1991 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America


It is the bane of my existence


Got flooded. Interior smells bad from flooding. Not really a fault with the car though.

General Comments:

This car horrible.

When I bought this car, the wife said I just had to live with it until it died. It won't die.

I don't remember the last time I had the oil changed. I'm not sure this car takes oil actually. Maybe hamster kibble? I don't know because haven't had to open the hood in 6 years of ownership. Maybe there is some kind of miniature nuclear reactor under there, I'd never know.

I off-road it like it was a Hummer, I race around in it like it was a Ferrari, I carry building materials home in it like it was F350 Super Duty truck. It takes everything I can throw at it and sucks it up and smiles at me with that ugly little grin the whole time.

The gas mileage on this car is a crime against capitalism. If all cars got the 45mpg I get out of this thing, our economy would come to a screeching halt. I'm pretty sure Festivas are outlawed in Texas for this very reason.

And don't even get me started on the tires. 12 inch tires? Who puts 12" tires on a car? They cost about $12 at Wal-Mart and last three years. How is Goodyear supposed to stay in business when the auto manufacturers pull stuff like that.

They'll probably bury me in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2006

12th Nov 2006, 09:07

Never had to open the hood in six years and 58,000 miles? lol.

26th Jan 2007, 07:13

Haha, this should be a commercial!

26th Jan 2007, 10:40

On a serious note, if you upgrade your tires from 145s to 165s (as I did) you will notice a huge huge difference in the way your Festiva handles. The 145s were essentially designed for around town driving, if that. But in the real world in America you go on the highway and the 165s are the right choice.

1st Jul 2007, 22:09

You hate your car and its obvious.

2nd Jul 2007, 10:22

Why don't you sell it to someone who will actually appreciate it, instead of trying to kill it off?? Just a thought.

19th Nov 2007, 00:11

It's a reliable beast that you can't kill... and you hate it? It four wheels like a beast, acts as your truck, and you never have to open the hood and you hate it? Whatever. Ford Festiva, best car, ever.

7th Oct 2008, 06:30

I have to agree with the review... except I have had to replace a valve cover gasket once.

13th Nov 2008, 15:43

I get what you´re saying; you hate it cause it´s such a good car.

14th Nov 2008, 09:35

He hates it - like a boxer hates a punch bag.

14th Nov 2008, 18:46

LMAO!! Best review ever!!! LOL LOL My son's bicycle at least has 20" wheels, probably too big for a festiva! LOL :)

22nd Nov 2008, 20:59

I LOVE my Festiva! But she rolled down my driveway & stopped up against my neighbors Van & broke her Drivers side tail light. HELP! I can't find a replacement anywhere & I can't live without my little yellow Spec. Does anyone have a line on a tail light???

1991 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America


Very good daily driver!


Well I have not had any problems with my festiva except for a alternator belt. It wasn't the cars fault, I just think that the last person to put one on didn't pull the alternator tight enough.

General Comments:

The car isn't a performer by any means. It doesn't handle good and it has next no acceleration.

BUT it is a very good daily driver. My worst gas mileage to date was 38mpg and that was having the foot to the floor in every gear. My best was 44 and that was cruising on the Highway for 120 miles one way.

The clutch requires absolutely no effort, you can just barely put any pressure into it and it goes to the floor. The shifts are very long though, but you always know what gear you are in.

I would definatly buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006