1987 Ford Falcon Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1987 Ford Falcon XF S-Pac 4.1 litre EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.1 litre EFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance2830013 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A reliable high performance machine

Faults:

LPG system does not seem to like the motor. Keeps blowing the hoses of the airfilter. Did cause the engine bay to catch fire once.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable.

Is very roomy and comfortable inside.

Still goes relatively quick for a car that has done over 280000kms.

She has served me well.

Am getting a rebuilt motor in next few weeks.

Does not handle too well has large amounts of body roll.

Chews through a lot of petrol. About 250 - 300 kms per an 80L tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

1987 Ford Falcon XF S-pack 4.1 X-flow Carberettor from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.1 X-flow Carberettor Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carHolden HQ

Summary:

A top machine, built like a bullet

Faults:

Nothing. Might lift the bonnet to change the engine oil.

General Comments:

This car hauls ass! The only modifications on this car are a set of extractors and a two-and-a-half inch exhaust. There is no other car of its age that can beat it, even V8 combidores.

The engine has a great sound and the car nails out of corners.

The handling is quite good, but on high speed bends (over 140kph) the back end gets lofty and floats around which makes the car unstable. Lowering it with harder springs will probably fix that.

While the car can be thirsty if thrashed, it will put out average figures if driven normally. On the highway doing 100kph it only does between 1800 & 1900 RPM driven through the excellent 5-speed.

The only thing Ford need to change apart from springs is to fit a speedo that can read more than 200kph, apart from that it's a great car for passion or performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

31st Oct 2002, 19:49

He's right unless you have done a bit of work to the XF I highly doubt it would beat a skyline thier heaps lighter unless your car is a freak.

27th Oct 2003, 21:54

I think maybe he was talking about cars similar in use. a GTS skyline is like comparing an AU falcon to a r33 GTR... not even worth thinking about.

1987 Ford Falcon XF 4.1L 6 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.1L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired287777 kilometres
Most recent distance287777 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 200B

Summary:

A comfortable big car

Faults:

The odometer was at 287777 when I bought it and doesn't work so I don't know the exact mileage. My dad had one of these which stopped at 384000 or so.

When I bought the car the front doors didn't open. I fixed this. Also the brakes needed some work but I bought the car at auction so this is quite understandable.

In early 2000 the head gasket went. Put in a new motor from a 1982 XE Fairmont. Now the car goes sweet. Have not had a problem since then. Suspension is completely screwed though as is the steering. But you get that.

General Comments:

I love the XF Falcon and couldn't drive anything else. But mine is pretty stuffed. But hey it's OK.

I had a 1999 Hyundai Excel as a work car for about a year recently and could not wait to start driving my Falcon more regularly. It's big and comfy and drives smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

10th May 2007, 07:02

My 87 xf falcon is not in very good nick due to a long duration of time in the sun. other than that it's a speed machine very quick off the mark. the only problems that I found was the back left door handle broke easy.

1987 Ford Falcon S pack 4.1 EFi from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.1 EFi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired260000 kilometres
Most recent distance271000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Standard and quick

Faults:

Siezed rear brake.

Blown top hose.

Needs an EGR valve.

General Comments:

4.1 (S pack EFi) coupled to a 5 speed manual can leave V8 chomperdores sitting at the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

15th Dec 2001, 15:34

I also own a s pack with 4 speed and find it very good. If you could tell us a bit more it would be good.

1987 Ford Falcon XF 4.1 cross-flow six cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.1 cross-flow six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable, comfortable cruiser

Faults:

Not much has really gone wrong with the car, mainly parts have needed to be replaced as things deteriorated with age. Parts were replaced or reconditioned at each service.

The car was bought from an elderly man who drove slow and had the engine running real rich. The carby was clogged with gunk and needed a clean and carby kit. Done at 170,000 kilometres.

The same time as the carby had work, I had a new fuel pump put in too.

Bushes in alternator wore out and had to be replaced at 180,000 kilometres.

Ball joint wore out and was replaced at 190,000 kilometres.

Rocker cover gasket began to leak oil, so was replaced at 200,000 kilometres.

General Comments:

The XF is my first car, that I bought when I was 18.

It is a fantastic vehicle.

The previous owner took good care of it, so it was in excellent condition when I purchased it.

Since buying the car, I have made some custom touches to it.

It has been lowered 2.5 inches all round, and had decent wheels thrown on for looks and handling.

The cabin is in perfect original condition and is very comfortable.

The car is very reliable and with proper tuning gets quite good fuel consumption figures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 29 reviews