles, loss of power.

Return to dealer at 77,600 miles, loss of power.

Truck has major issue's with engine design.

Dealers lack qualified technician's to diagnosis issues.

Manufacturer refuses to acknowledge major engine deficiencies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2006

11th Feb 2008, 12:36

We bought a 2008 F 350 6.4 L diesel in July 2007 specifically to pull our 35 foot fifth wheel. Generall we have been very happy with the unit, but we have a noise problem as described below. perhaps someone can help. The dealer and ford have not provided useful information to date.

When pulling the trailer up hills or on moderate to hard acceleration, ( 30 psi plus bosst) we get a whistling noise coming from the engine compartmnet. there is no loss of power or change in temperatures. One tech has suggested cavitation from the twin in series turbos.

Of course the dealer wants to test this condition, but It is really inconvenient to hitch up and go to the dealer when they are open.

Anyone have any suggestions?

11th Jul 2011, 22:16

All that should be is the turbo taking in air or it's spooling up.

22nd Mar 2013, 06:53

The whistle is from the turbos. Imagine putting 30+ Lbs of air in a small hose and allowing it to blast out at a constant/increasing rate. Kinda the same with a spinning part that has that RPM of a high performance motorcycle engine. Does not sound like much of an issue there.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews